Zardari gets 24-hr ultimatum to end deadlock.

Mashallah. God bless the Pakistani Army. Once again, the Pakistani Army comes forward to save Pakistan and help clear up the mess created by democratically elected politicians.

The questions is, should the Army intervene as it is doing now, or let the feuding between democratically elected parties reach its natural conclusion once and for all?

Zardari gets 24-hr ultimatum to end deadlock-Pakistan-World-The Times of India

Zardari gets 24-hr ultimatum to end deadlock

Pakistan army and Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani have asked President Asif Ali Zardari to go if he does not accept a new deal hatched by them in consultation with foreign powers.

The new political deal, backed by Washington, London and the army establishment, has quietly been conveyed to Pakistan PM Gilani, to bring down the political temperature in the country.

As part of the deal, the PM has been asked to immediately convince Zardari to demonstrate the flexibility required to break the present deadlock, before the ‘Long March’ reaches Islamabad.

Gilani has reportedly been given 24 hours to convince Zardari into agreeing to the new political and constitutional arrangement, as further delay will not produce any positive results for the political forces currently on the warpath.

The ball is now firmly in the court of President Zardari, who has to take a decision swiftly on endorsing the agreement brokered by powerful international actors.

** If Zardari does not accept the new deal then: **

• Army, foreign powers will be left with no option but to implement ‘minus-one formula’

• Presidents office will be completely marginalised, Zardari will be removed

• Gilani will take over as power will be restored to PM office

• Nawaz Sharif’s PML(N) will join the cabinet

• Deposed SC chief Justice Iftikar Chaudhary will be reappointed.

** Terms of the deal are: **

• Pak PM Gilani has been asked to convince Zardari to accept the new political and constitutional arrangement

• The deal also states the removal of Punjab governor Salman Taseer, who is an obstacle to good relations between the PPP and the PML(N)

• Implementation of the new Constitutional package through the Parliament

• The deal also demands the restoration of Supreme Court Justice Ifthikar Chaudhary.

Since March 11, there have been a series of meetings that have shaped this deal.

The Pakistan army chief General Ashfaq Pervez Kayani met PM Gilani in Islamabad on March 11, where in the ninety minute meeting the former essentially told the latter to set the deal in motion.

On Thursday, the US ambassador to Pakistan Anne Patterson met former prime minister Nawaz Sharif. The reason ostensibly was after Sharif alleged that there was a plot to assassinate him.

Meanwhile, the PM has not met the president after he returned from his trip to Dubai. He has however been talking to the President over the phone.

UK foreign secretary David Miliband also telephoned President Asif Ali Zardari to discuss the present situation on Thursday.

Is Great General Kiyani taking a special message to Great Zardari, President of Pakistan. Time will tell. :slight_smile:

COAS meet President

ISLAMABAD: The Chief of the Army Staff (COAS) General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani called on President Asif Ali Zardari at the Aiwan-e-Sadr on Friday, Geo news reported.

well the situation is going in the favour of PML(N) and Iftikhar chauhdary now. ehh?

Re: Zardari gets 24-hr ultimatum to end deadlock.

The power of people will prevail!!! Azad Adliya zindabad!!

If this article is true (have to say that since it comes from an Indian source) I am happy that Gillani is taking the initiative. The restoration of the CJ is a MUST, there should be no compromise on that. While the PPP and PML[N] bravely fought for his restoration, Zardari sat abroad and enjoyed the show only to come home to reap some benefits.

Also, if CJ Iftikhar gets restored, this will be a big victory for the people of Pakistan.

President Zardari, PM Gilani hold crucial meeting | Pakistan | News | Newspaper | Daily | English | Online

More and more PPP members are urging Zardari to do whats right:

Pakistan People’s Party senior leader Safdar Abbasi has said the PPP workers would follow the vision and philosophy of Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto in true letter and spirit. Addressing Rawalpindi Bar here on Friday, Abbasi said the history of judiciary was replete with verdicts that turned out to be harmful for the people and democracy, however, the nation realised on March 9, 2007 that the judiciary could still deliver. He said Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto did not acknowledge the PCO. Safdar Abbasi said the PPP workers support deposed Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry. He urged President Asif Ali Zardari to honour his commitments and restore all the deposed judges. He said the restoration of judges would restore President’s credibility and steer the country out of present crises.

Safdar Abbasi urges Zardari to restore deposed judges | Pakistan | News | Newspaper | Daily | English | Online

Hopefully Pakistan will get rid of Zardari peacfully?

I wonder what will Guppy jiyalay say about this one :hehe: they’ve been saying that BB didn’t want CJ restored but PPP senior leader saying something different.

So now you do acknowledge that Zardari created the mess? Good for you :k:

BTW: what happened? I thought you said Zardari is man of words? Or did you mean Zardari is man of words when it comes to 10%? :cb:

As for the topic, it shouldn’t be COAS using his danda rather the Security Council should do that.

Well so much for Pollitically Elected Gov, As Always Army comming to Rescue Pakistan....but still most of us have not Open our eyes yet..

^ You should open your eyes first. Gillani, who gave Zardari the ultimatum might be democratically elected, but Zardari isnt. Zardari is an illegit child of the NRO and you know where that came from. Once Zardari goes, the sanctity of democracy will return.

^ you aer living in the World of Dreams my Friend, & Have closed your eyes & are not Accepting the reality.

Give me one example in Past just 1 When two of the Major Parties who aer Elected by our people Helped each other to Run This Country ,,, i am just saying for 1 example, if you cant provide it then please stop this Democracy is the Best Solution, bcoz in Pakistan democracy in notthing But a curse.

All of the Peopel in Pakistan knew that After BB's Death , & Fake will , Zardari will b eying on the Presidency, Y did you people gave yuor Vote to PPP, Think about it....................

Just tell me one thing, how did Zardari get all the cases dismissed against him, and when you answer that, tell me WHO was the brainchild behind that 'ordinance'. THAT is not democracy, thats dada-giri and self imposition, and is no different from an incompetent military dictator imposed upon us.

Democracy can only work if you use it. You cant just let criminals and thugs who arent supposed to be in this democracy get pardons from dictators (for their own deals), who by themselves are criminals too. Let the system work first, before giving up on it.

well said!

democracy would be a good solution but the problem is those representing democracy ie PML, PPP, PML-Q, MQM, ANP, JUI, JI are all tried and tested formulas who do not knoww aht democracy means.

how can corrupt power hungry leaders ever take democracy forward?

please use this stupid line "democracy is not allowed to develop in pakistan" thats because whenever pakistan goes democratic within a year those so called representatives of democracy start abusing their power.

its quite clearthe judiciary is an issue most pakistanis appear to support - so the democratic solution would be to reinstate CJ ifti.

Zardari is a blot and the biggest shame Pakistan has produced politically. The quicker he goes the better.

I agree with you camp people must have been blind not to see that zardari wont become president. It was either him or his sister. By the way who exactly supported him in coming to the presidency?

This is democracy in pakistan for you - one fine mess. You dont need military generals ISI to interfere when people like Nawazsharif, Bhutto, Zardari are perfectly capable of making a big mess of their own.

Yes President Musharaf was responsible for NRO, but that was to Stabilize the Condition on Pakistan, Since as you should know for yourself people Failed to realize thal who was batter & who was not . NRO was ony issued so there should be no internal Conflict in Pakistan.

On a Serious Note, Do you really think that if NRO was not there the Situation would have been any different ?? NO IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEn
NOW should i give you a List of Comparision , between Militry Rule & Democratic Rule .... so you can Decide whic was batter & in Which we had best Progress.**

Democracy can only work if you use it. You cant just let criminals and thugs who arent supposed to be in this democracy get pardons from dictators (for their own deals), who by themselves are criminals too. Let the system work first, before giving up on it.

That is y i say our people are not capable of Making the Decisions, hence you choose all those Criminals yoursel, or Does Army say Vote for them NO, YOU VOTE FOR THEM NO ARMY, so you are responsibal for bringing them into power no one else, so dont blame your mistake on someone else.

HOW MUCH TIME DO YOU THINK SYSTEM NEED?? IF WE LET THIS SYSTEM CONTINUE TO WORK HOPING THAT SOMEDAY MAY B NY A MIRICAL IT WILL BE OK .... THEN YOU ARE JSUT LIVING INT EH WORLD OF DREAMS.

Hello Champ of army-rule,

Army rule has not been great either. Army has brought what security to the country? Radicalization of Pakistan? Support of armed-militia to do what it didn't/couldn't do directly? Fight half-hearted terror war? Encourage thug people in politics like ZAB, Nawaz Sharif, Altaf Hussein, is this what military is about? Is this the job of our army?

Well Whateven has been Army rule it was 1000% batter then any of the political rule....

Radicalization of Pakistan?

Like What . Care to Eleborate .............. ????

Support of armed-militia to do what it didn't/couldn't do directly?

Well when they Helped them was a long time ago & on that time it was necessary for the own Security of Pakistan.

Fight half-hearted terror war?

Hmmmmp, Half Hearted..... it i easy to say While sitting on the chair & typing in an easy room, WAR of terror is our own war & if we had been fighting is Half hearted then Mullahs will have been in Islamabad.

Encourage thug people in politics like ZAB, Nawaz Sharif, Altaf Hussein

Nevery Heard of it..... Care to tell me about it

is this what military is about? Is this the job of our army?

Yes ... Army will do anything to Save This country ... & i mean Anything..... if you dont get it it is not myrproblem.

ehtasab bhaijan. Rejoice, rejoice. The Great Pakistani Army, this time led by Great Pervez Kiyani, is about to save Pakistan again from the clutches of Anarchy and Chaos, and it has not even been a year since the first parliamentary session of the alleged new era. Let's hope the next 12 months of the experiment bodes better for democratic Pakistan. :)

Yes sure, I am from Mars :chai:

You want me to elaborate considering what has happened in Pakistan in 1980s and 1990s? :eek:

:omg: oh bhai mere, it was not for the security of Pakistan, rather to justify huge-bread-n-butter for the army… nothing more nothing less.

I am not talking about the WoT that America started post 9/11. TNSM didn’t take over Malakand in 2004 but 1994. Any fight against militants has been half-hearted because our intelligence agencies have been promoting “jihad” since 1980s so no action has been complete and whole-hearted.

Sure, ZAB, Altaf Hussein, Nawaz Sharif landed from moon directly. Please don’t ask me for a lesson on their history, this thread and forum is too little for that.

Exactly, thats what army says everytime it supports criminals on May 12, 2007, when it supported other criminals in the past… everything they do is for “saving Pakistan, in the interest of Pakistan” etc.