Who know how to make some kick-ass Zarda ?
mujhey batao !
Who know how to make some kick-ass Zarda ?
mujhey batao !
Re: Zarda
havent tried it ever… but tumhari demand par will try for tomorrow breakfast ![]()
DAMN! ur post makes me want to have zarda and biryani.
kia yaad dela deya … its been ages zarada khaeey howey aur is per situm yee k my wife is visiting Pakistan … now someone has to post authentic and tried Zarda recipe along with yakhni pulaoo recipe.
I love mixing the two and eat ![]()
Someone opened a thread a while back on it. And a few follks including me (
) gave out some recipes. I will see if i have time to find and post the link.
i love zarda.....but i can never get it right..:(...
my nani makes killer zarda:biggthumb
Hi Code_Red
Find a good basic recipe for Zarda..like from Khana Khazana website or something - google it...then do the following....add plenty of pineapple chunks.....more halved almonds and loads more ghee.....cook it very very slowly and you will have the best tasting zarda ever.....also, you could add apricots and other dried fruits too.......
YUMMY!
Here ya go. Afia baji and others have good tips in here.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=207883&highlight=zarda
4 tbsp oil
4 tbsp desi ghee
1/2 cup yoghurt
1/2 cup milk
2 cups rice
1 3/4 cup sugar
2-3 cardamoms
zarda rung (yellow/orange food colour) dissolved in 1-2 tbsp milk
zaafraan a pinch (dissolved in 2 tbsp milk for atleast 30 mins )
boil rice for 7 mins (if old rice .. and 6 mins if new) in boiling water and strain
heat oil+ghee in a pan..add cardamom seeds until they pop..add milk and then add dahi when bubbles appear in the milk..keep stirring..add sugar after 1-2 mins on medium to high heat..add rice when sugar gets dissolved and makes syrup. put back the lid and let it cook on high flame until the wate gets evaporated/cooked/disappeared/whatever!this will take approx. 15 mins. carefully mix it at 5 mins interval. add food colour mixture and raisins/badaam/pistachio (dont mix) and zaafraan and put on 'dum' (the pot on tawwa with a cotton cloth folded on the pot beneath the lid with some weigh or a hammer..hehe.. on the lid) for 10-15 mins.turn of the heat and let it be there for another 10-15 mins.then mix lightly taking care you dont break up the rice intopowder/tota (in ammi's language) i like this one because it doesnt have all the yellow rice in my plate...if you mix it at the end,it will be yellow plus white..i have tried using yellow and orange colours both at the same time pouring them separately..it turned out to be nice too..
enjoy eating
thanks. I dont like simple zarda.... I like zarda with loads of stuff in it. Like khoya, fruits,s eggwhites, orange ka chilka, mewey, badam pista, etc. I have rarely eaten this type of zarda , I guess only two three times. Some people make it on shadi And it costs more than any other sweet dish
^^ oh then you should eat my mom's zarda, she puts all that stuff except for egg whites. She makes it on milad's n stuff. Oh and this season is good for storing all those glazed fruits, they only come around thanksgiving.
Should i consider this an invitation to milaad ? ![]()
my neighbours know how to make real zarda ![]()
if you can dress up and act like an aunty