Zakat-ul-Fitr !!! Don't forget to pay it, its FARZ

got this email from my college msa, thought it would be of help and a reminder to the us guppies

— fwd —

Assalaamu alaykum all!

A quick reminder about Zakat-ul-Fitr, the obligatory charity required of every individual at the end of Ramadan. It amounts to $7.00 / individual and needs to be deposited before the Eid prayer. Additional information on the topic can be found at:

http://63.175.194.25/topics/zakaatfitr/zakaat_al-fitr.shtml

Jazaakumullaahu khayrun,

wassalaamu alaykum,

P.S- Please note that Zakat-ul-Fitr is different from Zakat-ul-Maal (the zakah on money/possessions) which is 2.5% of one’s savings/untouched belongings for the year. Zakat-ul-Fitr is obligatory upon everyone including new-born children; of course, if the individual does not earn, his/her guardian is responsible for paying it. For more info, please read the article mentioned above.

okay ji here in NY it's $panja

Paying fitrana is a good practice but let's not call it farz. I believe it is wajib.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Paying fitrana is a good practice but let's not call it farz. I believe it is wajib.
jo bhi hai u name it farz r wajib:D but must pay it

I beg to disagree. Deciding what’s ‘farz’ is Allah :swt: domain not humans’. Trying to speak on behalf of the Almighty can be considered shirk, no?

NY ki ghareeb qom :stuck_out_tongue:

FUNGUY baji - wajib aur farz mein differrence hae koi bhala?? :hoonh: wajib means NECESSARY and so does FARZ and paying fitrana IS obligatory which means necessary which means its farz = wajib

khair if u wana change the title of the thread to WAJIB from FARZ go ahead, lekin i think more ppl understand the meaning of FARZ than WAJIB

irem khala, if you think there is no difference between wajib and farz then there is no need for further discussion on this topic.

JATT : BTW in Pakistan its 35 rupees :D :D :D not even hiKro daalar :p

*Originally posted by funguy: *
irem khala, if you think there is no difference between wajib and farz then there is no need for further discussion on this topic.

BAJI mujhay sahi se nai paTa :p khair u r the mod thoRi mehnat mushaqat karein paTa karein (maybe pm armughal or open thread in rel forum :p ) k wajib and farz same cheez hayn ya nai aur phir accordinly title change ker leyn agar zaroorat ho toh innit :p

mein ne toh email mein dekha OBLIGATORY likha tha translated it to farz and named the thread the same way :D

very well pointed out FG....

let us not confuse WAJID with FARDH....

fitrana is WAJIB....
and so is the EID PRAYER....

whats the diff. between wajib and farz?

One is obligatory and the other is mandatory; I don’t know which one is which.

^^ hahaha

Wajib highly recommended and farz is a must, no ifs and buts??

Madhanee farz would be mandatory and wajib obligatory I think :confused: Its the same thing obligatory and mandatory, No?

where to pay fitrana in mosque or to poor ppl ???

*Originally posted by irem: *
JATT : BTW in Pakistan its 35 rupees :D :D :D not even hiKro daalar :p

It is $10 here. You guys should atleast pay 60 rupees :p

*Originally posted by YAaRrOo: *
where to pay fitrana in mosque or to poor ppl ???

You can give it to the masjid and they'll pass it on to the needy.

peoplez, as i said mujhay khud sahi se nai pata abt the farz/wajib issue :rotato:

armughal bhai

let us not confuse WAJID with FARDH....

fitrana is WAJIB....
and so is the EID PRAYER....
<<<<<

so what do u mean? that its NOT NECESSARY to pray eid prayer or its NOT NECESSARY to pray fitrana?

i THOUGHT it was???

Madhanee , FF i thought mandatory and obligatory were the same thing??? [too lazy to check webster.com]

haha