Zakat and the Method of its Calculation

Re: Zakat and the Method of its Calculation

If its coming from a student of Mufti Usmani, that fatwa is good enough for me. Thanks for sharing.

ok another question.....one of my friends is not working, neither is her husband...they have 2 properties at the moment..both with a mortgage...they have no savings and are pretty much in debt...however she does have about 19k worth of gold which she never wears...is she liable to pay zakat?

edited

Peace All,

Pardon me for bumping up this thread. Hope this will help many of us.

**Assalamu Alaikkum, We are currently working to “Save Islam – Save Beggar – Build Mosque & Madrasas In Bangladesh”. We are individual and working for 70 Blind beggars to develop their beggaring life! Like: Giving foods, clothing, water, medicine, Islamic education and trying to beggar’s house venture. So, we request you to kindly help us and send your Zakat Fitrah at this Ramadhan a Karim directly to Beggar here is Bangladesh!

==================**
Save Islam In Bangladesh!](http://www.mashallah.net/)

Peace,

Pardon me for bumping up this old thread. Reason: maybe it will be useful for many of us.

where and to whom do I pay my zakat ?

I usually give it to my dad who send it to the needy one in his village, however he is away this year and i do not know where to pay.

I am in the uk.

Is Zakat applied on 401k as well?? I dont think its all my money for example if I wanna take it out now it'l be like 50% of total amount. is that right?

Then just calculate on the 50% and give.

How old are you and how much is in your 401k kitty ? :faizy:

Is it a fraction of a mil or a multiple ? :phil:

No if i remember correctly our imam sahib told that zakat is NOT applicable on 401k unless there's any specific condition apply. I'm just forgetting what condition(s) he mentioned.

I was sitting very calmly and now just 2 days are left to figure it out and send zakat.

What is the best way to send zakat to IDPs and Ghazza ?

Where do you send your zakaat money, Siddiqui ?

even after going through the guidelines mentioned in the earlier part of this threat, i still have some confusions…can somebody help me in this… i have two saving accounts, account A where i directly receive my salary (about 95 K PKR) and another one “B” where i often transfer funds from “A”. I make expenses from both of the accounts (mostly from B) through out the year, so how exactly i have to calculate zakat in this senario?

Peace

Strictly speaking this fatwa for including money recently obtained is a fatwa for “estimation” this is not correct the way to calculate actual zakat and it is given for ease of calculation.

Peace All,

Pardon us for bringing this thread back. Many questions related to Zakat is answered. If you have any question related to Zakat, feel free to post here.

#Zakat_Ul_Fitr or Sadaqat-Ul-Fitr

It is narrated in Hadiths that the Sadaqat-ul-Fitr or Zakat-ul-Fitr should be paid before the people go out for Eid prayer. The Sadaqat-ul-Fitr or Zakat-ul-Fitr prescribed by Mu’awiya is "half Sa’a of wheat equal to one Sa’a of dates, however, Abu Sa’id Al-Kudri objected and said he will take out Sadaqat-ul-Fitr or Zakat-ul-Fitr as used to take out during the lifetime of Prophet Muhammad :saw2: and that is equal to one Sa’a of dried dates, or one Sa’a of raisins (dried grapes), or one Sa’a of barley, or one Sa’a of cottage cheese.

Abdullah bin Umar further said: the people equalized it (then) with two mudds of fine wheat.

Sadaqat-ul-Fitr or Zakat-ul-Fitr is either 2.5 kilograms (5.51156 pounds) or 3 kilograms (6.61387 pounds) approximately. As per chart posted in above post, approximately calculation is as follow:

1 Sa’a = 8 Ratal = 4 kilograms = 8.81849 pounds
1/2 Sa’a = 4 Rata = 2 kilograms = 4.40925 pounds

Sadaqat-ul-Fitr or Zakat-ul-Fitr payer may consult local authorities before taking out Sadaqat/Zakat.

Almighty Allah knows best.

A year ago I was uncertain on this same subject and found some guidance by ‘psyah’ on a different thread. Nevertheless, this Ramadan I was calculating my zakaat and decided to take another look at this subject since this calculation involved going over my bank statements and inputting data onto a spreadsheet I created.

My issue was simple. I wanted to know the proper way to calculate so god forbid I don’t give less that I am supposed to. Upon the many websites I visited, I came across a book by Mufti Taqi Usmani (who I realized is a highly qualified Islamic scholar):

Zakat Kis Tarah Ada Karain By: Mufti Taqi Usmani : Free Download, Borrow, and Streaming : Internet Archive

The link will take to page 13, which is the meat and potatoes of how it should be calculated. And on page 14, an example is given.

I decided to try this method this year and when compared to my spreadsheet calculation of my average monthly balance throughout the year, it came very close (within a few hundred dollars)

The task I used to dread has become a simple process.