Zaheer Khan has come a long way

Zaheer has come a long way

He is the strength and motivation of the Indian team. His smiling countenance radiates the man’s intense desire to take wickets, because he does not bowl to contain. He bowls only to take wickets and this aggressive instinct has emanated from the new-found self-belief in India’s premier fast bowler — Zaheer Khan.

His favourite dream was to find a place for himself in Mumbai. He learnt quite a lot at the `nets’ run by Sudhir Naik but a place in the State side eluded him. So when he left Mumbai behind in search of an opportunity to play in the XI, few supported this unassuming cricketer from Srirampur in Shirdi district of Maharashtra.

His Marathi is as impeccable as the length that he has attained in the ICC Cricket World Cup. He has learnt to express himself quite vibrantly even as the batsmen have discovered to their utter discomfort that Zaheer has the potential to emulate the versatile Wasim Akram, the undisputed master of accuracy in world cricket.

``Accuracy is what I’ve been working on. Actually my ambition to be an accurate and wicket-taking bowler was given some direction during the tour of the West Indies. I’ve just about begun to enjoy the fruits of it,‘’ said Zaheer at the end of a gruelling fitness session at the Newlands here.

The scenic surroundings too played their part in motivating Zaheer to push himself that extra bit ahead of the Super Six day-night match against Kenya on Friday.

Zaheer has had everything going for him. The tour of the West Indies gave a glimpse of his potential and the education actually commenced on the England trip. "It was a very useful experience for me. I learnt a few tricks bowling in English conditions and then it was a joy to be able to exploit them.‘’

It has been a smooth process for Zaheer to establish his credentials and to command a place thanks to the support of John Wright, the coach who has a soft-corner for cricketers who work hard and are honest. Zaheer tops the list among the bowlers because he gives his best even at the `nets’.

Zaheer admits gratefully: "I am indebted to John because he has allowed me to be myself. He helps me so much at the `nets’ and he’s greatly responsible for developing my attitude towards fast bowling. I’ve been able to make a few adjustments only because of John’s guidance and it’s a great quality in him that he makes you feel important by thrusting responsibilities upon you.‘’

Even Akram’s impressed

What are the factors that transformed Zaheer into a bowler who has earned respect from even Akram. "He’s improved a lot from the time I saw him first,‘’ admitted Akram, who did speak to Zaheer at the ICC Knockout tournament in Nairobi three years ago. Zaheer has been quick to learn and adapt and these two qualities have propelled him as the most reliable bowler in the team during difficult situations.

Zaheer himself assesses the reasons for his wonderful progress in the last one year. "I think it is a combination of my hard work and that of Andrew (Leipus). He has worked out a training programme for my fitness and having followed that programme I realise that it has made a lot of difference.

"He monitors my fitness and my endurance which in turn helps me become a better cricketer. The training is far more systematic now. I’m basically a rhythm bowler and I’ve gained a lot from being fit.‘’

What Zaheer probably forgot to mention was that his confidence has been high because he gets to play regularly. It helped that he was never put under any pressure for his place. So, once he gained confidence and struck a good rhythm, it was just a matter of getting his priorities right.

``I’ve been very disciplined. Once I started getting wickets I could develop my skills and then things began to fall into place. I learnt one basic fact about bowling, to land the ball in the right place.‘’

Zaheer also gained from one little tip from the legendary Andy Roberts, who asked him to work on his follow-through. "He also told me to learn to vary my pace,‘’ said Zaheer. And he has made strides in this department.

Zaheer is concentrating on trying to be a complete bowler — a wicket-taking bowler and not one who would be happy just containing the batsmen. He has developed a lethal ball which darts in at a vicious angle and speed, leaving the batsman stunned. And the yorker has remained a weapon.

"It came to me naturally. I always could bowl a yorker at will even in my early days in junior cricket but I’ve now used it sparingly. More as a weapon.‘’

Zaheer has had the backing of captain Sourav Ganguly at every difficult stage in his career. "He’s been very helpful in boosting my confidence. What I like about him most is that he gives you responsibility so that you feel an integral part of whatever goes on in his mind. He’s been a fine motivator.‘’

On his mentor Javagal Srinath, the left-arm fast bowler had this to say: "he’s been working more on helping us than himself. He’s such a great team-man. He’s always encouraged me and emphasised on a proper warm up. Line and length is important but he insists on getting the initiative right before going flat out. It’s such a pleasure to bowl with him and Ashish (Nehra).‘’

It is also a wonderful relationship that the three have forged. At team meetings they have so much to share. "We’re very critical of each other whenever required. We blast each other if mistakes have happened on the field. We don’t hide anything from each other. I must tell you that being transparent has been a great thing. We respect each other and also are bitter critics of each other, because it helps us improve.‘’

Zaheer has enjoyed a good tournament so far and most things have happened along expected lines. "I was prepared for this tournament. It’s such a big tournament and obviously I, like everyone else, waited eagerly to give my best. I know I’m capable of doing better. I promise I’ll do better in the remaining matches,‘’ Zaheer said, signing off on a positive and optimistic note.

The lad from Srirampur has come a long way. He commands a place among the finest fast bowlers in world cricket today.

Zaheer ready for any track
Centurion |From Our Sports Reporter | 14-03-2003

Zaheer Khan, the young Indian pacer is not particularly bothered about the type of wicket that he bowls on. “I always aim to bowl a good line and length on all types of wickets,” remarked Zaheer Khan.

“If I can get my basics right, getting wickets should not be a problem. All that I strive for in every ball is to remain consistent,” he added.

At the Supersport Park practice nets yesterday, Zaheer sharpened all the weapons in his armoury such as inswingers, outswingers and the deadly yorkers.

“My skipper has a lot of faith in me and I am aware of the huge responsibility on me. It will be great if I am able to fulfill his expectations,” says Zaheer, who has bowled extremely well in this World Cup with the new ball.

Zaheer carries no airs about being one of India’s strike bowler and is at ease with the media speaking fluently in Hindi, Marathi and English.

When asked to comment on the turning point of his career, Zaheer said that it was his trip to Mumbai with his father while on a vacation. He was only a 12th grader then.

"I am from Srirampur, a small town near Ahmednagar. My interest for the game prompted my father to take me to Mumbai to get me some coaching.

I was fortunate to get coached by former Test star Sudhir Naik. He realised that I had the talent to bowl well and asked me to relocate to Mumbai if I had any plans of becoming a good cricketer," he revealed.

“Till I reached Mumbai I used to play only tennis ball cricket. In Mumbai, I found it hard to bowl with the cricket ball especially in the Mumbai Kanga league. Soon I found my rhythm and got selected into the Mumbai Under-19 team. While playing for Mumbai, T. A. Sekhar of MRF pace foundation spotted me and asked me to come for training in Chennai.”

Zaheer believes that the training he went through at the MRF academy transformed him totally. “That’s where I became aware of the importance of fitness in fast bowling.”

Does he compete with Ashish Nehra, another left-arm pacer like him in the Indian team? Zaheer said: “We are great friends and we help each other a lot. Our styles are different as he relies a lot on swing. We always encourage each other and point out each others mistakes.”

http://www.gulfnews.com/Articles/Cricket.asp?ArticleID=80649

I would rate him as a decent bowler, he did well during the WC, except he choked in 2 big matches vs Pak and Aus but other then that he was awesome. The match against New Zealand was one of his best as well.
With Srinath gone, he is now leading, and a lot responsibilities are rested on his shoulders.

oh come on.he is an okay bowler! Poor guy has to work on his smack talk skills. He was trying so hard against Aus n Pak..

The article says he can emulate Wasim , ahahhah
How do you compare Wasim Akram with Zaheer Khan?
The guy is 25 years old already, he allowed nearly 10 runs an over without taking a single wicket in the World Cup final. When Wasim Akram was the same age he not only dominated in the World Cup final with his bowling but scored key runs as well........
You can't even compare this guy with Shoaib Akhtar in the 1999 World Cup
Hell, I think Srinath was a much better bowler

zaheer is india’s best bowler but dont dis respect wasim by comparing zaheer with him. i’m sure some indian would have written that article

wasim is class apart from these average bowlers such as zaheer. There is no caomparision.

when agarkar started playing, he was also compared to wasim akram (agarkar is an all-rounder of the caliber of wasim akram said india's famous commentator)....

now zaheer is perhaps the best fast bowler india have had in history, so give him some credit....
agar woh log is ko waseem ke saath compare kartay hain to karne do....
woh to salvi ko bhee mcgrath se compare karte hain :p

Oh Indians do it all the time. I remember there was a time when they considered Robin Singh as an all rounder. The even made comparison between him and Abdul Razzaq, who had then been named the man of the series in Australia.

He is one of the better bowlers india has produced in recent times. That's fine. However, if he has come a long way already, he needs to go a lot longer to be anywhere close to where the author things Zaheer has already gotten :~)

*Originally posted by the_paindoo: *
Oh Indians do it all the time. I remember there was a time when they considered Robin Singh as an all rounder. The even made comparison between him and Abdul Razzaq, who had then been named the man of the series in Australia.

Robin Singh was ofcourse a better all rounder than Abdul Razzaq...Robin's batting was much better than Razzaq's...and as a bowler Razzaq is a mediocre one...actually Razzaq can only be considered as an average bowler who can bat a bit...and robin was predominantly a batsman...who bowled average.AND U SAY INDIANS DO IT ALL THE TIME?!

Razzaq these days is a very ordinary allrounder but he accomplished what Robin Singh won’t be able to in his 7 reincarnation.
I hope you remember C&U Series in Australia in 2000. He destroyed the Indians and Aussies on different occaisions with both bat and ball.

Robin Singh’s highest accomplishment has to be his match winning performance against Bangladesh in the inaugral test in 2000. :hehe:

I hope you remember the Indepence Cup Final at Dhaka, Robin Destroyed the Paki attack :slight_smile:

As for the Razzaq’s batting in CU Series - Scores of 9,6,51,40,70,12,13,24 are really some destruction I guess Richards is Jealous now :hehe:

Actually it was Ganguly who destroyed the Pak attack consisting of Aaqib, Azhar, Afridi, Saqlain, M Hussein, M Akhtar.
Well done

Those are pretty good scores for someone who came lower middle order.
BTW - Guess who was Man of the Series in that tournament.
Not Abhey Kuruvilla i tell you. :hehe: :hehe:

AOA !! :hehe are you telling us that Saqlain, Aaqib were not good bowlers ?

AOA aapke kya kehne - 9,6,51,40,70,12,13,24 are good scores ?? Well looking at what your main batsmen are scoring now a days, they definately are good scores. Btw, do you remember Robin’s score in Indepence Cup Final, It was higher than Razzaq’s any score in Aussie :hehe:

Aaqib was past his prime, and spinners on the flat pitches of subcontinent are useless.

You still haven’t told me, who was awarded man of the series in C&U Series.
Come on now cough it up.
Out of Tendulkar, Waughs, Lee, McGrath, which player was the best player in that series.
It wasn’t Debagibshesjkdahd Mohanty. :hehe:

Ohh so Aaqib Javed who was not even 26 and was past his prime ?? What next Shoaib Akhtar and Md. Sami are past their prime too ?? :hehe: Btw, you are not suggesting that Spinners like Saqi can’t bowl on Subcontinent pitches, are you ??

The discussion is not about who was Man of Series, it is about Razzaq’s Destruction of Indian and Australian bowling in which he made scores of 9,6,51,40,70,12,13,24 . :rotfl::rotfl:

Yeah, ask the selectors why Aaqib was dropped, its not about the age, he peaked too early in his career.
On flat pitches, Saqlain can never be successfull. There is a difference between flat pitches and the type of pitches which aids the spinners in India and Sri Lanka.

51, 40, 70, and because of those scores he was awarded men of the series. And plus he bowled very nicely.
I know I know, don’t cry about it, its ok.

OK lads stick to the topic.

Kya ehsan bhai - Har waqt maseeha bankar KhaRe ho jaate ho aap. :)

Dar hay aur dard ki hay dawa eik he shaksh
Yahaan hay Jallad aur Maseeha ba-khuda eik he shaksh :hehe: