Zabeeha vs non-zabeehaa

people…
thoughts on this topic.. i have found equal evidence for both ? super confused !!

Re: zabeega vs non-zabeehaa

5:3 "Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah. that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it (in due form); that which is sacrificed on stone (altars); (forbidden) also is the division (of meat) by raffling with arrows: that is impiety. This day have those who reject faith given up all hope of your religion: yet fear them not but fear Me. This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed My favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion. But if any is forced by hunger, with no inclination to transgression, Allah is indeed Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful."

When you electrocute an animal, it dies before bleeding. Hence, eating non-zabeeha meat can be classified under any of the two categories in bold.

(Allah knows best)

what about the fact that the food from people of the book can be eaten?

The People of the Book use to slaughter their animals just like Muslims by cutting the throat and mentioning Gods/Allahs name, I think Jews still practice this (Kosher) however most Christians don't.

You can't take a verse out of context, you have to take them all togther, in my opinion it's only Halaal if it meets the other criteria.

If it's Kosher I'll eat it only after saying the Basmallah as I don't know if they mention God's name on each animal indivually or not, I think there is a Hadeeth which says something like if you don't know if Allah's name's been mentioned or not, mention it yourself and eat it, ofcourse that doesn't apply to pork, stunned meat or meat done by say a sikh.

I hate jhatka/stunned meat anyway, it stinks horrible and is dripping with blood more so than normal meat.

it is less important if the meet is zabeeh or not. It is more important how u have earned it.

People, get this message. Islam and religion is not about how to kill animals, but more about how to behave in society. Whether or not u eat pigs or chicken is secondary important.

Yaa’ni … Halaal kamao teh naalae suwwar khao ??? :rolleyes:

aray naheeN naheeN.. I know someone who said… sharab is halal because it goes out of your system through Urine but Khinzeer is haraam because it becomes part of your body..
superb logic, stupid thinking.

Anwar mian, i wanted to reply to ur statement, but then i looked at ur number of posts…and I decided against it :smiley:

darpok :snooty:

5:3 "Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah

Where is the due form of zibah listed?

26000 wow Qureshi impressive!!

lost you have a point, how you earn it is important, but dont try and be the judge of what is NOT important. unless ofcourse you are another self procalimed prophet.

I think its intellectual dishonesty to put forward just one side of the issue, without researching the other side as well and come to a reasonable conclusion.

This is the verse which is taken as a proof for permissibility of meat slaughtered by christians/jews:

• 5:5. Made lawful to you this day are AtTayyibât [all kinds of Halâl (lawful) foods, which Allâh has made lawful (meat of slaughtered eatable animals, etc., milk products, fats, vegetables and fruits, etc.). The food (slaughtered cattle, eatable animals, etc.) of the people of the Scripture (Jews and Christians) is lawful to you and yours is lawful to them.*[/li]

And the following are the verses, which prohibit meat that does not have God’s name taken on it:

• ***2:173. He has forbidden you only the Maytatah (dead animals), and blood, and the flesh of swine, and that which is slaughtered as a scrifice for others than Allâh (or has been slaughtered for idols, etc., on which Allâh’s Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering). But if one is forced by necessity without wilful disobedience nor transgressing due limits, then there is no sin on him. Truly, Allâh is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful. ***

***6:118. So eat of that (meat) on which Allâh’s Name has been pronounced (while slaughtering the animal), if you are believers in His Ayât (proofs, evidences, verses, lessons, signs, revelations, etc.). ***

***6:119. And why should you not eat of that (meat) on which Allâh’s Name has been pronounced (at the time of slaughtering the animal), while He has explained to you in detail what is forbidden to you, except under compulsion of necessity? ***

6:121. Eat not (O believers) of that (meat) on which Allâh’s Name has not been pronounced (at the time of the slaughtering of the animal), for sure it is Fisq (a sin and disobedience of Allâh). And certainly, the Shayâtin (devils) do inspire their friends (from mankind) to dispute with you, and if you obey them] [by making AlMaytatah (a dead animal) legal by eating it], then you would indeed be Mushrikûn (polytheists) [because they (devils and their friends) made lawful to you to eat that which Allâh has made unlawful to eat and you obeyed them by considering it lawful to eat, and by doing so you worshipped them, and to worship others besides Allâh is polytheism].*
Question is, whether the permissibility in 5:5 automatically assumes that People of the Book took God’s name “while slaughtering” at the time of that verse. If you believe “yes”, then the meat available in the market right now slaughtered by christians etc is not permissible. If you say “no”, both are independent, and if you get meat from “People of the Book” then it is permissible to eat, as long as you take Allah’s name on it before eating.

For the record, I believe the former interpretation is the majority opinion, and the latter is minority. Most Arabs I know, follow the latter opinion. Most everyone else follows the former.

PS. These translations are from Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al-Hilali, Ph.D., and Dr. Muhammad Muhsin Khan. If you are uncomfortable with the translation, better take these references and obtain the translation from a source of your choice.

Re: Zabeeha vs non-zabeehaa

Faisal Bhai ...
Never in quran two statements contradict each other...now , there are so many religeous people , who still eat non-zabeehaa, i agree most of them are arabic... i really wanted to find out thier side of the argument... i have heard stuff like following different imams...to me i still cant reach a decision... i have never heard a desi molvi saying thats its alright to eat non-zabeeha though ...

No one is saying its contradictory. But if you just read one verse (e.g. 5:5), you'd say "bingo! there you go.. the meats of christians is permitted". Is it? May be. May be not. You have to read the whole range of guidance provided to come to a more reasoned conclusion.

Re: Arabs, as has been explained a few times on these forums, they make a distinction between halaal/haraam and zabeeha/non-zabeeha.

So, chicken, for example, will always be halaal, because its considered halaal in Islam. A horse or a swine will always be haraam, as it is considered haraam in Islam. You can not kill a swine in a certain way to make it halaal. It can't be done. So, now we are only left with halaal animals. In them, they are either killed in an Islamically approved manner, where they are called zabeeha, or they are not killed in an Islamically approved manner, where they are called non-zabeeha. That doesn't change the fact that they are halaal, nevertheless. Based on 5:5, they say that a muslim can eat anything that is halaal. And if it is non-zabeeha, then you take Allah's name on it before eating it. This is all from an Arabic stand-point.

Desis and desi scholars make no distinction. What is not killed in an Islamically approved manner is haraam. End of story. You can't eat it. By the way, I am using the word "desi" cause you mentioned it :) but I suspect this is a majority view anyway, including scholars in most parts of the Islamic world.

forget arabs or what not, most scholars say what is not killed islamically is haram.

On side note…
You dont have to suspect of it being majority if you said Desis do it.. Desi from 3 countries( 450 Mill) will automatically make it Majority. :smiley:

Assalam O Alaikum

Zabiha slaughtering has originated during the sharia of Prophet Musa PBUH and continued to day. The niyat, saying in the name of Allah and slaughtering method was same for Jews, Christian and for Muslims at the time of Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum. This is the basis of ayat 5:5 and hadith that allowed eating meat slaughtered by Ahlekitab. Although there is no information about how Muslims eat the meat when they migrated to Habsh, a Christian country, it is assumed that they eat the meat slaughtered by Christians.

Few ulema thinks that meat was not the part of pure foods mentioned in ayat 5:5 because the word pure or Tayab but majority think that meat is included. Ayat number 6:118, 6:118 and 6:12 is the definition of pure foods mentioned in ayat 5:5.

Saying the name of Allah on the meat comes from a hadith when Muslims has some doubt about slaughtering method by new Muslims who are learning Islam not the ahlekitab. Unfortunately Arab brothers use it universally including saying on supermarket meat.

The purpose of 5:5 is to eat pure foods of ahlekitab when you are invited to eat at their houses or you are traveling in a non Muslim country where zabiha meat slaughtered by a Muslim is not available, it does not mean to stick to it and leave the available zabiha meat.

Here in US and Canada, methods of slaughtering an animal are based on USDA regulations except religious slaughtering regulation. The meat in supermarket is not from religious slaughter regulation but from USDA regulations which do not include any church blessing. Christian even does not know that they have to slaughter animal in the name of Allah, nor the preachers at churches teach this principal. The religious regulations of USDA comply with Muslim slaughter and Jewish slaughter not the Christians. A Christian slaughter house can hire a Hindu or Chinese to slaughter the animal, how could it became the meat slaughtered by ahlekitab. A Muslim slaughterhouse can not hire anybody other than Muslims.

In Judaism, only a specially trained Rabbi called Sachet can slaughter the animals not like in Islam. This is the only person and we do not know what other prays beside in the name Allah he recite while slaughtering the animals, it could mean shirk to us. Another issue, he says prayers on only first and last animal during slaughtering but say nothing on the animals in between them. For example if he has to slaughter 10 cows, he says Allah’s name on number 1 cow and number 10 and nothing on 2-9 cows.

Many Arab brothers and their Islamic scholars do not know these facts and blindly think that it is meat slaughtered by ahlekitab. They also do not think about Taqwa aspect of contamination that a Christian slaughterhouse also slaughtered pigs using the same equipments and after slaughter they put meat in the same cooler, touching each others. At supermarkets meat section, there is great chance of contamination in grinding beef meat than at slaughterhouse. According to an Islamic news letter, even exposing the ground beef mix with pork meat by NBC and ABC at certain supermarkets, Arab brothers still buys the ground beef from the supermarkets beside there is lot of zabiha meat shops around their houses. Similarly they eat beef, chicken meat dishes at American restaurants without thinking of contamination.

The concept of eating meat of Halal animals mentioned in the thread is not true because there is a hadith that even a Halal animal meat can not be eaten if it died of natural causes even its fat can not be use. It is possible that Halal animal died even before slaughtering in Christian slaughterhouse. Then why the Arab brothers and their ulema ignore this hadith.

In my opinion this practice of Arab brothers and their ulema is due to their culture, belief and customs because Arab Christians in their countries follow exact same methods of slaughtering as Muslims because they speak same language and follow same culture, so they think the Christians in western countries follows the same methods as Arabs Christian. This is not true in India, Pakistan, Indonesia, although Christians and Muslims look alike but speak different and some time same languages but follow different culture. Zabiha Halal meat is available so easily in USA and Canada so there is no need to consume meat slaughtered by ahlekitab.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
www.muslimconsumergroup.com