Z Molu Photography

Re: Z Molu Photography

i think the thing to remember with any photographer, esp. people with more editorial style like Z Molu, is that their portfolios are going to showcase what they consider the best of their style of photography. you should always, always ask to see a FULL wedding by any photographer you meet so you can get a better sense of their overall style and how they handle group shots and candids and every other type of image, outside of the couple's photoshoot.

i also don't understand the trend of paying upwards of $5000 for a single photographer. many excellent editorial gora photographers work closely in tandem either with partners (as in two photographers of equal skill) or with secondary shooters (perhaps someone who is in the business and on their way upwards but might not have years and years of experience like the primary photographer you've hired). imho, two lenses, two perspectives, and two people is ALWAYS better than a single photographer esp. considering how large desi weddings can be. two photographers is fast becoming the standard amongst most people offering their services- the bigger desi names need to be play catch up! its not possible for one person to be everywhere all at once.

When I was getting married my friend suggested Z Molu as well because all her friends used him. I decided not to go with him because his style is too over the top for me. I really don't think a wedding should be shot "editorial style" and the couple made to look like they belong in Vogue like someone else here mentioned earlier.

I also feel couple's that do that are attention hungry. It just screams "look at me! look at me! I'm a fake super model!"

A wedding is supposed to be bright, colorfull, you are supposed to be able to actually see the faces of the bride and groom and guests and capture the expressions and priceless moments.

I just don't understand why everyone nowdays thinks its soooo cool to do an editorial photoshoot for their wedding. People are even doing editorial shoots with their newborn babies.....its just so FAKE!

very good points! It's sometimes true that with digital cameras now, so called professional wedding photographers can take 5000 pictures at a wedding and if 5% of it is actually usable, that's still a decent amount of images and there's bound to be 20 in there that would look pretty good. Always ask to see more of a wedding if possible.

Was just on ZMolu.com and it says that 10-15% of the delivered images are creatively enhanced (I guess what you see on his website). So I suppose the rest of the images are normal.

It's true that a second perspective would be advantageous, but be sure to ask your photographer who they'll be using for the second photographer. I've heard some photographers just bring a spouse...strap a camera on his/her neck...and have them stand in the corner to snipe away. Definitely not the way to go....Ask to see the second photographers portfolio and how long the main photographer have worked with the second. The wedding that I went to with Z Molu being the photographer, he had a second photographer with him.

There's always going to be trends, while timeless images are great, trends just defines the era that you're in (to a certain degree). If you look at your parents wedding album..that's considered timeless, but do you really want that style of photography today? There's nothing wrong with not liking this style, there are plenty of other photographers out there that you can find one that fits what you want. No need to trash one guy because their style is not your cup of tea. there's no particular way that a wedding is "suppose to be"....just my opinion..

i dunno about that... some people are looking for more artistic/editorial images and some people are happy with the same ole posed photography. it doesn't mean one couple is more fake and the other one is more boring... they just want different things out of it. and hey, if you want to pretend to be a model, what better way to play dress up than on your wedding day when you actually are all dressed up? :) my cousin's hired z molu to do her photography- lets see how her pics turn out!

This is a great conversation, I hope you all don't mind if I join in.

I'm Zaheer Molu a.k.a. Z Molu Photography

There are some very interesting points being made here. I think the main thing to keep in mind is that there are different markets out there and as you can clearly see from this thread, I'm not the perfect fit for everyone, and nor am I trying to be. I never got into this business saying I am going to be all things to all people. That is why I don't do baby, maternity, family, or corporate photography. I've been very focused on weddings and shooting couples - it's what I love to do. And I do it MY way. I don't have any formal training in photography, I developed my own style and I continue to develop it.

People invest a LOT of money on their big day and they want to be captured in a very different way. Nothing you do on your wedding day is "normal". You don't normally have dinner with 600 people, you don't normally spend $1000 on your hair and make up, you don't normally get chauffered around town in a 30 passenger Hummer limo. So why should your pictures be "normal"? Why shouldn't it be something of a fantasy? I work with a couple's energy. I have very conservative couples who are not into public displays of affection and there are couples who are very passionate with each other - each are shot differently. I don't approach a wedding day and say these are the poses I must have today! I go with the flow and through our engagement shoot session, I will already have a great understanding of how the couple works together and will use that when I'm shooting the two of them alone.

That's another part of this equation. What you see displayed on my website are the pictures that I personally really connect with. The ones that were tricky to nail down, that were technical, that were unique, that were new to me. Of couse I can't show you the 800-3000 pictures that I deliver to a client on my website and I have always made full albums available to anyone who walks in the door. Many people get a bit bored after the first 100 or so pictures! In addition, being a very passionate and intimate person myself, I like to show shots of just the couple and realistically, if I'm lucky, I will get an hour out of a 12-18+ hour day to shoot the couple by themselves. The rest of the day is about the prep, ceremonies, reception, and family/group photos. In encourage everyone here to hit me up on Facebook where my profile is completely open and you can see 70+ albums that I've posted (www.facebook.com/ShootMyWedding). You'll see more depth to a wedding day and how I cover everything from the prep to the reception. Keep in mind that everything that you see on my website and on facebook, was edited (not in Photoshop) during the dinner hour at the reception and shown on the spot. We're not talking about spending hours on end working on a photo. I nail the shot on location and then do a little toning just to give it some pop.

People who connect with my work have a strong artistic side to them and they really appreciate what goes into making an image different than what is commonly being offered in the market. And yes, they want to feel like supermodels for their big day, why not? I'm okay if people want to hate on me but I don't think it's fair to be hating on couples who want to look like "models" on their wedding. It's their day! I have people who have changed their dates so they can have me shoot their wedding. One bride even got married on a Thursday because that was the only time I was available. I'm not tooting my own horn, I just want people to understand that it's okay for people to like one thing over another and there's no reason to be putting people down because of that.

And again, us photographers have to shoot a lot during the course of the wedding day. It would be every photographer's dream to just have the couple walk around the city for 10 hours all done up and just shoot them but that's not the reality. We have to shoot details, architecture of the church/temple/hall, we have to know macro work so we can shoot the rings just right, we are expected to cover every minute of the day and deliver a product at the end that has captured every moment. So for people to think all us photographers or me particularly shoots only "editorial"-type photos for the day, it's totally not the case. I personally make sure I shoot the stuff that I want to shoot (that's why people come to me) and then shoot some very close up images of the couple in loving, giggly ways to capture that emotion. Do I always show that work, no because I've done it a million times and it's the "safe" stuff that I have to ensure I get and provide as part of the end product.

One major thing that I want people to keep in mind as they are planning their day is this. I want you to think about what your guests are doing during the ceremony and the reception. People have a fantasy that their guests will be doing such amazing things while the speeches are going on for hours and people are only thinking of one thing - when are we going to eat?? When couples ask me to capture people candidly during the ceremony and the reception, I tell them that I do shoot as many people as possible but what they are going to get is shots of people looking like a deer in the headlights. This is why I and others in the industry promote photobooths as a fun way to capture your guests. Interaction is always more interesting than watching people fighting off sleep and hunger! So during cocktail hour, make sure you're not locked up in the bridal suite, get out and mingle with people, or get up and make the rounds to the tables during dinner. Give us something to work with and we'll give you amazing moments! If you want to discuss this further, please email me at anytime - [email protected]. It's a personal pet peeve of mine that I have extensive experience with as I covered well over 200 weddings in my 4+ years.

In terms of editing, I enhance 10-15% of the images but every single image goes through a process of colour correction, cropping, and contrast/highlight/shadow enhancing. I do not just shoot and burn on a disk what I shoot! I wish it were that easy! I would actually have a life if I could just let the images go out like that!

I do use 2nd shooters as needed. I've shot $100,000+ weddings in the U.S. by myself and the couples always comment on how I didn't miss a moment. I work like a ninja (that's what I've been told) and move around a lot and cover different angles. I preferred doing it on my own as I don't have to worry about the 2 videographers plus my 2nd shooter getting in the shots. Lately I've had an assistant work with me to ensure I get the shots I need but to help with more advanced lighting techniques and to just keep things moving along as weddings have become so much more hectic.

I love the comment about getting 5% of 5000 pictures! That would mean you would have 50 usable images of your wedding - you can't be in business with those ratios!

Last thoughts - in this business you really get what you pay for! In the past year I have done a number of "re-shoots" for couples who HATED their wedding pictures because they tried to save some money and go elsewhere. They had to get ready again, pay for hair and make up, get the entire family and bridal out again and also pay me to shoot for several hours. Add that to how much they originally paid and it's well over what I would have initially charged. I'm not saying you have to pay insane amounts for wedding photography, but you really need to decide where on your list of priorities is photography and budget accordingly.

I'd love to chat with anyone here. I love these types of dialogues. I'm not big on checking into these forums so please contact me through email or facebook and even if I'm not shooting your wedding, I'd be more than happy to help you with deciding on locations and even share my favourite vendor list.

To all those that are getting married, I wish you all the best that life has to offer. Being married is a beautiful thing, I've been married almost 14 years myself!

Thank you!

Zaheer

wanted to bump this thread cuz i thought Mr. Molu's own response to the comments was interesting

llxll what are you upto? :hmmm:

i dunno what u mean… im a perfect angel eheh :smiley:

You

In

Wedding forum

:hmmm:

OHHHHH no no aisi koi baat nahi

Aww shaadi mubarak! :D

DFM :naraz: khasman nu khaana:jj:…kiski shaadi mubarik? :nessy::bailan::smash::2guns:

I can tell you from working with Z Molu Photography that he focuses very little on customer service. I was happy with some of the photos and want to keep a 100% positive on our wedding. Z Molu did not capture those great moments with with friends and family for us on our day.

^ ive heard that alot recently. His customer service skills lack and that he misses capturing important moments

I had a feeling I would hear from cseida. I'm not going to get into that situation at all, I'd like to keep things positive as well.

In terms of customer service, 2009 was a very big year for me. I had just gone full time with the business, just bought a new house and had a baby. Yes I admit, customer service wasn't amazing but it wasn't terrible either! It's part of going into business for yourself, you learn things along the way. I'm sure everyone here who's ever had a job before has made mistakes and dropped the ball once or twice. Are we wedding photographers supposed to be super-human and infallible?

During the past 18 months, my wife has quit her job to work hand-in-hand with me as we never want to drop the ball or leave anyone hanging. We've heard nothing but amazing reviews from people about our customer service as her job is solely focused on that one area only. We even respond to emails and voicemails while on vacation in Jamaica!

We're totally dedicated to giving our clients the best experience possible and ALWAYS making ourselves available to handle any questions.

I know for a fact that the negative comments out there are being spread by other "fellow" photographers who on one hand beg me to teach them everything I know and then on the other hand want to start rumours about me. I have actual names of people like this but I'm going to take the high road in this business and not get caught up in the immaturity that exists in the industry.

These "photographers" can hate all they want and talk crap but that's not going to build their business.

I'd love to hear from MissSN as to where you're getting your information about me "missing" key moments. You can see from the highlights alone that post that I've nailed every major moment for all types of different weddings.

People should do their research first before talking non-sense.

Again, I'm open to healthy discussion and debate that is backed up by facts - not false rumours created by individuals who are pissed off because I won't divulge all that I know to them and hand it over on a silver platter!

Omg, I actually LOVE your work! Just bummed out that you’re booked on my wedding :bummer: Can’t wait to see some new work :slight_smile:

well said, z!
you shot an acquaintance's wedding recently and did an amazing job, and i didn't see any key moments being missed.

Zaheer! Great job dude! You're one of my personal favs! I recently started my own photography service and hope to achieve results like yours one day. Although I am not big on photoshopping and prefer to keep my photos as natural as possible, I admire your work bro. Would love to connect with you sometimes just to talk photography and learn from you :)

Please post your info in bazaar talk! Since this discussion is about Z, it makes sense that he post his info here but as a general rule, bazaar talk houses all our advertising. Thanks! I am based in the GTA but will travel anywhere there is food and bottled water available :)

I am not as well-known or experienced as ZMolu, but I ain't that expensive to book either! LOL..

P.S: Zaheer, hope you don't mind me mentioning my business name in a thread dedicated to you :)

i just visited your website and found your work awesome. :)