Yup, we're gonna the win the 2003 Cup

I’m talking Canada, not Pakistan.

Seriously speaking, check out the team that West Indies A fielded at the end of the post. This win was very impressive indeed.

Canada stun West Indies A with last over win in series decider
CricInfo - 5 August 2002

Canada continued to demonstrate that they are a team to be reckoned with after a 5 wicket last-over victory over a West Indies A team containing 6 full internationals.

The West Indies travelled north of Toronto to the rural setting of Maple Leaf CC just outside of King City for the deciding game of a series of three one day matches against Canada. With only 12 fit players the West Indies had few options, but Canada strengthened their bowling by bringing in Sanjay Thuraisingam, one of their more effective bowlers in the ICC Trophy, as well as giving Asif Mulla and Ahmed Panchabhai their first games of the series.

Thuraisingam and Joseph had West Indies A in early trouble, with skipper Ganga caught behind for just 3, continuing a poor run in Canada, Hibbert for 10, and Ruanako Morton for a single. West Indies A were in danger of collapse at 39/3, but sensible batting from Bravo (45) and Breese took them out of danger and eventually to a competitive total. Nick de Groot, familiar with many of these West Indian players from his years with Guyana, took a couple of wickets with his off-spin, but with Reon King contributing some lusty blows, West Indies ‘A’ totalled 204. Gareth Breese was top-scorer, run out on the last ball of the innings for 68.

Given the fragility of the Canadian batting in the first two games, this was a competitive total, and with Sattaur, Chumney and Billcliff back in the pavilion for a combined 12 runs, things looked grim indeed. Ishwar Maraj (playing his first match of the series) and Nick de Groot steadied the innings with an excellent partnership. Maraj went for a fine half-century, and then when de Groot was caught hooking Canada were agonisingly close needing 20 off four overs. The experience gained in winning several close matches at the ICC Trophy and in Namibia paid off as skipper Joe Harris with 32* saw Canada home in the last over.

This gave Canada the series 2-1, and this was well earned in a much better all round performance. It is worth remembering that this was a strong West Indies A side, and although perhaps a little jaded after a long tour of England, there were six players with international experience on view. Canada took full advantage of home conditions, bowled tighly throughout the series and were never overawed by their more illustrious opponents.

The teams now move on to the Toronto Cricket Skating and Curling club for a 2-day match starting on Wednesday. Play starts early and will continue late, with the expectation of maximising the hours of play in the two days.

WI A:

*Daren Ganga
Sulieman Benn
Tino Best
Marlon Black
Dwayne Bravo
Gareth Breese
CH Gayle
+Keith Hibbert
Reon King
Jermaine Lawson
Runako Morton
Donovan Pagon
Darren Powell
Lendl Simmons
Devon Smith

good show canada..waise kabhi kabhi chriya se baaz maray hi jatay hein…

thanx 4 posting te sharing…

God bless u…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

Dervaish you meany!

AOA

WOW!
Thats impressive!

I hope they put up a good fight against big sides.

I think all minor teams exception of Kenya should be sent to England or Australia before WC to get some experience and play against county teams.

Thats one thing I don't think ICC have been doing and they get upset when a minor team does horribly.

Bangladesh should be sent to India for the Ranjhi trophy etc.

Originally posted by Xpress:
*Bangladesh should be sent to India for the Ranjhi trophy etc.

Abay, kiyon un ki thori bohat jo game hay us kay bhi dushman ho gaye ho?

Canada innings (target: 205 runs in 50 overs)
NA de Groot c b ? 59
A Sattaur out 15
D Chumney out 1
IS Billcliff out 1
I Maraj out 51
*JV Harris not out 32
JM Davison not out 5

Extras (lb 14, w 16, nb 13 43***
Total (5 wickets, 49.2 overs) 207

ballay ballay, canada ko 43 runz to tohfay mein hi mil gaye…WI walay kuch ziada hi meherban thay…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

Canada

Ok, since my pal sambralian supports it, thats the second team I support, after Pakistan. Just for Sambrialian.

Thank you paijaan! Where would Canada be without loyal supporters like you and me?

Anyways, guys on a more serious note: I think that if the Canadian cricket board actually wanted to put out a half decent team, they could. There is a lot of talent amongst the Pakistani and Bharati folks around here.

A month or two ago we played a couple of matches on a Sunday morning and we had this guy who was the captain of a local club team in our team as well. Just 5 guys per side, 8 overs per side, nothing too serious. The guy I’m talking about was around 40. So, in one of the matches he opened the innings. In the first over, he hit five sixes all of them identical shots in the exact same direction everyone of them higher than the last one. Even though the bowler sucked and was throwing up pies but still the shots that he played were unbelievable especially since I saw them upclose.

Now, I and a couple of buddies have also seen the Canadian team play and I can certifiably say that the man deserved to be in the national team. When we asked him about that he said that the team is dominated by Guyanese folks and they don’t let anyone else make it to the team. Don’t know if this is true for everybody but I can say with certainty that that guy deserved to be playing in Canadian colours. Sad!

It's so true!

GO CANADA but... you are right the National Board is owned by Guyanese folks.

When I was selected for Manitoba Under 19, I never realized how much they dominate the cricket scene in Canada. The President of MCA, is like a Manager for the Canadian Cricket Board, and I would bet anything that he would select half a team of Guyanese.
(Figures with the team selected presently)

Watch out though, there is a lot of South Africans comming to Canada. And they are making a big impact in Cricket (especially in BC, Alberta, Sask and MB).

Originally posted by sambrialian:
** Thank you paijaan! Where would Canada be without loyal supporters like you and me?

Anyways, guys on a more serious note: I think that if the Canadian cricket board actually wanted to put out a half decent team, they could. There is a lot of talent amongst the Pakistani and Bharati folks around here.

A month or two ago we played a couple of matches on a Sunday morning and we had this guy who was the captain of a local club team in our team as well. Just 5 guys per side, 8 overs per side, nothing too serious. The guy I'm talking about was around 40. So, in one of the matches he opened the innings. In the first over, he hit five sixes all of them identical shots in the exact same direction everyone of them higher than the last one. Even though the bowler sucked and was throwing up pies but still the shots that he played were unbelievable especially since I saw them upclose.

Now, I and a couple of buddies have also seen the Canadian team play and I can certifiably say that the man deserved to be in the national team. When we asked him about that he said that the team is dominated by Guyanese folks and they don't let anyone else make it to the team. Don't know if this is true for everybody but I can say with certainty that that guy deserved to be playing in Canadian colours. Sad!**

I remember Canada played an ODI against Pak very long time back, I mean at that time there werent any other teams like bangladesh, kenya etc... But they scored very low against Pakistan in that match. They should have improved considerably from that time. We need two or three teams to match Australia, Pakistan and SA's dominence on the top scene.