You're damned if you wear the Hijab in Turkey... seat of the last Khilafah

Originally posted by jannu:
Ali
You are right.... the state is oppressing. But that's because the constitution dictates it. To change what Turkey does.... to a large extent... the constitution of the country needs to be changed.

But there are other things we can do to show our distaste. Aren't Turkish businesses in Pakistan? We can approach our local gov'ts to lodge complaints, we can write the the HR commission, we can write to the Turkish embassies or the Turkish gov't itself. We can find ways to give a vocal representation to the Turkey's Islamic parties. These are the small, individually, achievable steps, in my opinion, that can be followed.

Voices count, votes count....**

I totally agree with you Jannu and this is what I normally do. I have written a lot complain mails and they do affects on the system.
Yes, we have to keep this going.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

Exactly

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

Ali_R

• I totally agree with you Jannu and this is what I normally do. I have written a lot complain mails and they do affects on the system. Yes, we have to keep this going. *

God bless people like you. We only need a few more millions like you. I think we can achieve that... I think they have started testing human cloning in many places... looking at your pic. I don't they have to worry about messing anything up.

But, seriously, you've got the point. You alwasy had. I will dig up some old material... but pretty new in GS time and post for some people here. We might be able to get something going again.... I don't know. Seems like I am on "vacation" on this.

Normally, when I get stuff like this in my emails, I delete them. Don't hold any value to me anymore. Sad but what can anyone do and no one's interested anyway beyond lip service. I have always admired you for taking action, to whatever your capacity allows, many a times. Maybe I have to learn perseverence from you. Lekin, abhi aag dobaara nahiN jaagi hai.

Ammarr, I got you PM. I have replied.

** Nor do most people… I will never accept that stand. I know that’s how things are taught in Pakistan and other Muslim countries. I have never lived in Pakistan so I see, and read this, with much curiosity. How am I supposed to show my kids Muslim role models? Not by how they look but by their actions? I can not show many in my community. They all like to keep quiet about all the good they are doing… but for some reason… we all shout about the problems facing us. How confusing I find this, I can’t begin to tell you. Anyways… I am not like most Muslims…**

Well! I guess its just me then who thinks that way or most of the people, sorry I don’t please other people J. Role models for kids, Well kids should look up to their parents J they can find other role models on their on if their nourishing was done correctly, there wont be any problem. To be honest with you, there are several Muslim volunteer that I have seen who love to show what they have done for others. I am quiet surprise that you didn’t find any in your community shocked. As far as it goes for me, I am a person who grabs the drum and announce it to the entire muslim community.

**        This reminds me of a time I was talking about total lack of volunteer services at the local mosque with a friend of   mine. I was telling him why doesn't the local mosque recognizes someone as a volunteer services "director" or some   such thing like the churches do around here? For example, we need volunteers to help keep the yard clean, clean the  inside, visit the Muslim sick in the local hospital, laison with the local hospital in providing help in providing halaal food   for those Muslim who ask for them, drive the charity collection in the neighborhoods, collect and develop materials  for the local jails, the managing the open house that we don't ever have, etc. Well, he kind of smirked at me and said  that, "Well, why do yo need someone to tell you what to do. Why don't you just go ahead and do it on your own   whatever you can?" Well, Nia, I kind of sat there quiet for a few seconds and thought to myself that he has no idea                  what he is saying. I found his response so ludicurious, and he is a religious person, that I have never discussed  things like these with him. **

hmm JazakAllah. I am very please to see that you are Alhumdulilah care about Muslim community from bottom of your heart. But my brother, do you realize you are asking others to help you out. You cant put gun on everyone’s head and make them do the work. Remember again they have to give answer to their own deeds. Your intentions were good, if people don’t get it then what can you do? Most of the people here want to go and show others what they have done in their community so they can be famous among their fellows

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

. I have seen this so many times which is not even funny.

**   Thing is that we lack organizational approach to any issues that we are facing. There's a lot we can learn from the       Indians and the Jews on this regard. They understand what it means to band together for a cause. I see them take    issue with something and then I see ourselves burried with the idea that we should expose a good thing if we do it. **

Here you just blamed the entire Muslim community! You just called the everyone who is muslim lacking organizational thinking. You might wanna rethink that. I am not sure if I wanna compare Muslims with Jews and Indians…hmm..

**Let others suffer until someone figures out that someone has done some good…whenever that truth surfaces. But it would be awfully powerful and effective if the same thing is coordinated, performe and made an example of. **

I am sorry pardon my ignorance, I have no clue what on earth you are saying here?

**                I subscribe to the hadith that if charitable work is exposed and shown as "an example" to others for the purpose of     deriving similar actions then it is allowed. And why shouldn't it be, to begin with? **

Can you please give me an exact reference to that Hadith .

** I haven’t found a Muslim who hasn’t said what you have said. My question to them becomes… so what do you think should be done? Answer: What can be done? Everthing is in the hands of Jews… or whatever. Then I think to myself… mmmm… **

well my brother! I think Muslims are doing something. There are few who are raising their voice. Well at least I am. They have media in their hands we can do the same. Karney ko to bohot kuch kia ja sakta hai bas himmat ki bat hai sari. (not pointing towards you).

** No, you can not. You will get only so many on your side after year that you could probably count on one hand. But, on the other hand, if you… I hope you gain that much more power… .for the sake of all of us. **

Thanks for the duas I will need them. Bas dekthey jaeey ap ki behan kia kia karti hai. *nia is in action.. remember that

** Right! Funny thing is that these women are kept in subjugation by the ones who follow the Quran and sunnah. I used to be visited by these jamaatis who’d come to my area. Sufice to say that I have not seen one jamaat come my way in the last 3-4 years. They have learned to black list Mr. Jannus’ house. I know they go around the town. But, they better not come to my home… bunch of idiots! **

And the funnier part is; Women don’t bother to read the Hadith or Quran shareef (understand it with meaning) and fight for their right. Ghut ghut key jeney sey moot achi hai. I feel pity for those women who are in Afghanistan. Mard auraton ko deemak ki tarha kha rahein hain. And poor women, I don’t understand how do they that that **** (sorry about my lango)

** The problem, Nia, is that unlike you, a vast majority of Muslims is not capable of understanding that we can raise our voices in the media… that’s where the battles are fought… battles for the hearts and minds. You are absolutely correct in saying this. But the real affect is laid when you have a whole lotta others who believe in what you are doing and do the same thing. It is far, far, better to manager such an approach as a group then hope to fire a “sosha” and hope that someone will “see the light of the day”. On the contrary, it is better to call together people and discuss the situations, solutions, and ways to implement those solutions. Team work. **

Like I said I don’t care what others have to say, I will do whatever I can. Well! Allah is with me so I can care less about others. Well someone has to start and I am sure others will join. There are millions of Muslims on this earth, not everyone can be ignorant.

** How about you push your article on this topic to as many of the media outlets as possible? You don’t have the time to do that. But someone else who’s with on a single approach can take on a portion of the work. It’s like a fist that, when closed, can strike like a hammer or, when open, can only slap.**

Well! My work will be Inshallah soon be out there. And lets see what people do but I am not relying on anyone.

**I hope you go for a KO. Lot of others have started their fights… look around… can you see them? **

Many have left, but its okay. They will come back Inshallah J

**  I wish you the best of the luck. I have been down that path and know what you are undertaking. I do really wish you        do what many have failed to accomplish and or perform.**

thanks again for the wishes and prayers. That’s all I needed

**   That is so true. But many suffice to believe that believing in their hearts that somethings are just plain wrong, saying                with their tounges (to "each other") that some things are just plain wrong.... is enough. I, somehow, don't believe in
that. I just fail to see what becomes of that behavior.**

hmm Several times we come across the wrong people who leave a negative image.

** Like you said… it only matters what you, individually, can do. We don’t have the right to tell others what to do. We can only suggest. So, I understood what you said earlier. But is this a wish you are expressing… 'cause that’s where it stays and ends: a wish. **

My wishes are usually prayers, and prayers do get answered
** Bail kay aagey been bajaoo gi? You are asking those who do not believe in what you are saying to do something they are not interested in? There are ways to tackle problems… through the legal system, through the civil system, peer pressures, protests, media, boycotts, etc. etc. etc. When enough people of a similar thinking come together then things have a way of changing.**

NO NO NO not at all, I don’t want people to believe what I believe in . I want them to see the truth which is in Quran shareef and rip off the curtain which is in front of their eyes.

you mentioned power to change the world, ‘we’ muslims have the power to change the world. One person alone cannot change the entire world but yeah few people. Allah didnt give one person burden of the entire world. And that’s what I had been trying to say and prove.

We think alike then don’t we. *smiles

** But as a good believer who understands he has no power to change anything… doesn’t Islam give tell him to, alteast, detest the injustice in his mind, heart and by his tongue? That I do. You are saying I should do more? How?**

Indeed Islam tells you to do that. Well why don’t you start publishing articles, or do similar things. I am sure it will get you somewhere. And most of all Allah is watching and he will give rewards to you for your noble deeds.

**          {i]But you cant be sitting in new jersey ( i think thats where you are) and worry about chinese Muslims. Allah sees
                     everything *
                     Hay.... people!!!!! Hear this? Now, there's another Muslim saying the same thing. :clap: :clap: :clap:**

Hmm I don’t think I said something wrong. But I didn’t appreciated this response.

** Not “several”… “majority” as I have seen in my real and virtual life. Logical… hmmm… matter of perspective. My is totally confined to Muslim sphere. **

didn’t seem like but if it is then Mashallah on that.

** Doesn’t the Quran say that we are sent as His vice-generants (sp) and that we are to stop the bad and promote the good? … I have words here that I will not say… insaani sharafat kay bahar hoN gay. **

I believe every holy book says that. If I am not mistaking not just islam alone.

**             But I know what you are saying Nia. You understand me. I don't want to work as a lone voice... I don't exist as a  lone voice. Where I live, I was the only Muslim caller for over 2 months on the local radio shows. It wasn't in the 3rd          month? when I began to hear other Muslims calling in. I guess my efforts need to be on those around me and in the      mosque... I'll be damn if I can get more then a handful of people to understand that if we band together and raise a     concerted voice in the local media, we might be heard.... Believed? That's not what I am shooting for. Be heard...                   first... that's step one.
I just wanna see others now.... even the local community has gone dead..... while we stand in the quicksand. Our      only hope is the generation that is born here, will rise up here, and then fight for Islam as they should. Long as there    are people alive in the West that were born in the old world and migrated to the West, we will not see much change.    They just have too different ideas on how to go about certain things. But I understand... they are taught by the     social, political and economical circumstances they grew up in.**

Well I know we are on the same page here. Atleast you and I can understand each other. I seriously think you gave up too soon. Well if we are not going to do anything, I don’t know what are we teaching our kids. We suppose to create a path for them. Anyway I am only 20 (finally) got a long way to go. Before I die I will make sure I do something where I have made a difference for good in other lives. I don’t want to fight where I would create several who have guns and bombs with them. Instead a peaceful fight, I want people to listen, and you know me I make sure that people listen * laughing*

** I am waiting for our children to grow up and take up the flag of Islam from us. **

Inshallah I will among the very first ones

[This message has been edited by nia_khan (edited May 25, 2002).]

nia_khan:

… I am quiet surprise that you didn’t find any in your community shocked. As far as it goes for me, I am a person who grabs the drum and announce it to the entire muslim community.
The role models I want my kids to be exposed are the ones who work for the community…not just the mosque. I want to exist as a muslim outside the mosque. What do you announce to the entire muslim community as you stated? You said earlier that good deeds should be kept hidden?

**hmm JazakAllah. I am very please to see that you are Alhumdulilah care about Muslim community from bottom of your heart. But my brother, do you realize you are asking others to help you out. **
I am not asking others to help me out. This person in question is was a section head of a technical department. I had hoped that would understand my reasoning that to solve any problems, as we do in our work lives, we need to identify the problem, solutions and ways to implement the solutions for the best outcome. Anyone of us, and every one of us, does that. But I found that all problem management skill did not seem to be applicable to “our” problems. I think clearly think that the volunteer efforts from the masajids should be managed for the best results. We have had tornados in our immediate communities… never has a team of Muslims come around with a helping hand. I can clearly count on our area churches to provide us with food, shelter and child care which has been the case.

**Here you just blamed the entire Muslim community! You just called the everyone who is muslim lacking organizational thinking. You might wanna rethink that. **
Should I? Why have we been a “pariah”? Where have we been for the last 40 years? Why haven’t we tried to become part of this nation? 9/11 forced many of the communities to open then masajids to the world. Why not before? I had not heard of regular open-houses up to now. Why were we forced to do that? To save our posteriors? Where were we during the '93 bombing by Muslim terrorists? Why were we silent when Timothy McVegh got caught? Where are we on the social issues facing our children? Where are we on getting this nation to recognize our religious days of significance? We are still existing in silos of communal thinking, behaviors, and attitudes. We live here in this nation to siphon off the good life but seldom give back the same with the colors of Islam wrapped around it. We have missed a great many ques.

I live in a community… I don’t live in other states. I think due to what I experience in my community. I remember going to jummah one day and heard the imaam say, after the prayers, that whoever had given donations to the masjid to pick them up and them back or the donations will be trashed. I thought how stupid could this guy be? There’s a women’s shelter not two blocks from here, there’s a homeless shelter in the same town, there’s a Red Cross shelter around the corner. How much would it take to forward those donations from the “local Muslims”? We have woefull record in public relations. It has cost us and will continue to cost us. It’s all due to what we do, how we do, and when we do. Lot of us, small groups or individuals, do some great things but “lonely” voices get lost in the shuffle. I have seen that to believe that.

I am not sure if I wanna compare Muslims with Jews and Indians…hmm..

I see them as someone to learn from. Tiny example: You will not find Indians shop from Pakistani stores… but Pakistanis don’t have a problem shopping from there stores. When my wife harps on them… I ask her why doesn’t she do one small step that she has direct control over? Not shop from Indian stores… her reply is not different then what many others say. So, I tell her to stop her whinning, otherwise.

**Let others suffer until someone figures out that someone has done some good…whenever that truth surfaces. But it would be awfully powerful and effective if the same thing is coordinated, performe and made an example of. **

I am sorry pardon my ignorance, I have no clue what on earth you are saying here?

What I meant to say is that when a good deed is done and not pulicized, then that good deed will have to be “discovered” or “experienced” by others and, with time, recognized for others to follow. But the same can be done… when the activity is managed to save time… meaning pubilcized, get people to see it, get more backing in effort or financially, and expand upon the initial effort.

**I subscribe to the hadith that if charitable work is exposed and shown as “an example” to others for the purpose of deriving similar actions then it is allowed. And why shouldn’t it be, to begin with? **

Can you please give me an exact reference to that Hadith.

No, I can not. I heard it from my grandmother. I guess someone else who’s in to details on ahaadith can prove it right or wrong.

**well my brother! I think Muslims are doing something. There are few who are raising their voice. **
I rest my case.

**Like I said I don’t care what others have to say, I will do whatever I can. Well! Allah is with me so I can care less about others. Well someone has to start and I am sure others will join. There are millions of Muslims on this earth, not everyone can be ignorant. **
7,000,000 Muslims in this country… not a peep from the majority… after 9/11. We have decided to remain silent just like when WTC was bombed during '93 by the Muslim terrorists, just like when Oaklahoma bombing was finally pinned on Timothy McVegh. We have been quite on many other issues over the years and over the dacades. To say that "I don’t care what others have to say, I will do whatever I can. " is taking an idealistic position. You will do what you wish to do, I am sure of. You will never by accounted for… just like many who came before you. Not unless we learn to unite and stand together, in unity, will change come. There are many, many, single voices like yours from sea to the shining sea. No one can hear them… outside our own community who keep their ears glued to the walls of this nation to pick up any rays of hope.

**Well! My work will be Inshallah soon be out there. And lets see what people do but I am not relying on anyone. **

It will be interesting to see how far your work reaches and how many minds it changes. You are hoping to do achieve a lot by yourself? That’s a very tall claim. Like I said, many far more successful Muslims, past and present, have cut a path but have gotten lost. Those people never got the backing of their own people…

**Many have left, but its okay. They will come back Inshallah J **

O.K.

thanks again for the wishes and prayers. That’s all I needed
So, you have them.

**My wishes are usually prayers, and prayers do get answered **
Most prayers do not get answered.

Bail kay aagey been bajaoo gi? You are asking those who do not believe in what you are saying to do something they are not interested in? There are ways to tackle problems… through the legal system, through the civil system, peer pressures, protests, media, boycotts, etc. etc. etc. When enough people of a similar thinking come together then things have a way of changing.

*NO NO NO not at all, I don’t want people to believe what I believe in . I want them to see the truth which is in Quran shareef and rip off the curtain which is in front of their eyes. *

My point is comminity’s bias against the Musilms and in that regards, the Muslims have also a responsibility in stopping “the bad and promoting the good” as the Quran says. So, again, when people see the truth that’s self-evident in the Quran will “come together then things have a way of changing.” When people come together, they do where there are common grounds of understanding. Whatever that basis is.

Indeed Islam tells you to do that. Well why don’t you start publishing articles, or do similar things. I am sure it will get you somewhere.
I am not into writing articles but I regularly called the local talk shows every single day for months.

And most of all Allah is watching and he will give rewards to you for your noble deeds.
That’s not my concern. I am not what I get in the hereafter. I am more focused on here and now.

***But you cant be sitting in new jersey ( i think thats where you are) and worry about chinese Muslims. Allah sees everything *

Hay… people!!! Hear this? Now, there’s another Muslim saying the same thing. :clap: :clap: :clap:**

Hmm I don’t think I said something wrong. But I didn’t appreciated this response.
I meant that you said the same thing I have been saying… let’s focus on our immediate communities then worry about what’s happening thousands of miles away where we have absolutely no control or say so.

** Not “several”… “majority” as I have seen in my real and virtual life. Logical… hmmm… matter of perspective. My is totally confined to Muslim sphere. **

didn’t seem like but if it is then Mashallah on that.
To me… humanity eminates from Islam… atleast for us as Muslims. We are taught what Islam teaches us about how to treat others, regardless of their religious affiliations, based on humanity. I base my humanity on the percepts of Islam.

I guess we understand each other. You are one to go forth on your own… to make a difference in the world. Whereas, I am one to work in conjunction with others to do the same but with a heavier impact. Atleast, we have the same objectives in mind.

I believe every holy book says that. If I am not mistaking not just islam alone.
I am not talking about every other holy book. I am talking about Quran and our belief in that.

** I am waiting for our children to grow up and take up the flag of Islam from us. **

*Inshallah I will among the very first ones

I’d like to see how you try to carry that flag and be able to give you support where I can… with my hands and not just with my tongue or heart.