Your thoughts on Day/night Tests

I am not a fan of it.

The main attraction I suppose is that:

A- You could actually finish your day job by 5 or 6 pm and still be able to catch a couple of hours action live at the ground and B- have a 4 day test with 7.5 hour’s play each day

However it will take a while still before it is accepted by all

Not many countries, England and Australia included, have flood light facilities at all of their major venues (unless you play 2 or more tests of a series at one venue which would be quite boring imo)

The pink ball looks silly though

If they want D/N tests then they need to introduce coloured clothing in tests as well and play with a white ball but… wouldn’t that be tampering too much with the test format/tradition?

There are other issues too

• What about the dew factor? (more so in Asian conditions) in the evening? This format can probably work in Aus, Eng, NZ and South Africa
  • Being deprived of testing morning conditions when batting separates the men from the boys
  • What happens to the spinners? Under lights the ball bounces more, so leg spinners should be ok

Re: Your thoughts on Day/night Tests

Why does the ball bounce more under lights?
The dew would neutralize spinners. As much as Western influenced changes in field hockey rules neutralized the South Asian giants.

It is to do with the drop in temperature at night >>> increase in moisture content. We all know that the ball swings more in moist conditions (mornings, overcast conditions)

White ball is known to swing more than the red ball (don’t know the exact reason); not by a huge margin but it does

Dew is not good for both spinners and fast bowlers. Wet conditions almost nullify spin and reverse swing. A wet ball is harder to grip and you may lose both accuracy and line as a spinner (although it will skid more after pitching).

The drier the pitch the slower the ball comes off the pitch and the more likely it is to grip and turn. Dry cracks crumble (accentuated by footmarks, ball landing) >> sharp turn (day 4 or 5 pitch)

I’ve a problem with pink ball. It should be white. (racist eh..).

Now I guess its pink because its glittery that way and doesnt get exactly match with white kit. Basically the white kit will only interfere when the ball hits the white pad where there is a shout of LBW. Now if they dont want any conflict there, they can absolutely make sure that the pads are colored. Exactly like wicket keeper’s gloves.

So for sure there needs some changes. And I think eventually it’ll be all colored kit and a white ball exactly like limited over.

“White” ball hitting “colored” pads.

Something don’t seem right.

New product launched. Need some time to be accepted. At the end , if they want crowd in the grounds , it is needed . But sure the real test crikcet will change. Willl be more batter friendly.

The sun has set on this idea.

‘din-raat’ ke khel aur khel ke shaaiqeen kaa saath kuchh yuN nahiiN?
kabhii raat-din ham door the, ab raat-din kaa hii saath hai
vo bhii ittefaaq ki baat thii, yeh bhii ittefaaq kii baat hai**

Jindagi ittefaq hai

kal bhii ittefaaq thzz, aaj bhii ittefaaq hai! :slight_smile:

Woh bhi sahi