Your Recommendations Needed

Salams guppies,

What textual and/or audiovisual material would you recommend be included in the curriculum of a class about Islam in the Modern World that caters to an American college audience?

Books, Articles, Magazines, Audio Cassettes, Movies, Websites, Lectures…anything and everything…

I’m helping design the syllabus and required materials for this class in my college. We’re still looking for more material, and the Professor is completely open to ANYTHING that’s cool and useful and interesting.

Anything that you think will provide constructive knowledge to these college kids who come to the class with an open mind to learn about Islam…I think this is a brilliant opportunity to educate these American kids and it will go a LONG way if the right material is presented to them…this is prolly the only time they are going to actually learn about Islam and Muslims in an academic environment in their lives…

We included the recent PBS documentary on the Prophet Mohammad (SAW) and some desi art movies (but I don’t think they’re that well suited for the class)…we’re looking for more material…

Also which Ayat’s/ Passages from the Holy Quran will you recommend be discussed in the class?

Please share your ideas…Thanks :slight_smile:

~irem

p.s. Mods, I am posting this in different forums since the feedback on each forum would be from a different angle depending on the forum. Hope that’s okay. Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

hmmmm

as far as i can think right now for audio material u may wanna see

or english material on the site: http://www.tanzeem.org/broadcast/audio/index.htm

A salafi site though but nice collection at www.islaam.com

consult to english translation of seerah book “Ar-Raheeq Al Makhtoom”

there are 40 places in quran as far as i remember where the whole mankind is address as “Yaa ayiyo hannaas” .. if u can collect all those places and have an article on each one with the help of a learned scholar is recommended who can give u as amny as cross references from quran itself as well as from ahaadeeth!

fact that Issaa [Jesus] (AH) is mentioned atleast 27 times in quran while Musaa [Moses] is mentioned through out the quran as well with the name.

and gazzillion of things that u can include…

a very best thing is a fairly new project by ICNA (Islamic Circle of North
America) New Jersey Chapter that has an average of ONE SHAHADAH A
WEEK!, 156000 hits on average per month on it’s website
http://www.whyislam.org/ which has an history of reverts from
overseas such as Britain and not to mention a conversion of a US
soldier from Japan US Military base who just happened to visit the
site and called the toll free number 877-WHY-ISLAM and after a
conversation of 40-45 minutes took shahadah over the phone. Locally,
hundreds of non-muslim americans are blessed by Islam.

The project presently consists of the following:

a) A toll free line 1-877-WHY-ISLAM. Our Call Center has 8
simultaneous volunteer associates standing by to answer your
questions on Islam.

b) This website (www.whyislam.org), that will feature articles, books
etc on Islam and comparative religion. This website can be used to
order free literature on Islam, or view the literature online.

c) A WhyIslam network of volunteers that has been used to establish
direct contact with prison inmates through correspondence

d) WhyIslam billboards on public highways in New Jersey

e) WhyIslam advertisements in community newspapers

f) WhyIslam community booths at malls in New Jersey

This project has been initiated by volunteers from the New Jersey
unit of ICNA (Islamic Circle of North America).

visit http://www.whyislam.org/ for further information!

Jazakallah Kulla Khayr G bhai :k:

some of the ideas are excellent…

some others are meant for ppl who r religiously active in their own religions…there wont be too many of these in the class prolly…

and some ideas are meant to obviously give the discreet invitation to convert to Islam (which is looked upon very badly in the religious studies dept in the uni)…

but some of the ideas u mentioned r just great :k: i’ll go thru each of them in detail inshallah :k:

jazak Allah khairun and if u think of more keep em coming :slight_smile:

You might want to contact the International Board for Educational Research and Resources (IBERR). They’ve developed and are continuing to develop textbooks and curriculums for teaching Islam in Muslim and non-Muslim schools. Some of their work and handbooks can be downloaded from the site or email them for details. Their web site address is:

Iqbal

JazakAllah brother Iqbal, I will do that inshallah :)

*Originally posted by irem: *
JazakAllah brother Iqbal, I will do that inshallah :)

a

http://www.khilafah.com/home/category.php?DocumentID=5919&TagID=1

jazakallah brother/sister :)

i'm going to browse that site thoroughly inshallah and pick out the useful materials :)

No problem