Your opinions and expertise needed - Nikkah sari

My MIL has just purchased a sari for me to wear during the Nikkah ceremony (I will change into a lengha for the evening reception).

She’s the sweetest woman ever and took many cell phone snap shots to ensure that I was happy with the purchase (we don’t live in the same part of the country.) The boutique owner says its a Manish Malhotra, but I have a feeling its a knock-off, albeit a very nice one.

My fiance has seen the sari and says the pics don’t do it justice. His father, his cousin and brothers have seen it too and love it as well. I’m seriously dying to see it, touch it and feel it but I can’t. Thus, I’ve come to you all for support, opinons and advice. We’ve all been there; teased with pictures of an outfit that we’ll soon wear but don’t have yet. Its good to have others to share my anticipation with.

Re: Your opinions and expertise needed - Nikkah sari

i think its cute, and i feel like it'll be much better in real life!

Inshallah, I hope so!

I love pink.

I know you're nervous and its totally normal. The pictures look awesome and I bet it looks even better in person. Have you figured out jewelry and makeup yet?

Congratulations by the way!

It's cute..! U can dress it up or dress it down and wear it the way u like! (im partial to pink)

^ Me too. Lurv pink.

Somehowcolide, That is gorgeous, you lucky gal! where did ur MIL buy it from?
Congrats in advanced, please share pics when u wear it, its a lovely saree and color!

i like it!!

looks decent enough.
(im mostly anti-pink)

its not an MM original, unless theres a label with his logo on there which isnt showing in the pics.

I think once you wear it, it'll look absolutely gorgeous.

LOVE the kaam on it. Very delicate.

oh my! it’s gorgeous - but the blouse looks sooooo tiniee tiny! You will be wearing it so high! :eek:

The shade of pink looks very pretty!! I bet you'll look like a doll in that saree. It's beautiful. And just as importantly, think of it this way...... you'll like it more since you future MIL was so considerate about trying to make sure you would like it, that she took so many photos and went through so much trouble for you. That'll make the outfit extra-special, no matter how it looks.

Congratulations on your upcoming nikah!

I wore a similiar colored shalwar suit on my nikah. And this sari is just plain gorgeous. I agree with your fiance and think that it would be much much better in person. Your MIL has great taste.

Ur sari beautiful and ur so lucky that ur MIL has such good taste. The work on it is beautidul and I am sure you will look gorgeous in it.

P.S. I am very jealous, so if u change ur mind just send it to me :p

Goodness, so many nice comments. I am just grinning from ear to ear!

Thank you, thank you! I am still debating over jewelry but I have some ideas for hair styles and makeup. I’ll share some pictures with you, I’d love to hear what you think!

Oh, goodie, I’m glad you liked it too. What do you think about makeup? I know you’ve got a knack for that so how would you go about dressing it up? I was worried about getting a lace sari, really worried. But MIL insisted on it, and I think she did a good job!

Sara, you love pink too? You’re in good company then! My MIL got it from a private seller in Atlanta. I could PM you her info. She got quite a few gorgeous, gorgeous saris from her. I can also give you the price if you’re truly interested! I will absolutely share pictures once I get in on. Inshallah, I will share pictures of the entire ceremony! Thank you for your wishes :slight_smile:

Ha, so you’re the blacksheep (amongst other pink sheeps, I suppose!) Honestly, when I first saw it I wasn’t jumping up and down or anything. But the more I see it, and the more I hear about it, I get very excited! I also had MIL search all over the sari for a MM label. None to be found. The boutique owner said that she has a contact at the MM factory who makes her an exact copy of the saris. I am a handbag fanatic and anytime I hear this lame excuse about designer handbags, I just about want to barf. I had to train my mind to accept that its okay to make knock-offs of desi clothes. But I still don’t believe this crap about her having an “in.”

I do hope that it translates well on the body. I am quite small and slim so I must wear very delicate saris. I was impressed with the kaam as well. Nice detail. And I like that the lace makes it look sort of vintage but the style is still very young.

You know, looking at it again, it is quite small!! I didn’t even think about it on first glance. MIL is sending the blouse to me as a teaser (she’s naughty). But, as I mentioned I am fairly small and my torso is, unfortunately, quite short. I think I’ll be able to pull it off and still look dignified! I’ll keep you updated, I should receive it on Weds. I am going to go shopping with it and try to find my FI a matching tie!

First, let me thank you for the kind compliments. If someone were to tell me I looked like a doll when I wear it, I’ll be quite flattered. But you’re absolutely right, I was touched to hear that MIL wanted me to be happy with the sari. My FI’s brother is engaged too, and his fiance lives in the same city as my MIL so she accompanied her when they bought the sari. She said my MIL was so nervous when she sent me the pictures, she was practically shaking. I think she loved the sari so much, but was afraid that I wouldn’t like it. My MIL is a strong, confident woman. I’m usually a pushover! I told her to never ever feel worried about getting me a single thing. I’ll always love what she gives me, because its from her.

Hahah! We should start a sari sharing service. You know, a couple of us gals can post up pics of our saris and send them around to one another when the occassion calls for it. Imagine how large our closets would be then! And thank you for your kind compliments, really makes me feel more confident!

Thank you so much for the wishes. I can’t believe that it is around the corner. I really wanted to wear white to the Nikkah as I was changing into something more colorful after so I was hesitant to wear a boldly colored sari. But I’ve changed my mind after seeing this! Comments like yours, and the other ladies have absolutely helped assuage my fears. Also, I would love to see your Nikkah pictures if you wouldn’t mind sharing!

So PSquared kindly inquired about what sort of hair and makeup I was considering. I really want to play off the lace on the sari, as I mentioned before, I love the vintage, old-world feel to it. My hair is fairly long and I wear it all kinds of ways; straight, curly, half up, pony-tails. But I never really have it short. I thought, since I will have the pallu on my head, I could do tap into some of that old-Hollywood glam and do a curly bob. Eva Longoria fakes a curly bob all the time (there’s a tutorial on youtube that I plan on showing my stylist.) I’ve also attached a pic of other retro-ish looks.

What do you all think? Am I on the right track or do I need to go back to the drawing board on this one?

For makeup, I was thinking of keeping with the glam look and doing a shimmery palette (the outfit is quite shimmery as well) and going heavy on the liner and mascara with a neutral lip.

I’m stuck when it comes to jewelry though…

that's beautiful! i can't wait to see your pics in it :)

its a stunning sari.I would love to wear it congrats!!!!!

Reese Witherspoon hair in that pic and this saree would look quite nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd def do dusty pink/pearl eyes! Nothing dark.. just really fresh and pretty pink makeup. Wish u were in Dubai, i'm tempted to apply u're makeup. I think loose curls would look great.. perhaps a couple of pretty pink flowers in u're hair? The ultimate soft/romantic look!

(DHL the sari to me)

mmmmm nice MIL so d sarii is ;)

nice color ( m anti pink ) bt now thinking to have a pink dress..... cmon m not cheatin yar ;)