Shikra, what you think about speaking Urdu in front of Punjabi speaking people? Is that done to impress him? make him feel bad? put him down? or say I don’t care whether you understand or not I am goign to speak my mother language?
CM yaar, People like to speak urdu because it's a beautiful language, just like French, Latin, Spanish, Greek, Persian etc.
I speak in Punjabi coz it's my natural language alongside English. Both are great languages in their own right.
*Originally posted by ChannMahi: *
Shikra, what you think about speaking Urdu in front of Punjabi speaking people? Is that done to impress him? make him feel bad? put him down? or say I don't care whether you understand or not I am goign to speak my mother language?
since punjabi people care abotu urdu, they understand it and they love to learn it........it's mostly urdu speakers who don't get punjabi. but i am not saying that we speak punjabi only to make fun of urdu speaking people, NO! but if i am with two of my other friends, one speaks punjabi and one speaks urdu, i would speak punjabi to the one who's punjabi and urdu to the one who speaks urdu. this happens everyday becasue i have two really good friends, one speaks urdu and one speaks punjabi, and we all care about each other. you got me wrong channmahi.
Xtreme, yaar few posts earlier you were asking:
"I saw this in a few households where parents mother tongue is Punjabi but they speak to their kids in urdu. How do they do it, wouldn't it seem kinda fake?"
and then Shikra said somewhere:
"some people speak punjabi at home but they speak urdu to other punjabis just to show off."
Here is another testimony:
"That's what my parents did to us and when I ask my mom why, she says.. urdu's the national language, no? "
Another one:
"but it's annoying to me cuz i want to be able to speak urdu perfectly as it is our national language....."
Besides these testimonies(except Saadia who said she likes it ebcause it just a fine alnguage), there are numerous others on internet which tell that most Punjabis speak Urdu because: it is preached as a Muslim language, our national language and our parents want us to fit in with other crowd.
so how many Pakistanis speak other fine languages like Spanish, Greek, Latin, French just because they are fine languages???
Xtreme, yaar few posts earlier you were asking:
and then Shikra said somewhere:
"some people speak punjabi at home but they speak urdu to other punjabis just to show off."
"but it's annoying to me cuz i want to be able to speak urdu perfectly as it is our national language....."
Besides these testimonies(except Saadia who said she likes it ebcause it just a fine alnguage), there are numerous others on internet which tell that most Punjabis speak Urdu because: it is preached as a Muslim language, our national language and our parents want us to fit in with other crowd.
so how many Pakistanis speak other fine languages like Spanish, Greek, Latin, French just because they are fine languages???
i would only defend what i have said. yes, punjabi people, especially women do speak urdu to other punjabi women just to prove that they are highter educated or something, that they are modern or i don't know what their intention is. i love punjabi cuz it's my language, that's what i speak at home. i don't speak urdu to people who are punjabi, i talk to them in punjabi. i speak punjabi to them cuz i love my language.
about the second quote: yes, i would like to be able to speak urdu with a perfect accent because it's our national language. that's the language that A LOT of people use for businesses and stuff, if not english. i don't speak urdu to show off, i only speak it to people who are not punjabis so they could understand me, which proves wrong what you said earlier: "do you speak punjabi to urdu people to make fun of them" or something similar. the answer is NO, like i said before. i speak and i want to be able to speak perfectly only because one must know their official national language. let say i move to pakistan from USA and i only know punjabi but not urdu, how would you want me to live there among people who speak urdu, who write urdu, who do their business in urdu?
this is NOT a muslim language, it's only pakistani language. in my opinion, every pakistani should know how to speak urdu, even if they are punjabi, sindhi, baloch, pathan, pashto, or whoever, afterall, urdu is the language which links us all together as a pakistani. which language does EVERYONE use here on this website? urdu, right? why? so that everyone can under stand and we can link to each other.
Shikra bhai I have no problem with speaking Urdu or whatever language if that is the only language the other person knows. I speak tutti phutti urdu and hindi with some Pakistani and Indian friends myself when it is sure that they don't know Punjabi or English.
You said in your last post that "this is NOT a muslim language, it's only pakistani language. "
Well, can you please tell us when Pakistan came into existence and how many Pakistanis spoke Urdu that day?
Shikra bhai I have no problem with speaking Urdu or whatever language if that is the only language the other person knows. I speak tutti phutti urdu and hindi with some Pakistani and Indian friends myself when it is sure that they don't know Punjabi or English.
You said in your last post that "this is NOT a muslim language, it's only pakistani language. "
Well, can you please tell us when Pakistan came into existence and how many Pakistanis spoke Urdu that day?
dear brother, i used the word pakistani because this is what we say in general. even though hindi and urdu are the same languages, we use the word "hindi" for people who speak this language in india and we use "urdu" for people of pakistan. maybe instead of "we", i should use "I" because some people may not agree with me. if it were a muslim language, then like arabic, it would be spoken in several countries. that's why i used the word urdu for pakistani people and hindi goes for indian people. waisay urdu is a really old language, from empror's age. i don't know much histroy about it but i might be able to tell you how it came into existance.
Hi Outlaw(moderator bhiraji),pata na hai ke tussan wi uthoon de hiwe.
Assan wi saraiki(multani) wich bulende haan apne ghar wech.
*Originally posted by Shikra: *
dear brother, i used the word pakistani because this is what we say in general. even though hindi and urdu are the same languages, we use the word "hindi" for people who speak this language in india and we use "urdu" for people of pakistan. maybe instead of "we", i should use "I" because some people may not agree with me. if it were a muslim language, then like arabic, it would be spoken in several countries. that's why i used the word urdu for pakistani people and hindi goes for indian people. waisay urdu is a really old language, from empror's age. i don't know much histroy about it but i might be able to tell you how it came into existance.
actually not that old. beginnings were around the 12/13th centuries with the afghan invasions. only attained prominence around 16th or17th centuries.