*Originally posted by ehsan: *
1971, Zaheer Abbas scoring 274 at edgbaston. Since than thousands of other memories but that one is very special.
wow ehsan bhai, app to baray purrannay hann....but seriously, i wish i cud have seen that zaheer's innings...i just saw some highlights and i heard it it was really a special one....
my earliest memory is of Lords 1982 test match between pakistan and england in which mohsin khan scored 200 and muddasar nazar took 6 for 32....and pakistan won that match by 10 wickets...it was imran's first series as skipper.........i still remember that every one just went crazy and i also got myself a DEMMAKKK named cricket...
i also got myself a DEMMAKKK named cricket...
Aur yeah Saali deemak hai ke kabhi jaati hi nahi.. People might get disappointed by some bad perofrmance by their respective team..Leking mahine 2 mahine baad yeh deemak asar dikhane lagta hai..
wow ehsan bhai, app to baray purrannay hann....but seriously, i wish i cud have seen that zaheer's innings...i just saw some highlights and i heard it it was really a special one....
my earliest memory is of Lords 1982 test match between pakistan and england in which mohsin khan scored 200 and muddasar nazar took 6 for 32....and pakistan won that match by 10 wickets...it was imran's first series as skipper.........i still remember that every one just went crazy and i also got myself a DEMMAKKK named cricket...
I was there at Lords on the final day when Pakistan won the match.
aap jawani me sirf circket dekhte the kya..whenever we talk about some Old Pakistani game in England you are always found in the stadium.
I was always there when Pakistan was playing. I used to arrange leave from my work to be at the ground. At the Lords match it was quite obvious that barring the weather Pakistan was going to win the match and it was going to be the first time since the 50's that Pakistan would have won a match in England. I wasn't going to miss such a historic occassion. I am glad I didnt. The funny thing is that within 10 minutes of Pakistan winning the match heavy rains came down. So the victory had come just in time and boy was it a sweet victory. :)
yep u r so srite,,,weather was too bad that day plus if i rememebr it correctly, there was not many overs left either and pak was supposed to socre almost 75 runs to win the test match..imran decided to send javed minadad and mohsin khan to open the innings ...since the reglualr test opener muddasar nazar was known for his slow battig.....and as usual minadad did the job right in time.........
13 Overs to score 75 runs and yes you are right, Miandad opened the innings instead of Mudassar. We were all praying that Imran sends Miandad instead of Mudassar. At one stage the light got so bad that the umpires offered it to Miandad and he just laughed it off. He wasn't going to go off even if thunder was coming. Botham slowed down the over rates in the hope that rain might start before Paksitan won, but the rain just held off enough for Pakistan to win.
wow..so only 13 overs were left...i did not remember that...i thought there were more than 13 overs......but now i can see why I still remember that test match....plus it was a historic win....pakistan beat england at lords..........well old golden days...
Ehsan Bhai, I am really honored to be in your company. You are the only cricket fan (bar my dad) I know of who has followed cricket in the true sense in that era. It gives me goose bumps just to think of seeing those legends you mentioned play a cricket innings.
The earliest memory...well I recall my mum and dad watching cricket in England. I had no clue what cricket was abou tthen. In Pakistan I learnt there is someone called Imran Khan who gets brought up in tv conversations one way or the other(shows etc). The first time I tried understanding cricket and ever really followed cricket was in 1990. There was some sharjah cup which we won. That is the first game I watched.
fair balance: such a cute thread… i dont recall any great win ever since i got crazy about cricket ehsan bhia i guess i am the culprit… i shoudl stop watching it
other than that i remem watching 1992 ka worldcup… where we thought we wont be able to make it to final but then some how we won one game and then we were into semi final… and how i was sitting in janeemaaz with my dadi jaan and praying for victory instead of watching the game… cuz at that time i didnt know much about cricket… all i knew was that Pakistan is in final and we gottta win the game… i think i was 7 back then… so it was good memory…
*Originally posted by DESI CHURAIL: *
WorldCup 1996... I think Pakistan Vs. India.. and Waqar Younis Givin out runs.. and rememberin.. my family cursin out pakistani team...
Aap ki shuruat bhi meri tarah takleef se hi huiyee hai.