Your best Desi Dish

so all of u cooking experts,

im sure u guys all have wonderful recipes that leave people’s mouthwatering. Your Desi Dish that leaves everyone asking for the special secret used in making that Dish.
Whats yours? Did u come up with it yourself or or mom? or maybe even GS?

Re: Your best Desi Dish

If I want to make something which my wife does not cook I look at cookingwithbj.com for Pakistani recipes and google for other ethnic dishes. Then I follow the recipe , fortify it a little bit and it turns out exotic. My wife cooks all the traditional dishes ,like biryani , shami kababs , nihari , daal chawal , sabzi etc etc.
Mine and my wife's experience with shan masala packets have been good too . She and I also add some stuff to them. Like they are light on or sometimes missing some spice we will add it to shan masala.

Biryani and Tandoori Chicken.

Weird thing is that I have no particular set recipe for either of them. Everytime I make them, I add whatever's available and they turn out yummy. Wish I could do that with everything :D

my ras malai--EVERYONE's addicted to it:) Khala's recipe:)

^ share the recipe please :@:

^plz share :)

Improvisation! thats how I do things too! the other day i substituted tandoori paste for spaghetti sauce! :faizy:

shay, u know ive never made biryani !
is it hard? i know it has a lot to it. My mom is always bugging me to make it. How do u make it?

^ biryani is easy once ug et hte hang of it!

basically fry the chicken and add boiled white rice an leave it on damm for a few minutes to let the flavors sink in. its up to you to use watever spices you want, and the consistency of the chicken (some make it dry and some have it a little "wet")..

I love everything bus mazaydar ho aur zahar na ho.

Baigun.......Bagharay baigun (hyderabadon wali).......Baigun ka bharta......Baigun ka salun.

Meethay main.

Rasmalai
Cake, Black forest cake.

List bohat lumbi hai meethay ki aap loag thuk jao gay parh parh kay so itna kafi hai.

Tandoori chicken - recipe from a neigbour who was a chef
Nihari - recipe from a Nirhai restuarant in Pakistan
Biryani - My mums (actually Nani's) recipe

Tigerlilly, could you plz share ur secret recipes :) Thanks.

Samosay