Your all time favorite pieces of English Literature

Kindly share the names of most exciting, captivating pieces of english literature (be it novels, poetry, quotes, short stories etc etc). The ones you feel ike reading again and again :). So that i or most guppies in general can benefit in case they havent read those.

Everything by Jane Austen, Barbara Erskin, Sharon Kay Penman (both are historical fiction novalists), Roald Dahl, J.K. Rowling's .... although The Goblet of Fire has got to be the best one so far .... and I just finished reading The Prince by Machiavelli which was very good. :)

I can read Witches, Matilda and all of Roald Dahl books .... and J.K. Rowling books over and over ... and I have re-read a lot of Erskin and Penmans' books.

hmmmmmmmmm…let’s seeeeeee…

none i can think of right now that was just brilliant…but while growing up i went thru phases progressivley and these r the books i used to die for:

fairy tales and kid’s stories
archie comics
tintin comics
nancy drew
sweet valley twin
sweet valley high
sweet sixteen
readers digest, times, newsweek, discover
danielle steele
barbara cartland

the archie comics phase lasted for a long long time till end of high school…
i gave up reading sweet sixteen and danielle steele barabara cartland type books as i thought they were corrupting my mind and i felt guilty lol

i’ve also read some biographies of famous desi personalities during college days but none of them r anything to write home abt…

i read a lottttttttttttttt of super literary n philosophic [read boring n most effective sleep inducer in the world] stuff for classes in college like aristotle plato freud n all those crazy ppl and gosh my brain still hurts lol…

i do have certain biographies in my mind that i plan to read like edhi and nelson mandela…is there one of mother teresa as well?

i used to absolutely love reading, couldnt stop if i started a book…

but now i am not into reading much…i prefer urdu stuff since i came to America…or english stuff with a solid desi touch…like by a desi or muslim author or revolving around such topics…

or i just pick up something religious like Quran pak or stories about the Huzoor :saw:'s life…

Are we talking about pieces written by English authors or just literature that happens to be in the English language? I don't think I've read anything by an english writer since i was a kid.

Roger Hargreaves's tales of 'Mr. Men'

Sorry I'm more into Persian literature, sufi literature and Islamic literature. And of course Persian poetry

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Are we talking about pieces written by English authors or just literature that happens to be in the English language? I don't think I've read anything by an english writer since i was a kid.

Xtreme bhai, i m not limiting it not just from english authors only but literature that happens to be in English Language.

**Irem-- **You are right, Archie phases did last for a very long time and it still has a nostalgic feel about it but ofcourse sooner or later you outgrow such things. Danielle Steel used to be my favorite but later i found out that those novels were very monotonous from the emotional point of view.

Majestic-- You and irem are very right about Relegiuos literature that too can be in english as well, cant it?? gives people of western world a deep insight about Islam ?? What about Yousuf estes?? I have read one of his books and that was a gem and heard that he has written plenty of them. Masha'allah waisay your taste is very good :)

Mehnaz-- I never read anything from Sharon Penman, name any good novels. Goblet of fire is a good one no doubt, sooner or later we will see a motion picture ion this harry potter masterpiece:)

*2Bornot2b bhai * What genre does Mr. Men fit in?? I will look for it here.

^ Non-fiction.

*Originally posted by saby: *

Mehnaz-- I never read anything from Sharon Penman, name any good novels. Goblet of fire is a good one no doubt, sooner or later we will see a motion picture ion this harry potter masterpiece:)

When Christ and His Saints Slept ... about the 30 year civil war in England during the 11th century .... based on true facts.

pieces of English furniture suck.

Order African decor for ur living room. Think mohagony.

i like literature from the beginning of/ halfway through the 20th century:

George Orwell
Alduous Huxley
Steinbeck etc

Roald Dahl was a firm favourite during my childhood but one of my favourite books is "A Suitable Boy" by Vikram Seth.....I've read this so many times now I've lost count.

P.G Woodhouse
Tolkien

and Rowling :blush:

P.G Woodhouse is the best if you like British humor…

Did u read 1984?

Beowulf and Macbeth :)

Hi Saby :)

Some works of English literature which are amazing and amongst my favourites:

1) Ada or Ardor by Nabokov.
2) Lolita by Nabokov
3) Spring Snow by Yukio Mishima
4) The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien
5) Twilight in Delhi by Ahmed Ali

I could list loads more but this is enough I think!! :-)

Tot Batot (english version) :halo:

Hmm..i am not much of an english person when it comes to literature. Have read a lot of trash (i realized it was just that) both in urdu and english.

Now i get to read very little…mostly on travels and i choose to read tanz-o-mazah (which is more tanz than mazah). These days, its mustansar hussain tarar. writes well and with a message.

If U want to Read Something Outstanding in English Literature...
Its..

WUTHERING HEIGHTS by EMILY BRONTE

Mayor Of Casterbridge (Forget the writer)
Tales of the Tow Cities ( I think Charles Dickens)
also good.

For Fiction U can Read.. anything from Sidney Sheldon.. Mymost Fav..is the RAGE OF ANGELS

For Life Realted stories.. U should Read.. HAROLD ROBBINS.. STONE FOR DANNY FISCHER is my Fav

Take Care