Younus willing to lead the side - Board sticking with Shoaib Malik !

Another drama about captaincy by Younus Khan … he is catching up with Shoaib Actor in becoming the drama queen of Pakistani Cricket !

Younis willing to lead Test side](http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/325693.html)
Cricinfo staff

**In a surprise change of heart, Younis Khan has said he is now willing to lead the Test side if the Pakistan board asked him to do so.
** (bhagoo yahaan sai …)

Younis has long shown a reluctance to lead Pakistan. He gave up the captaincy - and swiftly took it back - last year before the Champions Trophy, and then turned down the post again after the Caribbean World Cup this year.

And he was again an unwilling stand-in captain after Shoaib Malik’s ankle injury ruled him out of the last two Tests against India. “If the board wants me to lead the team, I can do it. But first we [himself and the officials] need to sit down, discuss and finalise some things,” Younis told PTI.

Younis had been the official vice-captain for two years under Inzamam-ul-Haq and was widely expected to take over once Inzamam resigned. At the time of his refusal, he also stepped down from the vice-captain’s role, before surprisingly accepting for the tour to India.

"I only agreed to be vice-captain for the Indian tour because of the importance of the series. If the matches had been against any other team I might not have accepted this responsibility.

“But now if the board feels I can be a good Test captain, I am willing to do it but after talking to them,” he said. “If the team can do well under my captaincy I would be very happy but I am not asking anyone for the job. This is the board’s prerogative whatever they want to do.”

The board has, however, once again expressed its full faith in Malik to retain the post until December 2008.

Pakistan board backs Malik](http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/325664.html)
Cricinfo staff
December 14, 2007

The Pakistan board has reiterated its faith in Shoaib Malik as captain and insist he will remain in the post as originally planned till December 2008.

Malik’s position has come under intense scrutiny following Test and ODI series defeat to India, a second successive reverse in both formats following the loss to South Africa at home. His cause wasn’t helped by an ankle injury which kept him out of the final two Tests against India, both of which were drawn. A number of ex-players, including Imran Khan and Javed Miandad, have questioned the wisdom of Malik as Test captain when he has yet to establish himself fully as a Test batsman.

The backing for Malik came in the wake of a board meeting constituted specifically to review Pakistan’s poor performances in India. The board also decided to prevent players from writing articles during series and concentrate solely on the cricket while on tour. There was criticism of the surge in Pakistani players’ extra-curricular media activities: many were writing for newspapers and a number had separate TV commitments as well. One column by Younis Khan, in particular, seems to have caught the board’s attention. As stand-in captain for the second Test in Kolkata, Younis distanced himself from the team selection, hinting that he might not have been happy with the composition, in a column for Hindustan Times.

Though the board has yet to read fully the tour reports handed in by the team management, immediate changes are not expected. The participation of national players in domestic tournaments was again stressed, and three camps, for bowlers, wicketkeepers and openers, have also been arranged for after the domestic Twenty20 tournament.

Re: Younus willing to lead the site - Board sticking with Shoaib Malik !

Let see if Malik can handle the big guns, so far his attitude is 'bhai jaan slip mein khare hojayengay aap please' type. This is not gonna earn anything in Pak cricket.

If Malik fails to learn in next series or so, Younis (despite of all the BS he has done) should be given a blank check with an axe in the hand. He should be allowed to kick anyone out of the team and request for certain players to the selection commettee. He has brain and fighting spirit. He can deliver. All he needs is complete authority and rightly so.....thats the way Pakistani players can be handle ........bunch of unprofessionals.

Is he a coward this guy younis khan .He can't captain the side in a pressure game ,now he is ready .

Malik needs to perform with the bat in order to earn respect in the team. He wont be able to last long even if he emerges as a good captain, if he doesnt bat well

too much drama in pakistani cricket
everyday some thing happening

its weird telling media, I want to be captain now but its up to the Board, go tell the Board!

Please, please, please hit Malik with a bat and take over the captaincy as soon as possible, Younis. We are all with you in this noble cause.

now i see who was actually behind the episode of Shoaib hitting Asif at least we know who was the motivator !!!

ab mein kuch boloon :p

Decent Bhai, yeh musharaf naih hai, this is Younis Khan :slight_smile:
I would not change anything yet…I’m not defending any one by that, but just think Malik should be given more time.

I know jabhee tu I am talking agaisnt him :D

you gic more time 2 a player that is already establishe, meaning u give him more time 2 learn captaincy, Malik never cemented his place in the test side.

Spot on!

And I third that

No, I only condone hitting tulla non-performing test cricketers :D .

The thing is, selectors have to learn how to cross the line of treating the captains with more decency. Most get treated with nothing but infantile behavior from the management. One has to be able to meet the captain's demands of giving the players that complete the team according to the needs of the skipper. This is the reason why we come across statements in the media about captains dissociating themselves from the selection process. On one hand, you can't really blame the leader, he has to be able to learn how to round-up the team that he is given. A captain has to be able to bring out the best from amongst the members of the team. At the end of the day, the selectors and captains have to arrive on the same page in order to fulfill a common goal; and that is, to see that the all eleven members of the team are on the path of establishment and success.

I am not exactly sure why Younis has offered his services now, knowing the fact that he turned the offer down on four different occasions. Maybe the time was not right, but heck, you can't go from assisting the captain in the role of a vice-captain to leading the team the next day and demand all of your bench strength that meet your needs. Also, selectors have to learn to put their faith in the captains, just like they have done now with Malik. Overall, the greater fault lies in the process of picking and choosing which players need to be filled in the given slot of eleven. Common sense has to dictate whether or not to pick a certain player based on his larger-than-life character or perhaps the one who is more suited with his skills on the cricket field on a long-term process. Selectors and the management take the lion's share of the blame. Captains are tied into it either because they get handed the reigns due to the shortage of individuals who are either on the constant injured list or are too much of an inconsistent to be placed inside the playing X1, or captains are forced to accept it.

Its not his fault. If he asks big guns like Shoaib Akhter in the following tone

"Idher aa ke kharey ho sharafat se, yehan catch aya to mera baap le ga kya. ",

he will be hit by a bat.

Re: Younus willing to lead the side - Board sticking with Shoaib Malik !

Younis has a plan to make the mockery of PCB. As soon as PCB decides to replace Shoaib Malik with Younis Khan, he will refuse again.