Younis refuses to lead Pakistan/Mohammad Yousuf appointed as new captain

Re: Younis refuses to lead Pakistan/Mohammad Yousuf appointed as new captain

Niswaar aur Ramzan dono jaldi sir chertay hain! :hoonh:

It was Younis Khan who poured over the brims to let his intentions known, adopted naive and immuture behaviour, that came out to light better now than later.

Fantastic and exciting player he may be (My ‘must have in eleven’) but in no way and in any common sense and decency a player without whom this team can not perform and win matches.

Good Luck Mohammad Yousuf ! :insha: :clap: :salute:

This is as idiotic as Afridi's "retirement". Now we have a sotu captain in Yousuf, and an even bigger sotu vice-captain in Razzaq. God knows Akhtar would have been a better choice than either of these two. Anyways, may God help us in the Champions Trophy. Younis Khan looked like a natural leader and should have been dealt with properly by the management over selection issues, but this was as childish a display as it can get.

Galee muhala cricket is at its peak. Dramay salay.

It is very sad to see Younis do this, the fact he doesn't want to be the captain at all, certainly opens the pandora box. This was not the time nor the moment! if this was the inner rift this should be solved behind the closed doors, not in front of the world!!! MOYO has said it wont affect the unity of the team, but it gives a -ive message to the rest of the players; A player is bigger than Pakistan Cricket :o Perhaps Pakistani ganguly in making :D

This is probably one if the saddest days for Pakistan Cricket. I was really looking forward to Younis Khan leading the Pakistani side in the Champions Trophy...but I guess not. He is no doubt a natural leader...and Im sure would have proved to be a very good captain.

Everyone who is criticizing him for doing this publicly, inlcluding the cricinfo writer, need to understand what he must have gone through to take this step.

Trust me, no one...and I mean no one would ever let go of an opportunity to lead his country's team in second biggest event in Cricket after the World Cup. If some people, including me are saddened by his withdrawl from captaincy, imagine how saddened he must be.

And im sure it all has to do with calling the shots. The Afridi-Younis incident in Windies, which was because Younis wanted Afridi to open, and Afridi told him "tu kaun hota hai mujhe bata ne wala, aik match ke liye captain ka ban gaya tu mujhe bataya ga kya karna hai." And this is confirmed..and I wont get into how...but my Uncle was with the Pakistani team the whole time when they were in Abu Dhabi, and he spent a lot of time with Younis Khan, who he said was the only down to earth guy in the team along with Mohammad Yousuf. Rest were all stuck up, including our beloved Inzi.

Razzaq, Afridi, Yousuf have all been in the team longer than Younis, and they have too much of an ego problem playing under him. Which is nonsense...South African team had no problem playing under Greame Smith.

I think Younis totally did the right thing...this was the only way to expose the dirty politics that go on inside. And I will try talking to my uncle and get an inside scoop on the whole thing...as he's good friends with Saleem Altaf...they used to work for the same company in Abu Dhabi a few years ago.

Honestly, I think it's a sad chapter in Pak Cricket's history. Time and time again, internal politics have torn the team apart.

I think Younis Khan made a blunderous decision to opt out of captaincy. Since Inzi is out, he was the most favorite choice and he should have honored it rather than rejecting it. Mohammad Yousuf is the only other favorite bcz. of seniority but Younis Khan should have taken the responsibility.

He was handled the responsibility for only one series and he should be more than happy to do it for his country and his teammates. I am sure that he might have his reasons but right now our team needs a strong man like Inzi or Younis to lead and clearly, he made a mockery of the captaincy deal and it will affect his future captaincy ladder.
Umer

How the case has been made that requesting for one player in a team as a replacement for the beloved skipper in the light of opening crisis is dubbed as 'being greedy' but for that certain someone who has forced the 'employees' of that same company that he works for to play along as his servants and rag-dolls is hailed as a savior?

If Inzamam can select his own players in the team as a captain, regardless of whether that be a long-term appointment or a short-term, then how come Younis has fallen off the same boat? One is speculated to have pulled strings, knowing fully well that the rope of leadership is no longer available. Tell, how is this fair with Younis?

Bigger than Pakistan Cricket? What about the lessons taught in the subject of morals and ethics? Does Younis not follow a standard code of ethics himself? One could argue very well that he has a pre-defined set of rules that as an individual, he tends to follow it rather than play a muppet in the hands of PCB officials. If Inzamam has started his charade of nasty politics in the team, and considering if the speculations are indeed true, what Younis Khan did was absolutely right. Any man living in this world, whether that be a janitor washing the stairs of a government building or a CEO of a company driving Lexus - there are a set of principles, a blue book on conscience, an outline of values and logical ethics, paraphrases on rules and morals that everyone tends to lean towards, follow, lead others and make examples. Not to say that all janitors outright display such items on the public shelf, but the ones that do follow it - why should they be fed with the short end of a stick?

My only problem with Younis is if he is going to call a press conference every time he has a problem with the team/management then we are better off with Yousuf and Razza after Inzi's retirement.

He has every right to stand for his beliefs but this is not the correct way. He could have been an awesome captain but oh well...

there might be some solid reasons bt this is not the correct way
he could have talked to the pcb first
and solved it behind the closed doors
this will effect team's moral and unity which he didnt care abt and only thought abt himself
he knew that the team has recently gone through such bad sircumstances lekin os ki bala say

who will they groom to replace Inzi after world cup?
1- Yousuf
2-A.Razzaq
3-S.Akhter
4-S.Afridi

who will they groom to replace Inzi after world cup?
1- Yousuf
2-A.Razzaq
3-S.Akhter
4-S.Afridi

Yaasir,
Please let us know if you find out anything...
I am so saddened to hear of "ego" stuff once again..
I mean why do our players behave this way...? again and again in history we are like this.... we never change...

I hope and pray Yousuf and Younis can make it work, they seem to be playing well alongside each other specially recently in England.

bummer.....lets see how far pakistan goes now....
if we don't work this out soon .....it will be down hill from here to the WC....
becuase I know us Pakistani....we just cannot forgive and forget..
we hold a grudge till we die....

Another reason why Younis made things public....
is because he is a pathan..
most of the time pathans are very honest and transparent. They are not very diplomatic...
the good side is that such people are clear hearted and will heal up if they make a truce...
so lets hope for the best...

yeah he may be a pathan ,but unlike another pathan in the team afridi he is not an a- hole,he always gives his 100% for the team and is not selfish.ofcourse if p.c.b does not want to give him full power and respect that he deserves as captain then he is within his rights to tell p.c.b to shove it up their a.

Another news, YK is looking to possibly lead Yorkshire in their next season. about 14 years ago you couldnt play for Yorkshire of you were born outside the county (Not even if u were Ian Botham)limits and now yorshire might have a brown captain

Pakistan Test star Younis Khan could become the next Yorkshire captain following Craig White’s decision to step down after three years in charge.

Younis claims he has already been offered the job for 2007.

But the club’s chief executive, Stewart Regan, told BBC Sport: "We are in discussions with a number of overseas players, one of whom is Younis Khan.

“Nothing has been finalised at this stage but we hope to be able to make an announcement next week.”

News of Yorkshire’s interest in Younis emerged just a day after he gave up the chance to skipper Pakistan at the ICC Champions Trophy.

In an interview for bigstarcricket.com, he said: "The great English county team Yorkshire have made me an offer to be their captain for next season.

"Yorkshire have great traditions and I will be finding out as much about their history as I can before I go there.

“I know players like Michael Vaughan and Mathew Hoggard play there and also legends such as Geoffrey Boycott and Sir Leonard Hutton played there a few years ago.”

Younis, who has previous county experience with Nottinghamshire, has led Pakistan in two Tests and two one-day internationals.

If appointed by Yorkshire, he would become only the club’s second overseas skipper, following Darren Lehmann in 2002.

It is Lehmann’s retirement from county cricket which has created a vacancy for an overseas batsman at Headingley.

"We are seeking both a replacement for Craig White for the 2007 season and least one overseas player, who will be a batsman.

“We have lots of irons in the fire, we are having lots of conversations, and have not yet settled on anyone,” said Regan.

“Having an overseas captain is one of the options we are exploring, but it’s not the only option. It’s more about [finding] the right individual than the role itself.”

Yorkshire preserved their Championship Division One status in their final match of the 2006 season, but have plenty of room for improvement in the Pro40 league after finishing bottom of the Second Division.

Younis khan latest article

These last few days have been very difficult for me but I don’t want to go into my reasons for doing what I did at this stage.

I know everyone must be wanting to know what is going on and why I gave up the captaincy on Thursday but I really just want to focus on the ICC Champions Trophy at the moment and on performing well for my country, scoring runs and trying to win the competition.

There will be a time to say more about what has gone on but now is not right and I need to get on with my job. I love representing my country and will continue to give 200 per cent to them and my team-mates. That shouldn’t be doubted.

There has been another more pleasing subject that has happened to me this week, which I am happier to talk about. The great English county team Yorkshire have made me an offer to be their captain for next season.

They first contacted me through Ramiz Raja when I was at Cardiff while playing for Pakistan in the first one-day international against England. The talks have been ongoing since then and I am pleased to say that I have agreed their terms and conditions and hopefully the contract will be completed next week.

I enjoyed my spell with Nottinghamshire in 2005 and although I was only there for about five weeks as Stephen Fleming’s replacement I experienced enough of county cricket to know what it is all about.

There are many matches to be played and a full season in England will be tough, but that is what I like about the challenge. Funnily enough when I first arrived at Trent Bridge last year I had a wait of about nine days to play some cricket just after I landed and I wondered if I had made the right decision!

Yorkshire have great traditions and I will be finding out as much about their history as I can before I go there. I know players like Michael Vaughan and Mathew Hoggard play there and also legends such as Geoffrey Boycott and Sir Leonard Hutton played there a few years ago.

It will be an honour to follow these cricketers and play at Headingley, especially as the captain. The club said they like my energy and the way I have captained in the past so hopefully we can be good for each other.

For now, I will get on with my job for Pakistan, which I love more than anything, and remain as positive as I always am on the cricket field. Wish us luck in the Champions Trophy. It’s a shame Inzy bhai is not with us but there is still plenty of quality for us to have a good tournament

Younis should get the short end of the stick, if he want the sympathy of the people he should have explained the reason, Why? he decided to land the bombshell a day before the team was ready to depart before the big tournament and as for the rift/grudge/reason was transpired, it didnt spiced up a day before his announcement:snooty:
Ethics:confused: , can never be part of PCB and players. As to charade curried up by Inzi, care to explain? I’d still say wait for the reason and it wont be difficult to point the finger as to who is greedy and who is playing charade!

i hope mr khan is not counting the eggs before they hatch!

Younis keen to skipper Yorkshire

Pakistan Test star Younis Khan could become the next Yorkshire captain following Craig White’s decision to step down after three years in charge.
Younis claims he has already been offered the job for 2007.
But the club’s chief executive, Stewart Regan, told BBC Sport: "We are in discussions with a number of overseas players, one of whom is Younis Khan.
“Nothing has been finalised at this stage but we hope to be able to make an announcement next week.”
News of Yorkshire’s interest in Younis emerged just a day after he gave up the chance to skipper Pakistan at the ICC Champions Trophy.
In an interview for bigstarcricket.com, he said: "The great English county team Yorkshire have made me an offer to be their captain for next season.
"Yorkshire have great traditions and I will be finding out as much about their history as I can before I go there.
“I know players like Michael Vaughan and Mathew Hoggard play there and also legends such as Geoffrey Boycott and Sir Leonard Hutton played there a few years ago.”
Younis, who has previous county experience with Nottinghamshire, has led Pakistan in two Tests and two one-day internationals.
If appointed by Yorkshire, he would become only the club’s second overseas skipper, following Darren Lehmann in 2002.
It is Lehmann’s retirement from county cricket which has created a vacancy for an overseas batsman at Headingley.
"We are seeking both a replacement for Craig White for the 2007 season and least one overseas player, who will be a batsman.
“We have lots of irons in the fire, we are having lots of conversations, and have not yet settled on anyone,” said Regan.
“Having an overseas captain is one of the options we are exploring, but it’s not the only option. It’s more about [finding] the right individual than the role itself.”
Yorkshire preserved their Championship Division One status in their final match of the 2006 season, but have plenty of room for improvement in the Pro40 league after finishing bottom of the Second Division.

^ is that from cricinfo ?
I can't find it....

yes that news about yorkshire is also on cricinfo: http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/261627.html