Younis Khan rejects Pakistan Captaincy (see post 101)

Re: Younis Khan unwilling/willing to take over as Pakistan captain

yar akheer hee mix news hien … every newspaper is contradicting the other… Allah janay yeah drama kub khatum hoga !:naraz:

Its funny how this Pak team captaincy thing is being played out.
Its almost like some players are saying..."I will officially announce my candidature in tomorrow night's Tonight Show". That is as political as it can get.

^^ its better than gag order slapped on indian players, infact whole BCCI. :p

Younis and Malik are the best choices, but it is not required that a captain should come from inside the current team.

although younis is best suited to be captain, and knows what he is doing, i dont think any pakhtun can be a powerful captain, some1 from punjab has to be given captaincy! the Mohammad yousuf lobby in the team will creat hurdles, yousuf is a great player but very mediocre cricketing brain as we saw when he was made captain a few times. younis knows that polayers like razzaq, and afridi will creat hurdles since Younis believes in playing specialist cricketers not "railu Katte" as Imran would say! If it were up to me i would make younis captain if the board assures him of full support, with either asif or butt vc! if the board has reservations i think malik can be made odi captain, but thats a problem since he doesent have a place in the test team!

yar this shouldnt be about paktuns, punjabis or sindhies.....if the players are sincere about playing for their country, then such issues shouldnt arise in the first place.

^ exactly! We should n't be so shallow and narrow-minded.

Inti as coach :smack:
r they even thinking? :frusty:

no1 is trying to make that but such a mind set does exists, have to call a spade a spade!

Former manager wants Abdul-Razzaq as new Captain.

PCB ka aur Pak team ka kuch nahi honay wala unles Imran Khan becomes Prime Minister of Pakistan. I am glad before the WC started I had decided this will be my last world cup and after this I am going to say goodbye to cricket and be a normal person instead of being a hardcore cricket fan.

I am selling my FTA receivers...any one wants to buy? :D

A nobody called Azhar Zaidi wants Razzaq to be Captain...thank God that suggestion didnt come from someone who knows what they're talking about..otherwise that would've been seriously scary!

I think it's unfair to say Younis has never played under pressure...

He won us the match against South Africa just 2 months ago, when everyone was collapsing around him. He played well as well as coaxing Kamran's one decent performance of the series.

Anyway, right now I think players like Afridi, Malik and Younis are on pretty equal standing. But I think no matter who we choose from these three, he will be a FAR better captain than Inzi.

Why dont u donate it to some one that* *you know ** is a hard core cricket fan and lives less than 2 hrs away:D

Donation achay kamooN ke or kay lye ke jati hai...You ain't going to watch Quran TV on this...it will be 24 hours cinema house. :)

**If teaser bhi Gives me his FTA reciever, then I will do free broadcast for all the guppies

So everybody support me and make teaser bhi give it to me
**:D

^ pehle apni link quality batao....

Mufta bhee Aur Quality bhee???

Damn it ASN and Game, you guys have spolied'em all now.

bhi jaan quality jhikaaas hou gee! (my Tapori-ology is not great so i am hoping jhikaas means wedyaa)

^ muftey ne muftey se kaha 'mufta bhee aur Quality bhee' :)
FTA k kitney paisey de rahey hou waise??

Pakistan cricket faces captaincy dilemma

ISLAMABAD, April 11: Pakistan cricket managers are struggling to choose a new captain for the national team after prime candidate Younis Khan set conditions for accepting the job, official sources said Wednesday.
Younis, who was deputy to former skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq for nearly two years, is demanding full powers like his powerful predecessor, a condition unacceptable to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), board sources said.

Following the country’s humiliating first-round exit from the World Cup in Caribbean the PCB says it wants to put in place a new code for players and the captain. “The new strategy envisages strong checks and balances on the captain to curtail his role in selecting players and dictating terms to the coach and the management, as has been the practice in the past,” a PCB official told AFP.

“Younis Khan wanted to be an all-powerful captain and is reluctant to accept curbs,” the official said on condition of anonymity.
The PCB wants to curtail “player power”, which it believes has been responsible for the poor showing of the national team in big tournaments.
The official said announcement of the captain had been delayed as the board authorities try to resolve the problem.

However a cricket board spokesman said the delay in choice of men for the two key posts was not due to any differences with Younis.
“The board is still discussing various options on who should be appointed as captain and coach for the team,” spokesman Ahsan Malik told AFP.

“We have not reached the stage where we can offer captaincy to any player, we have chalked out a criterion and once that is settled we will announce the name.” Younis was appointed as Pakistan captain for the Champions Trophy in India in October when Inzamam was banned for bringing the game into disrepute during the Oval Test ball-tampering controversy last year.

But Younis initially refused the role at the time, saying he did not want to be a “dummy captain”, apparently over differences with some of the senior players and over some selections.—AFP

http://www.dawn.com/2007/04/12/spt12.htm