Younis Khan out of 3rd test

Younis Khan to miss final Test

Cricinfo staff

November 27, 2005

Younis Khan, the Pakistan vice-captain, has pulled out of the final Test against England at Lahore after the death of his brother. His absence could lead to a recall for Hazan Raza, who sat out the second Test after playing in the first one. 

“My brother, Sharif Khan, died in Ukraine on Saturday and I won’t be able to play the third Test,” Younis told AFP. Pakistan will also be without Shahid Afridi, the allrounder, who was banned for a Test and two ODIs by Roshan Mahanama, the match referee, for scruffing up the pitch during the second Test at Faisalabad.

Andrew Strauss, the England opener, will also miss the final Test. Strauss is flying back to England for the birth of his child. Pakistan lead the three-Test series 1-0 after the win at Multan and the draw at Faisalabad.

© Cricinfo

Re: Younic Khan out of 3rd test

Inna lillahi wa inna ilahi rajioon.

ok this just keeps getting worse and worse for Pakistan. First, Shabbir, then Afridi and now Younis Khan. This pretty much means that Hasan Raza and Asim Kamal will be playing the final test for sure. That also means more easy pickings for the English bowlers, as Asim has been badly out of form and we already saw what the English bowlers did with Raza...he looked more clueless out there than Shabbir Ahmed batting.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaha rajioun

May his soul rest in peace.
Allah Talah Younis Khan aur un kay ghar waloun ko saber atta fermaye - Ameen

^ ameen.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilahi rajioon.

we'll definately miss him in the third test =\

i hope we can play imran farhat, bazid khan or misbah-ul-haq…
but plz no asim kamal or hassan raza… :crying:

Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilayhee Rajay-oon.

Indeed a sad news. I think his father died when Pakistan was touring Australia. this indeed is a set back for his family.

This is apart from the thread...........Why are we saying continously that Asim Kamal is in bad form, when was he last tested. I guess against WI. That tour is long over, that guy has a good past, specially when under pressure. So does that mean that one bad tour and he should be out.

Innalillah wa inna ilaahi rajioon. Poor guy keeps getting hit by tragedy after tragedy. His father last year, and now his brother. :(

IMHO, its time to bring in one of our earlier scrapped openers and move Shoaib Malik down to #3. Shoaib is already used to playing at #3 so the void left by Younis Khan's absense will be aptly filled. I recommend Yasir Hameed.

Bringing in Hasan Raza might not be the best thing to do...

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

This is bad news, I hope YK and his family can recover soon from this loss.

Two new batsmen in an already brittle line up doesn't sound good at all. Push comes to shove, we need to bat it out for a draw. Hasan Raza is clueless and I doubt he will be recalled for such a pressure situation. Instead I would go for Asim Kamal at no.6 and Yasir Hameed as one down. Yasir Hameed has plenty to play for.

BBC is saying he is out of the test, while GEO is saying he might not play.

Innalillahi Wa Inna Ilaihi Rajighoon

May Allah(SWT)admit his brother in jannat-ul-Firdous. Amin

according to Bobby #3slot would go to Asim Kamal and #6slot would go to Hasan Raza.

Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilayhee Rajay-oon… His father died when he was touring Aus last year…it is indeed a set back for him as well as his family…may Allah help his family to get through this difficult time…

Innah Lillahe Wa Innah Ileyahe Rajaoun.

ArMughal bhai,

Kam as Kam pehle Marhoom ke liye Innah Lillah tou parh lete.

Inna Lillahi wa Inna Ilahi Rajioon...

indeed this leaves another hole in the pak batting lineup...

Re: Younis Khan out of 3rd test

yasir or farhat should be played 1 down or 2 down. they can't open. let shoib and salman do that ..

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayehi rajioun.

Though Younis hasn't played much a great knock yet, he was below average in last 2 tests (1st test was okay) but atleast there was a chance that he could've scored better if present in the team. Anyway, now the exclusion of some good players i.e. Afridi, Shabbir, Younis will tilt the favor away a bit.

Innalillahi wa inna ilayhi rajioun! very sad to hear that within this yr his father also passed away, May Allah give him and his family sabr! well now i think yasir hameed who did start his career at no.3 should b in like for a come back!! i know they wont toy with openeing since theyve done pretty well. yasir at 3!! kamal at 6!

inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon.
May Allah rest his soul in peace. Ameen.