Younis Khan lashes out at PCB over omission from ODI squad

Days after the senior cricketer was not given a slot in Pakistan’s ODI team for the upcoming Australia series, Younis Khan strongly reacted against what he called Pakistan Cricket Board’s disparaging attitude towards senior players.

Chief selector Moin Khan had announced the team for the Australia series two days ago during a press conference in Lahore.

Speaking to media representatives, the senior batsman expressed deep anger at the PCB and strongly criticised the board for the marginalisation of senior players.

“After such derogatory behaviour by the PCB, I advise young cricketers to abandon their dream of playing for the team,” Younis said, adding that throughout his career he had encouraged junior players and had worked to safeguard the rights of fellow team members.

Also read: Younis Khan wants a recall for World Cup

He said he never used any contacts to maintain his position in the team or to tilt decisions of the PCB in his favour by using external pressure.

Once the captain of the Pakistan team, Younis has played 254 ODIs but he appears to have been sidelined by the selectors since March, 2013 also perhaps on account of what has also been regarded as his inconsistent performance in the last few games.

The Pakistan-Australia series, comprising one T20 and three ODI matches, is scheduled to kick off on October 5 in the United Arab Emirates.

Younis Khan lashes out at PCB over omission from ODI squad - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Re: Younis Khan lashes out at PCB over omission from ODI squad

just saw on tv PCB gave notice to younis khan over this statement

Younis khan aur pcb ki love marriage to khair sab ko maloom hai. He had to abandon his sirilanka odi camp and go back after the death in his family. I think PCB on this particular occasion, as every other randomly scattered round the year occasions, did a blunder...as they definitely should. They r the PCB. They can.

Just retire, man. Criticizing these morons in PCB won't do anything.

Bhai jaan chor doh ab team ki

I am his admirer ever since his debut, but its beyond me why can't he realize that he has lost his touch in ODIs a long time ago. I fear for his test career after what happened today.

chaloo ho jaoo shuru. eik tu hum logo ki ego hawa chalney sai bhi hurt ho jati hai

No doubt he is great cricketer but i think his ODI career is over now. He should concentrate on Test Cricket now if he wants to play more.

Unfortunately only in Asia none of the players wants to quit Cricket easily. They take their every chance to stick with the team.

He should admit that at least his ODI career is over now. Misbah please you should also think on it. I want to see you leaving with pride, if you can.

Pakistani players never leave with grace, always leave in a state of disgrace, thrown out, retired by force, etc.

its history all over again

jitnay bhi jatay hain poori bisti kerwa ke nikalay jatay hain