younis captaincy!

Re: younis captaincy!

afridi ho ya malik for me its one and the same, both are young talented players

[QUOTEPakistan Cricket & a Good respectability that was anchored by Imran Khan / Waqar / Akram, has been on the slide and now stands at a lowest level of this 'Technical sport' [/QUOTE]

Yaar Rain Dance Bhai,

stop living in the past, mere khayal me tou, after seeing 2test 2day, I would say PCB is getting towards a good team, which in the past, was more dependent on parchi like your compatriots, ( and I agree with them) say.

Think ke is team ne bina Shoaib Akhter ke yeh hasil kiya hai. tou like say" goli maar yaar".

aaj keiye jiyo:D :D :D

^ Imagin keroo, I mean , Andaza kero , key agar team ka pura qorum complete hota to :stuck_out_tongue:
Ganguly is waqt demote hoker wicket per jharooo dai raha hota,aur Sachin 10,000 ki tasbeeeh per raha hota,:sleep: , :clown:

Shoaib is the Best :dhimpak:

Waqar and Waseem were not good captains, they were good bowlers but in no way can you call them excellent captains.

He is not talking of their “captaincy”… just bowling.

ditto… they were more aggressive but that doesn’t make them good captains.

Then what’s the point of comparign them to Younis, Yoyo and Inzi?

I think Inzi has done a pretty good job with what he’s given. We have to stop looking for small things to use against him.

He is not comparing… he is being nostalgic I believe.

^ Yes and sarcastic!!

Captaincy in our part of the world is no better than the other.
You guys are just fishing in the old dirty pond.

My views are based more and further beyond Imran Khan who was the pinnacle of the whole cap-10's club

Captain’s role on and off the field is equally important and solid.
Any weaknesses here, will jeopardize teams moral and leadership role and Pakistan had those quite a few times.

What we have now is OK but can be better 10 fold with education and wide-angle vision.

Raindance-- You have given all such prerquistes that captains should at least have a B+ in 'ICC ruling 101' and a minimum of A- in 'Advanced Captaincy Innovations' etc. But let me ask you this. Was Ponting a qualified one day captain when he took over? (He was ready when he became test captain) He had a bad disciplinary record and he was not a proven strategist or an innovative individual. He learnt those traits along the way and now he is one of the best in business. Consider Stephen Fleming, he was not even sure of his own place when he was accidentally made captain (after the retirement of Ken RutherFord I believe) but now he is considered as the best captain and strategist.

I completely agree with you. Some qualities are hidden deep inside, until the right time.

Younis Khan all the way for captaincy! Only he has the temperament and enthusiasm/agility/presence of mind to be a skipper from among the current 11. He is a genuine cricketer.

couldn’t have said it better!

Purpose of my post was NOT to claim that Younis might be the ‘real deal for captaincy’. He may or may not be the kind of captain whole nation is looking for. One or two sessions wont decide that.

My point is that there are certain individuals about whom you can never be sure how will they react when given the captaincy job. Younis is one of them. With Inzimam’s sleeping personality, lazy (sometimes relaxed) approach on the field, we could tell what kind of captain he would make and he certainly turned out to be exactly like that (initially)

-----------------------x---------------------
Thanks for pointing out Ponting to me. This and Fleming examples would enhance
my earlier view of making Shoaib Akhter the next Captain of Pakistan team.

When GanGuly was made Captain of India snatching the crown off Sachin’s head
He was a usefull all rounder. What is it that BCCI sees in his recent failures in Austrailia / Pakistan and now at home to presist with him until now. His batting is below par, his bowling is non existent, his fielding sucks and his captaincy is ever so over shadowed with Dravid and Sachin’s displeasure.
Such examples cannot suggest to me that things can be alright with Pakistan too.

**Ponting **is blessed with a smart bunch of players to choose from. His mistakes are easily overshadowed by someones heriocs on any given day.

**Flemming **is a good Captain too. Because he’s easy going and is not required to
to do much brainstorming all the time. He is also blessed with some good talented professionals otherwise has no major achievments on pitch apart from getting a hefty pay rise for his team mates. :elmo:

When it comes to Younis and Inzi, you have presented all those pre-requisites and once Shoaib’s name comes to your mind, all those pre-reqs vanish? Arent you negating yourself here?
p.s It doesnt mean that I will mind Shoaib being made captain.

Fleming has achived a lot with a bunch of limited players he has had over the years. Winning ICC trophy, series in England, drawn series in Australia which he shuold have won but for umpiring going in aussie favor.
Havent you seen his field placings over the years? He has devised the most innovative field placings like short backward point etc (in VB series with aus/SA few years back). He doesnt succeed that often because NZL team consists of bits and parts player and there is a lack of worldclass wicket taking bowlers to support Vettori. But according to majority of critics, he is the best captain out there nowadays.

---------x-----------------

Not at all. Shoaib is wierd and like Flemming may be he has some innovative idea up his sleeve. He like to be in the limelight so be it. Apart from having female umpires what else can he ask for , :blush: He will take wickets (bowled) more frequently than ever before,

He’s the best and should be in the team! :smiley:

If you can guarantee his fitness, I am sure he will remain in the team. Almost all the times he misses out on games/series, is because of his own fitness, not because he is kicked out for lack of talent.

And regardless of how much people say that he disrupts team morale and discipline, one thing is certain… as long as he is fit, PCB (the same PCB that you bad mouth all the time) will bend over backwards to play him in the team. :slight_smile:

-------------x--------------
Ooh yes they will! , This PCB is an Ad-Hoc setup anyways, they have no choice but to play him and 2ndly they have not proven any allegations against him so far. On the contrary Shoiab should sue the 1st mouth that uttered the ‘Traitor’ word against him. Its so simple if you look at it.

His fitness is an issue indeed. And this is due to his extra ordinary skill. All sports persons go through this phase. I suspect shoaib keeps coming back with partially cured injury thus aggravating it further and further. I say this because each time his injury re occurred it was like a ‘snap’ rather than gradual.

But I’m no expert and cannot say for sure why does it it reoccurres when it does.

I will completely disagree with this. Extra-ordinary skill is of no use, if you can’t deliver. There have been and are many cricketers around the world with extra-ordinary skills that have consistently delivered, by keeping themselves fit. All the fast bowling greats we often talk about (Holding, Imran, McGrath, Alan Donald, Marshall etc) are heroes because they delivered through keeping themselves fit, and not just because they had extra ordinary skills.

In any case, Shoaib is a unique case. He has two problems basically.

1. His fitness, which is the main thing that ticks people off.
  2. And the politics within the team that he brings.

Frankly speaking, if he is delivering with the ball, no one would give a flying hoot about his clubbing and dancing with girls. Imran was a playboy and no one cared. The only condition is that the guy should deliver in the field. And deliver it consistenly, by keeping himself fit. God willing, ofcourse.

Eventhough I do not agree with not having Younis Khan as the captain, but the Ponting comparison is utterly in vain…

If you have argubaly the best spinner ever to the play the game…wisden five of the century…the most potent and prolific fast bowler of contemporary era…supported by other world class fast bowlers and not to mention a destructive batting line in which almost all the batsmen either average well over 50 or close to it and have the likes of Gilchrist coming in at #7/8…it would not take a genius to win matches with this unit…even a khota could do it…