Younger sister getting married before older brother

That happens a LOT in our society. The guy can be 31, laikin us ki shaadi us waqt tak nahin ho sakti jab tak us ki 21 saal ki behan nahin baiyai jaati. I find it ridiculous.

Re: Younger sister getting married before older brother

I have been receiving many proposals where the family likes me but they just hesitate to proceed because they are also looking for their daughter (younger/ older than the guy) and the parents despite liking the girl and family for their son do not want to proceed until they finalise the marriage for their daughters... If you put yourself in those parents shoes, may be they think right as they want to first marry off their daughters so that their daughter in law does not make fun of their daughters and their daughters do not feel bad coz the daughter in law might be same age or even younger.... I have seen daughters in law making fun of their SILs because they got married at a much younger age (I know this is jahalat but I have seen such cases).... I think making sons wait till 32-34 year age is not a big deal if that makes parents satisfied and they look for their daughters in the meantime. But they should not delay son's marriage beyond that age... It also depend on the age difference between the son and daughter... Making a 31 year old son wait for his 21 year old sister is definitely ridiculous. But making him wait for 25-28 year old sister might make sense for many parents as they might think they should marry off their daughters first before bringing the same or young age bahu...

I have also seen parents start looking for their sons in the hope for finding a match for their daughters... So many parents have asked about my brother (he is only 19 but looks older because of his height) when they visited my place to see me... This also shows the desperation of those parents... But parents should not start looking for their sons if they are not serious for their sons.... But they just start looking for their sons may be just to make their sons happy or in the hope that they can show their daughters off by visiting other families for their sons and getting proposals for their daughters...

I don't see why/how a brother should have to wait for his younger sister to get married before he does. He has his own hormons and desires he needs to deal with. I can see that girls in our society get married sooner then guys (age wise) because people want to settle their girls, but that doesn't mean they need to make their boys wait. also asking a proposal for a boy is not considered desperation but that's a whole different topic.
Who comes up with these rules anyways? do what works for your life and while your at it, smack the sister-in-law who makes fun of the single daughter

Everyone's time should be whenever THEY feel ready and should NEVER be dependent on behan ki shaadi nahi hui toh baitay ki bhi nahi ho gee

See this is where things get messed up. Why in the world would one eprson make fun ofanother? Doesn't the SIL realize that instead of her nand, it could very well be her in that position? Why not imagine what could go wrong instead of gloating over things?

Oh that sucks. It just IMO puts more pressure onto the sisters when they get into that position, like OMG I have to get married now?! I just got into college! It's just not fair.

I heard about at-least one family doing that and it has always been a mystery for me why presence of a younger daughter means delayed marriage for the son.

maybe because parents want the sons to be done with their contribution to the faraiz before they too officially 'biwi ko pyare ho gaye' :p

^I think that is probably the reason.

Maybe it’s to protect their daughters from bhabis cz u know…bhabis come into the house with the mindset that the nand is evil :rolleyes:

Some of those reasons are true but the primary one is log kya kahenge.