Young Tatars turning to Islamic roots

In Russia’s Tatarstan region more and more young people are switching from Western-style dress to Muslim attire. More than just a fashion, the trend reflects a surging interest in Islam among the youth of this largely Muslim region on the Volga River, some 450 miles east of Moscow.

“Young people are looking for something more, something deeper than just discotheques, alcohol and sex,” said the shop’s 22-year-old clerk Elizha, who was dressed in a tightly wrapped blue headscarf and a black jacket and skirt.

Pavel Chikov, a 27-year-old rights activist, said the interest in Islam is a new phenomenon – within the past four years – that is reflected not only in clothing, but also in demand for food prepared according to Islamic dietary rules, called halal. Salami is a ubiquitous form of meat throughout Russia, but halal-style salami has appeared in Kazan markets only in the past year.

“It’s a natural process. No one is forcing this on us,” Chikov said.

Tatars tend to be moderate Muslims, and the region has had little of the religious tensions or extremist tendencies that has plagued other Muslim regions in Russia.

Raphael Khakimov, a political adviser to President Mintimer Shaimiyev, noted that just a handful of Tatars travelled to Chechnya to fight with Islamic separatists during the first war there. That was an anomaly for Tatarstan, he said, along with the arrest of several alleged members of the extremist Islamic group, Hizb-ut-Tahrir.

Khakimov said that since the Soviet collapse 14 years ago, nearly three dozen Islamic religious schools – called madrassas – have been built in Tatarstan, and many are tied to Russian Islamic University and its mainstream pedagogy.

Ilgiz Shigoballin, a 22-year-old assistant imam at the Nurallah mosque across the street from Gubaydullin’s store, said Friday services are now overflowing, with most of the interest coming from college-age and younger men and women.

“Young people are sick of having empty lives,” he said.

Mashallah the islamic revival is unstoppable people now see the alternative ideology of islam, and have seen the dismal failures of secualrism and in particular the capitalist experiment

Re: Young Tatars turning to Islamic roots

Are those same Tatars, about whom Iqbal said? :

Hai aYaaN fitna-e-taataar kaY afsaanaY saY
PaasbaaN mil gaYe Ka'baY ko Sanam KhaanaY saY

I know a few who're turning to ginseng roots for salvation

^ Lol

Pavel Chikov? He was great in Star Trek.

can you translate that

That’s wonderful to hear.

Of course there will be those naysayers who think i’ts a bad thing :rolleyes:

Tatars (changez khan and Halakoo khan) were idolators.

When muslims went to the lowest of their Iman and strayed from the path, ALLAH:swt: sent Tatars the idolators who ruthlessly killed muslims and made minerat of their skulls. And then, those idolators (Sanam parast) embraced Islam. Truely ALLAH:swt: said:

:bism:
**47:38 **Look, you are being called upon to expend in Allah’s Way, yet some of you are being niggardly, whereas the one who is niggardly is, in fact, being niggardly only to himself. Allah is Self-Sufficient: it is you who are the needy. If you turn away, Allah will replace you by another people, and they will not be like you.

Yes. The Tatars settled in large areas of Central Asia. In the 1500s to 1700s, all the Tatars were conquered by Russia and annexed.

This means that over 20% of the population of Russia is Muslim … Russia actually has more Muslims in it than most Muslim countries do!

And the proportion of Russians who are Muslim is rising… Khilafat in Moscow, inshallah! :hula:

Yup, this is what is explained in Iqbal’s sher below in a beautiful manner…

Maddy: do you know that Khurasaan consisted of Central Asian States along with Afghanistan, Malakand division of Pakistan, and part of Iran during the time of Prophet:saw: ???

Every thing is so obvious, and every thing just increases the Imaan so much… :slight_smile:

That is correct first time in history that the conquerors embraced the ideology of the conquered . The mongols where ruthless whupped the islamic state militarily in many places then they embraced islam unbelivable and then they became the fighting force of the islamic state allah(swt) works in many mysterious ways alhamdulilah!

Mauqa aur mahal par wah!

goank god for the Tatars!

without them we wouldn’t have Tartar sauce! :salute:

on a serious note. its great to hear the reIslamisation of the Tartar people.

and i didnt know 20% of Russia was Muslim!:eek:
great news! the central asian Muslim population is growing by the day!

slightly off topic…
was watching this program on BBC3 last night called ‘Holidays in the danger zone’
in it the presenter went to Tajikstan/Afghan border and filmed a Tajik military base stopping Afghan drugs and extremists crossing over. before the evening dinner, the commanding officer of the base called his men Tajik Lions who are doing their duty for Islam…then they proceeded to say a quick Dua and break bread with their…VODKA!:eek: WTF!!!:confused:
man alive! that was a bit of a shock!

That’s the effect of 70 years of Soviet state policy to discourage Muslims from following Islam.

When imams who would try and encourage muslims to follow Islam were taken away and shot, and when the state would reward muslims who aped the atheists in power, things like this are what resulted.

Great stuff, masa'Allah.

A large number of Muslim youth all across the globe are slowly becoming more practicing and are trying their best to abide by the Shariah.

Btw... is Tartaristan a colony of Russia? There's been quite a lot in the media about how Russian government does not allow women to observe hijaab in public.

Reminds me of the time when I used to choose fictional character names for my stories lol

Tartaristan is one of the provinces of Russia. It’s the biggest Muslim-majority region in Russia, and the Muslim region that has been part of Russia the longest.

I think the Russia government rule was against headscarves in ID photos. It wasn’t as severe a ban as is in Turkey, Tunisia and France.

^ My bad. I confused Russia with Turkey. I didn't know Tunisia also has a ban in effect.

Just a little correction brother Anwaar Qureshi:

In the Prophet (saw)'s time only what is now Saudi Arabia, Yemen and Emirates were the Darul Islam.

Iran was added to Darul Islam in the time of Hazrat Omar Bin Khattab (ra) and the others that you have mentioned were added in the time of Hazrat Uthman bin Affan (ra).