Re: Young indians and sprituality
Hmmmmm..channa pullao...never heard of it and sounds great...please ask your wife for recipe!!!
yea code_red bhaiya please post your wife's special channa pulao recipe here. I've actually never eaten pulao with channa in it, is it a pakistani dish or is there a similar dish in India too i wonder...
I've never heard about these dried herbs before. Gosh if you cook well then babhi must be one happy woman :)
Look at you people! I create a thread for vegetarian dishes and you ignore that.
But come here and start talking about pulav and channa and sweet rice! Is that your idea of Indians' spirituality?
And if you say yes, you are not totally wrong!
I am now hungry and have to think of a way to avoid the sandwich for lunnch and find some real food!
but weren’t you asking about pakistani veg dishes? I only know about Indian veg dishes which you know too so I can’t really contribute see?:rotato:
Channa pulao..weird you ppl never heard of that!!! and here i am bored of eating it (almost) daily!!!! itz more like a desi sub-continental food.
i really thought that most Pakistanis have meat daily!!
Hey ! This recipe is Pakistani State secret. Cant be revealed to indians ![]()
Btw, i am also surprised just like pallavpotter. It is a very common dish. How come you are not aware of channa pullaow ? ![]()
Ok. Next time you go to india, go to Haji Ali shrine (mumbai) , Saieen baba or Hazrat Nizamuddin Aoulia shrine in Ajmair Sharif ( which ever i near to your city) and eat lunger there (free food). I am sure you will get to eat Channa pullao and Zarda there :k: As people from all faith go there both are vegitarian dishes and fairy common.
Another question related to food. **What food item are typically in your parsaad ? Do you get free food at mandirs ? **
Chunky Veg and mac soup
Ingredients Cut into large pieces potatoes, carrots, cauliflower, red onions and green pepper (capsicum) Peas 2-3 blended tomatoes
Can we make it without pressure cooker?
Ok. Next time you go to india, go to Haji Ali shrine (mumbai) , Saieen baba or Hazrat Nizamuddin Aoulia shrine in Ajmair Sharif ( which ever i near to your city) and eat lunger there (free food). I am sure you will get to eat Channa pullao and Zarda there :k: As people from all faith go there both are vegitarian dishes and fairy common.
you have been there?? you been ever to India??
*Another question related to food. ***What food item are typically in your parsaad ? Do you get free food at mandirs ? **
at our home, the daily Prasad usually contains fruits and some sweets. if in a hurry, then just sugar.
in Mandirs, well, yes, we have free food in there. but not all. you cant expect the lil ones to distribute food for free. the bigger ones give plenty of them. theres a Temple in South India,forgot the name, where they serve lakhs and lakhs of ppl daily.
but of course, you always get the “fruits-and-bits-of-sweets” prasad in every where.
and that too depends on region to region.
Almost all Hindu temples will give out raisins, bits of cocanut, little pieces of jaggery or sugar crystals, cashews, etc....as prasad.
In those temples where they have food (annadhan etc) it will be whatever is local to that region. For example in South India you will get various rice preparations (such as cocanut rice, tamarind rice, lemon rice, cur rice, sesame rice, sweet and/or savory pongal etc). In the North I assume it will be chapathi with channa or dal. In many temples, seasonally there will be what we call 'sundal' in Tamil - that can be made with different types of lentils and beans, each tasting very differently (moong, split peas, chick peas, green peas etc).
Can we make it without pressure cooker?
Oh yeah you can. Just have to time when to put the different ingredients like you may start off with carrots and potatoes and after few mins add peas and cauliflower. And then macaroni. Veggies like capsicum and onions and broccoli do not take so long to cook.
But then I though I was giving recipe to a bachelor guy who wanted quick hassle free meals....Little did I know Code_Red was not only married but also an expert in the culinary field :o
As for prasaad, I think the most common type is the shiro type of prasaad made from sooji or semolina. And then theres the usual dry fruits nuts and crystal sugar, coconut etc. I remember we used to time my grandmother and attack her and raid her bag for prasaad. And it would be rolled up in a newspaper or directory page or someones old schoolwork page...a mixture of sooji halwa (shiro) bits of fruit nuts and the crystal sugar. Ha ha brings back good old memories.
Almost all Hindu temples will give out raisins, bits of cocanut, little pieces of jaggery or sugar crystals, cashews, etc....as prasad.
In those temples where they have food (annadhan etc) it will be whatever is local to that region. For example in South India you will get various rice preparations (such as cocanut rice, tamarind rice, lemon rice, cur rice, sesame rice, sweet and/or savory pongal etc). In the North I assume it will be chapathi with channa or dal. In many temples, seasonally there will be what we call 'sundal' in Tamil - that can be made with different types of lentils and beans, each tasting very differently (moong, split peas, chick peas, green peas etc).
Are you from Tamil Nadu? Where?
^ yup. Lived a few places in India though originally from Tamil Nadu (Tanjore district).
Senthamizh naadennum podhinilay
inbaththaen vandhu payudhu kaadhinilay
etc
Ok whoa I dont understand tamil...but i attended boarding school in kodaikanal. Had a great time. Went to visit recently after several years. Its become a buzzing touristy commercial place compared to that sleepy hill station I remembered it to be.
^ yup. Lived a few places in India though originally from Tamil Nadu (Tanjore district).
** Senthamizh naadennum podhinilay inbaththaen vandhu payudhu kaadhinilay** etc
OMG i can't even pronounce the first word, forget any of the others in bold. I guess this is something in tamil but what does it all mean?
This is the first stanza of one of the immortal songs of Sri.Subhramanya Bharathiyar (everyone simply called him Bharathi), the fiery Thamizh poet from last century. The thing about him is that some of his poetry will simply make you sit up, march straight and go face, take on and vanquish any injustice. He wrote against caste discrimination, superstitous and ritualistic behavior as well as any kind of enslavement.
And he also wrote another kind of poetry - the sweet sweet melodies such as "Chinnanchiru killiyei" (oh! cute little parakeet)
Senthamizh naadennum podhinilay
inbaththaen vandhu payudhu kaadhinilay
**Endhayar naadennum podhinilay
oru shakthi pirrakkudhu moochchinilay!
At mention of the great ThamizhNade,
my ears taste the sweet of honey
At mention of my ancestral land
An energy infuses my breadth
One Bharathi's powerful quotes:
If ONE human being goes hungry
We should destroy the universe
^^ wow....
Sorry there was a mistake. It is Khawaja Moinuddin Chishti’s shrine in ajmair sharif. And No I have never been to india
I hope one day inshallah :k:
Just like parsaad in muslim regions people distribute free food at shrines and it is called Tabarak, means same as parsaad.
heres some interesting details about the two degs at the shrine in ajmair sharif. I read about them in newspaper here the detail.
Normally at weddings or functions the conventional deg capacity is max 20, 30 kg and it requires master cook to operate. Imagine cooking 5000 kg of rice in one deg
and its size :kl
I am not a devout Hindu but a few years back I had an experience that was just unbelievable. I went to a Saibaba satsang (prayer meeting). As I closed my eyes (actually just to pretend to gharwali that I was praying) and all of a sudden this newer incarnation of Saibaba called Satya Sai Baba appeared in front of me. I opened my eyes and he was stiil there. Honestly I am not a devotee of either Saibaba or Satya Saibaba, Went there just get the gharwali off my case. Can't explain this.