You preferred Airline from US(Major Hubs) to Pakistan

What is your preferred airline to travel from what I class as major hubs for Pakistani bounds passengers from US. Namely, Chicago O’Hare, New York JFK, and Houston?

Also list reason why you would take one airline over other available options from the same hub. Destination cities can vary (Khi, Lhe, Isb).

Re: You preferred Airline from US(Major Hubs) to Pakistan

since the introduction of B-777 and A380, direct non-stop flights are quite convenient and as a result i usually took Air India from Toronto to Delhi or Continental/American Airlines via Chicago O'Hare. i hardly fly via New York because it sometimes involve change of airport. most flights to New York from Toronto fly into La-Guardia or Newark, NJ airports which is quite inconvenient.

since i have to travel from Delhi to Allahabad/Lucknow by train, i try to arrive into Delhi late at night or very early in the morning to catch the first train out. now in the recent past, india has got many more domestic airlines with lower fares and same baggage allowance as our North American Airlines. i now fly to my town from Delhi/Bombay.

when i used to travel to New Zealand, i used Air India because they have non stop flights from Chicago to Delhi and from Delhi to Christchurch. one stop in India gives me an opportunity to meet family. :)

Nice. :k: Most people that fly PIA from JFK who I have talked to, also do so because of that reason, 777s are newer and the flight is non-stop.

You preferred Airline from US(Major Hubs) to Pakistan

Emirates all the way!

Dfw—>IAH—>DXB—>KHI

Last time I went to Pakistan though I flew Delta Dfw—Atl–DXB and then grabbed an Emirates flight separately on to Khi

I always break my journey in Dubai because my sister lives there :blush:

You have a reason to want a stop in the journey. :k: I would prefer totally non-stop point to point flight, even it’ll feel like ages on the planes. Saves the hassle of going through screening, deboarding, reboarding. PIA has horrid arrangements on the return from Pakistan to U.S. Having to stop in Manchester is not so much fun.

but if you fly emirates you don’t have to do all this.. no baggage screening, checking in again, even the baggage is taken car off. just get down in Dubai airport take a break, shop a lil in duty free (great duty free) and hope on to your next flight. moreover they have good fares, onboard entertainment and food all A class..

i heard that recently PIA is short of planes and as a result going to stop flying to Frankfurt and some other cities because these routes are NOT as profitable as the flights to Saudi Arabia [Jeddah] for Hajj. i think they have also curtailed some of the services to the United States.

PIA had asked the feds for funding to buy/lease new/used planes but the money is not made available. PIA is kinda black hole…sucking all the resources up with no tangible success.

Emirates is not yet available from Chicago. Etihad is. Having to get to JFK/Houston will add significant amount to the fare during peak season, especially considering the boatload of luggage Pakistani families are notorious for lugging along.

I have heard Qatar and Emirates may be starting here soon. This will definitely help, and competition will yield better fares.

Would you sacrifice amenities for better fare, or pay more for comfort?

amenities vs better service? i wouldn't care for in-flight entertainment but i would defineitely pay for better in-flight services [food, clean lavatories, seats with more legroom, type of aircraft and a smiling flight attendant :)] and services on the ground [baggage allowance, changes, less wait at the check-in etc].

Agr raste mein kch sikhtey hue jana hai tou PIA lo bhai

Sabaq aur bht kch sikhne ko milega :D

I have had the dubious pleasure once. A lady just handed me her wide eyed baby while she went to take a stroll around the plane. Literally, came out of nowhere, and handed me the baby to hold "for few minnnts". So, I did. He kept staring at me, and I stared right back awkwardly with a half smile.

Lol. It's kind of funny now.

But, I would want to avoid adventure. I find it extremely hard to fall asleep during any flight, regardless of how long it is. Crank-o-meter does not need a boost.

yes you have heard right, Emirates is going to start flight from Chicago. and whatever Emirates do Qatar is going to follow its lead. look at the last routs of emirates and Qatar. investing money in sports and stuff like that. Qatar is just walking on Emirates footsteps. Emirates does all the hard work and Qatar builds on their strategies.

As business rivals Emirates and Qatar is going neck to neck. Qatar is becoming one of the biggest threat for Emirates. And then off course we have Etihad too in the league business is getting tuff. But it’s just a matter of time when Emirates and Etihad will join hand and take the Aviation business to the next level.

if traveling alone and it's a big differance i would go for lower fare. but traveling wz family i will go for comfort...

Emirates my friend Emirates…:biggthumb:

jumpyb, how much do you get from Emirates in kickbacks? :halo:

Can we get Employee Discount? Por Favor… :hehe: Kidding. I’ve heard very good things about Emirates too.

Lolx I was talking abt PIA ki damn services :D

Actually turns out, Qatar beat Emirates to it.

Qatar operates Chicago now.

So far: Qatar, Etihad, Turkish (but doesn't fly to all cities in Pakistan).

ok, a side question:

what do you guys think of Saudi Arabian Airlines?

i've never flown Saudia. since they've started service from Toronto and i'm interested in doing 'Umra on my way to India in January.

i'm a Canadian Citizen, would i need a visa if i'm transiting thru Jeddah?

kickbacks… free tickets for me and my family… not to mention they pay my salary too and perks when traveling out for sports. :stuck_out_tongue:

too bad they don’t have discounts for my extended (GS) family, but can still try to get some.:smiley: