You make huldi (turmeric),
I make huldi,
Jaldi Jaldi (quickly)
you make achaar (pickles),
I make achaar.
Would you buy my achaar?
Nahi Yaar! (no dear)
I am sick of my own achaar
An economic alliance between Pak Bharat Bdesh Nepal and Bhutan will not succeed. Simply because these countries have pretty much the same strengths and weaknesses.
An economic alliance with Bharat cannot work towards a substantial advantage for Pakistan. Right-of-way for gas or oil pipelines probably is the only area of cooperation for now.
UAE, and Qatar on the other hand, offer something that compliments Pak- strengths. They have resources, but lack manpower. They have land-development skills, while we have land. They are well connected to West, and we can provide raw material and factories in Karachi and Gwader.
Dubai especially is a gem. Rulers of Dubai have been really smart to get rid of MAToo shackles and move on to serve the world. Tourists from the West just feel at home there. I wish Pakistanis could learn that art of tolerance from Dubai people.
p.s. I thought the thread on Ummah vs. Ammah was turning more into SARC thingy. So here is the new thread.
*Originally posted by antiobl: *
Here is the problem:
You make huldi (turmeric),
I make huldi,
Jaldi Jaldi (quickly)
you make achaar (pickles),
I make achaar.
Would you buy my achaar?
Nahi Yaar! (no dear)
I am sick of my own achaar
An economic alliance between Pak Bharat Bdesh Nepal and Bhutan will not succeed. Simply because these countries have pretty much the same strengths and weaknesses.
An economic alliance with Bharat cannot work towards a substantial advantage for Pakistan. Right-of-way for gas or oil pipelines probably is the only area of cooperation for now.
UAE, and Qatar on the other hand, offer something that compliments Pak- strengths. They have resources, but lack manpower. They have land-development skills, while we have land. They are well connected to West, and we can provide raw material and factories in Karachi and Gwader.
Dubai especially is a gem. Rulers of Dubai have been really smart to get rid of MAToo shackles and move on to serve the world. Tourists from the West just feel at home there. I wish Pakistanis could learn that art of tolerance from Dubai people.
p.s. I thought the thread on Ummah vs. Ammah was turning more into SARC thingy. So here is the new thread.
i agree with your observation of dubai......what a great combination of west and islam.......dubai is peaceful, modern and progessive with a lot of brand new infrastructure. one can find clubs and mosques side by side and yet there is no trouble....u can pretty much have every thing in dubai.....
OBL, do you mean to say that Germany and France and Brits had a diversity of strengths? Bhaijan easing trade restrictions help everyone involved regardless of weaknesses or strengths. For starters, we can hire Indian PhDs for much needed educational instructions. We can provide India with a lot of menial labor that we export to Dubai. These are just for the starters – then comes acchar with Entree.
Anti, there is something called ‘comparative advantage.’ What if our achaar is better than there’s.
By the way, don’t stick to such things only, why don’t you talk about automobile industry and textile industry. Just because we 'll be swept by the onslaught of cheaper cars if we start importing from China and India and the monoply of few people in Pakistan would end right there. On top of that, the truth is we need to expand our manufacturing base. Our small industry isn’t as strong as that of India. Besides, we know very well, importing from India ( ok, I am not saying that we should regardless of the quality 'cuz we have born the brunt in the past) would be much cheaper than importing lets say tea from all the way from Kenya kay jangalat.
India doesn’t need menial labor. It is the second most populated country in the world so it requiring menial labor wouldn’t make sense (and they have the same issues with literacy as we do, they are not that advanced as they market themselves to be).
Academic sharing and educational standardization for starters would help. Economic union in that region is a requirement though. Iran-India-Pakistan-China can collectively change that region. Pakistani MAtoos need to change their attitudes and think progress rather than associating themselves with middle east if they want the union to work.
Now here is where it gets sticky and reality sinks in. Pakistan is an ally of US on war on terror, so Pakistan joining Iran in a union would piss US off, same applies to India having a union with Iran would tick Israel off. Dont mean to sound like a pessismist /realist but sometimes the Islamist allegation of the west mingling in others business does make sense.
why restrict things to only a few countries. Trade in general brings more benefit than harm. So, trade with Timbuctoo if it makes sense to both of you.
On Pakistan-India trade, there are many fields that Pakistan can hold its fort. True, if trade between the two countries increases, some industries on both sides will be affected. (You may have read how popular Pakistani stalls in a recent trade fair in Delhi were).
Simple logic, if trade was freer, market size for Indian products could theoretically increase by about 12-15%, while for Pakistani products, it could increase by 600-700% Somebody should look at the math.
Sheikh Sahab, I don't think India worries too much about Israel's response. During Sadamm's reign, India bought oil from Iraq in spite of supposed restrictions and pressures from elsewhere
If this was the case, virtually no trade will take place between the US and Canada. Similar countries make for better trading partners for various reasons. They both have the same needs, same culture (i doubt pakistan would like to import sombreros from mexico or Gucci from Italy). Though they are similar countries, it doesn't mean that they both have exact same strenghts aswell. Thats not to say that trade with UAE or Qatar is not a good idea. Its just that trading with India isn't a bad idea either.
Anti, that was by the by since you were obsessed with that example. I did mention the textile and automobile sector as well.
Anyhow, it will be nice if you can list as to what are those commodoties in which we can have trade with Qatar and Dubai. As per my limited understanding of the issue at hand, it is kashmir conflict that hinders progress of SAARC and the termoil in Afghanistan that is an obstacle in reaching out to the Central Asians or providing them with a corridor.
As things stand now, there is just 5% trade that takes place within the region where as illegal trade between Pakistan and India ammounts to millions of dollars. Now, won't it be better for the governments to rectify that and import items (whether its the 'crack cream' for the cracked heals :p or the paan parag) directly rather than getting the same items "made in India' ones from Dubai or Afghanistan.
Waisay bhee, Pakistan has traditionally looked towards the ASEAN, SAARC and ECO region. Thats another thing that we have not been very successful. As for your argument regarding having a free port like Dubai in Pakistan, who knows Gawadar might turn out to be one. They have ruined karachi already and sadly ourpeople are too politically charged and ideologically and religioulsy driven to welcome any such move that easily.