You know you're from Karachi when...

You know you’re from Karachi when…

1. You get shocked when someone stops at a yellow light
  2. You never really know what to say when someone asks you what there is to see in Karachi
  3. You give “missed calls”
  4. You’ve never really seen a tourist
  5. Its December and you attend 5 mehndis/shaadis in one night and end up meeting the same people at each of them
  6. You use the phrases “whats the scene?” “scene on hai” or “whose she sceening with?”
  7. You still have some of Everest Videos movies and dont plan to return them
  8. You’ve met a Parsi
  9. You’ve given an exam at Regent Plaza
  10. You feel you never have to wait in line if you are with “lay-diss” (ladies)
  11. You’ve bought a dvd of a movie that hasnt even been released yet
  12. You actually go “out for coffee”
  13. You used to go for tutions even though didnt need them
  14. You say that you really like that restaurant/shop and someone says “oh yea, my family owns that”
  15. You catagorize people as “burgers” or “melas”
  16. You roll down your car window and you can actually touch the car next to you
  17. You go by landmarks not street names
  18. Your only argument in the Lahore/Karachi debate is “well we have a beach”
  19. You own either a Corolla or a Civic
  20. You never realized that North Nazimabad was actually in the North
  21. You never have dinner before 1am in shaadi season
  22. You’ve always wondered what “khayaban” meant
  23. You know the “telefun” number by heart even though you dont know what “telefun” is/does
  24. You blame everything on K.E.S.C
  25. Your school gets closed when it rains

Zobia Again for FB:wink:

Re: You know you’re from Karachi when…

1. When you can actually differentiate between a sheermaal and taf’taan . Because not everything is Nan or Pitta bread .

2. when you got more choices on your breakfast table for example qeema ,paraths and nehari rather then simply going for paajay kay pa’aay with a big laassi ka Glass .

3. when you got a better urdu/english vocabulary and accent .

4. when you can use the words ‘ Daa’aain or baa’aain ‘ rather then blooming it as ‘ saajay and kabay .

5. when asked for directions , were told exactly how long ( in minutes) it might take you to reach your destination instead of some one saying it like ‘ eethay taahlay hee hai baaah’een ‘.

31 . Last but not least , if you are from Karachi , you are smart enough to find it out by yourself . A FOB aint required to type it on GS for tellin ya ’ hey matey u k now what U r from karachi’ .

Ask99: no hard feelings mate! :wink:

These comment clearly show being posted from a person with less functional cerebellum. Nothing better to say?

Re: You know you're from Karachi when...

Najim , Thank you for this enlightenment and insight , come again mate !

indeed ! that's what exactly i felt when i read this thread ! Ask 99 , if she is more then willing to remind us that we belong to karachi, could say or should post positive things about karachi as well .

so when ya joke about Karachi and its yokes , its all fair innit ?

And if one of us reply or mock ya in friendly manner as i did , u mark him up for philistinism. nice one mate !

it's called meeThaa meeThaa hup hup, kaRwa kaRwa thoo thoo...

the very same contents were once posted in Joke forum and my reply was taken very seriously by the mod... so it was all OKAY when you mock someone but a reply to that mocking is a NO NO by reminding that it was a joke forum... forgetting that I was also posting in the very forum:)

xcuse me ali bhai.
khi ppl do have sense of humor.

or do u praise MQM? :2guns:

Hum be Admi hain Tumharay Jaysay
Jo tum karoon gay woh hum karain gay !

I dont praise or cheer any goons !

but couple of comments made in thread ( Read post no 1) were edgeless, insensitive, obtuse and pointless .

I stand for my home town as it is my duty to tell people where the ’ friendly banter line’ ends and ‘taking mickey line’ starts.

y u have even doubt the existence of yellow light, or wat.

come on- traffic is almeya of entire pakistan. but its shameless how VVIPz are treated n how normal behave in supposedly the most urban city considered.

This is rude, shows exactly how many 'functional cerebellum' were burnt while you type it,

Aliyish,
very well said bud ;-)

1. You are from Karachi iff you have some brain :-)

I am from Karachi, and nothing sounds familiar except no. 19. :konfused:

Bachay ! see this

well I just posted some six arguments and I was called dodo , sugar coated in that ' less functional cerebellum' expression .

how about

u have brain IFF u r from KHI :biggthumb

its not her mistake. she didnt read all of them.

thats me point kid :) no point cuttin it from some dimwit website and just pasting it on Gs as ya got some nice and nasty ( read mephitic) urge to mock karachi people!

for heaven sake be little creative , when you talk about visionary people like Us !

well y u wana prove?

cut that crap, read from **26-32 **:smiley:

That's way off man!

^ :cb: u have to agree with 26-32 if ya from KHI