You Know Your Islam Is In Trouble When...

YOU KNOW YOUR ISLAM IS IN TROUBLE WHEN?

By Taha Ghaznavi

• the last thing you learnt about Islam, the Quran, or Jihad was from CNN
  • all your conversations with your friends have to do with guys/girls, or movies, or guys/girls in movies
  • you spend more nights at the club during Ramadan than at a Masjid
  • you can’t remember the last time you asked someone a question about something you didn’t understand in Islam
  • you find time to watch three movies a week but find yourself too busy to pray Salah regularly
  • that Quran translation you were given last 'Eid is still sitting on the top shelf of your bookrack
  • the ‘inner voice’ you hear when you are in complete silence sounds surprisingly similar to the latest hip-hop song you heard
  • you don’t know any people who you can say Salaams to without feeling embarrassed
  • the feeling that God is watching you in all that you do is never more than a passing thought
  • you are available to receive phone calls at 2 a.m.
  • your clothes and hair smell of cigarettes on Sunday mornings even though you don’t smoke
  • knowing something is right or wrong and feeling guilty about it does not effect whether you actually do it or not
  • you gave hope of ever entering Paradise because you don’t feel you deserve it after ‘all that I have done’
  • when you want something in your life you fantasize about it and say “I wish!”
  • you can’t figure out why you are never truly happy deep in your heart and why nothing good in your life ever seems to last (why does it always have to end?)
  • the happiest day of your life so far was on a Christmas, Valentine, or a dance
  • you are loneliest when you are sad or when something bad has happened to you (where did all my friends go?)
  • you don’t think of the Prophet at least once a day
  • when you hear of Muslims dying somewhere in the world, you consider it part of ‘politics’ which you have nothing to do with
  • your ‘best friend’ is a person of the opposite gender yet not your husband or wife
  • you have no motivation to change things in your life
  • when your faults are pointed out to you, you reply “This is who I am, for better or for worse!”
  • listening to the Quran does not make you feel guilty
  • you are actually flattered when people on the street stare or ask you out
  • you friends never object to any of your bad habits or behaviours and vice versa
  • you don’t care whether you go to heaven or hell since no one can really be sure about these things
  • to you, Islam is just another ‘organized institutionalized religion’
  • you actually agreed with everything your philosophy professor taught in class
  • you generally feel crappy and often find yourself telling people that
  • you consider and justify your sins as ‘a part of who I am’
  • you want to travel around the world someday but Makkah is not one of your planned stops
  • your parents hate you and have said so to you
  • you read the horoscopes yet have never performed Salat-ul-Istikharah
  • you have never felt like falling down on your face and crying to Allah
  • you look down upon people who are more practicing than yourself as ‘just mullahs and molvis’
    *]your past bad experiences with some Muslims prevent you from getting closer to Islam and other Muslims

Re: You Know Your Islam Is In Trouble When...

Ok so how does that imply that one's religion is in trouble?
Since hwen did staying up at 2 AM mean that one is not religious?
One can get the smell of smoke from places other than bars and clubs.

its one minute to two, I am going to hit the bed lest the bell rings and my Islam gets in trouble....

good night all and be good.
May God bless us all and direct us to the righteous path, Ameen.

it was good...overall...except the 2 a.m part

good post Br. STP... JizakAllah...

^ JazakAllah khair sister for always giving kind words of encouragement.

@ Topic. Please don't hit me for that 2:00 am one and few others which might not be applicable in all cases. I was also wondering in which perspective the writer might have put it, but as I was quoting the whole article (which I found reasonable overall), I didn't want to omit myself any of his words.

By remaining awake till 2:00 am he might have meant that you are not able to wake up for "fajr" prayers if you sleep so late, as I have seen most cases like that (Allah knows BEST)

^Salam brother STP,

I feel from the context i am also deriving that you are waiting for call at 2am from boyfriend/girlfriend just assuming here. Ab in cheezon ka experience he to keh raha hoon.LOL.

Re: You Know Your Islam Is In Trouble When…

Walaikum Assalam Brother SlaveofAllah.

Is it because all the other members in their family have gone to sleep at that time and no one might check them at 2:00 am.:confused:

Salam STP,

Yes exactly thats what i mean. All have slept aur ladki aur ladka chori chori chupke chupke baat kar rahein hain.

personally, when people fight over religion giving it their personal or wrong learnt edicts, that is of serious concern about the faith being manipulated, wrongfully construed, and misrepresented.

Agreed with Dushwari sister.

Walaikum Assalam SoA,

Why do they put themselves in so much trouble. Get married and legalize the chori chupke batein at 2:00 am.:D

^Salam bro STP,

No more comments LOL.

I didn't mean to be condescending towards that 2:00 am statement. I just don't think that it jeopardizes your imaan or Islaam in anyway.
However, this restriction does have some merits. If you sleep early, you are bound to get up early and in that way or in doing so, its easier to keep track of your namaz timings as well as it connotes a healthier life style.

Very thought provoking. Since it is a tabular list it has to be correct. Also "Taha Ghaznavi" sounds like a very religious name so the list is very islamic indeed.

Jazak allah

you can't figure out why you are never truly happy deep in your heart and why nothing good in your life ever seems to last (why does it always have to end?)

^ ^ i feel like this alot, guess my islam is in trouble 2!!! In fact i acyually feel ike islam is slipping away 4rm me, and i dont want it 2, its wrong but i feel so angry with god, astagfarullah
my family has been goin thru hell for ages and as times go on it gets worst, we all pray 5 times a day, and they all have great faith in allah, which is probably why we got this far,
But i personally just feel so angry , ive just heard more bad news, which has been so close to shattering my faith :( :( :( :(

^ Sister, the best among us were the Prophets and the toughest time in every second of life was faced by the same people.

Please pray to Allah for forgiveness and making it easy for you to go through such times. Allah says in the Quran " Har mushkil ke baad asaani hai."

Also we have no idea about the rewards Allah (swt) has kept for us in the life hereafter, if we remain patient and thankful in difficult times.

The key is to remain thankful because when we thank Allah, HE gives us more blessings, but when we are not thankful we only do our own loss. IF we spit towards the sky, it would fall back to our face.

Allah has promised in the Quran that he would TEST us, and without that he wouldn't give us Heaven.

So let us remain thankful to Allah and try our level best, because whatever happens to us in life is in our best interest because Allah knows and our mental capabilities are too limited to understand the wisdom behind Allah's decisions

May Allah bless you and your family with all the blessings of this life and hereafter.

But then its not chori chupke baatein, it's just plain ol boring baatein :D

my duas 4 u and ur family tweety_pie. Inshallah everything will eventually be ok... just remain steadfast... u shud also try and read namaz-e-hajat... this is what i turn to in times of stress... also, never give up on the power of dua... Allah tumhe aur tumhari family ki haajatoun door kare, Amin.

Wassalam

Re: You Know Your Islam Is In Trouble When…

^ Agreed. Here is a dua that did wonders for me in similar situations.

Anas reported that the Prophet, peace be upon him, used to supplicate,

O Allah, there is no ease except what You make easy, and you alone can turn a difficulty into ease.”

(Ibn As-sinni)

Source: Fiqh-us-Sunnah, Volume 4, #131

Here it is in arabic with more information

Click:

http://www.makedua.com/display_dua.php?sectionid=40

Make it interesting with topics that your spouse likes the most. :–]

Don't worry.

Time will pass. I know it's easy for me to say because I'm not in your situation but remember that every difficulty contains the seed of greater or equivalent benefit.

Insha-Allah this time will pass quickly and good times will come to you and your family again very soon.

I'll keep you in my dua's Insha-Allah. May Allah make it easy for you.