You Don't Want To Get Sick in Pakistan

The hospitals are awful.
Even most basic tests may not be available except in 3-4 big cities like Lhr/Krachi/Pindi.
The hospital staff have absolutely no idea of infection control or asepsis.
While attending to my grandfather, i saw a child brought in unconcious after accident. She lied on a stretcher for like 1/2 hour before anybody attended to her.

Share your “horror” stories of Pakistani hospitals.

Re: You Don't Want To Get Sick in Pakistan

I have a story similar to yours, an accident victim brought in, a young guy, laid on the stretcher unconscious, badly hurt, moaning in pain, and noone attending to him. It's been close to 9 years and the memory still haunts me to this day. Very depressing!!!

you are talking about hospitals icono bhai?

In Pakistan, I have seen people not taking accident or shooting victims to hospitals due to the fear of Police.

I do agree with you that our hospitals staff needs to be given lessons on how to attend the patients, to be quick and efficient especially in the emergency room and the cleanines/hygiene.

BUT What i dont agree with you is what i quoted of your post. We do have most of tests covered here especially in the big cities you mentioned. I don't know which hospitals/clinices you have been going to?!? or what tests you are calling "basic"?!?....

Also, guys dont just base your opinion of our hospitals on what you hear or what you experience one time. Ofcourse like i said before the hospital situations here are not that good but they have improved over time. I remember having to wait 5-6 hours at Scarborough hospital for an emergency where i was in such severe pain that i was literally crying the whole time. I also remember having to wait for months to get an appointment with the doctor but mine wasnt a major case but my sister had a major issue but she was still made to wait for months for an appoinment. Now what is that?. So it happens abroad too. But i still think Canada is the best place to live in this world but ofcourse no place is perfect.

Re: You Don’t Want To Get Sick in Pakistan

agar aap bara aadmi ho to her koii aap ko pehley attend karey gaa and aap barey hospital mein bhi jaa saktey ho. :chai:
And rest aam awaam ke liye koii acha haal nahi ALLAH dushman ko bhi pak mein beemar naa karey ameen.

Sialkot is one of major cities of Pakistan. I visited a person there who was being treated for DKA. They had not done HCO3 level. On asking i was told that it was not available anywhere in Sialkot. One of my frendz who is a physician too, went to various labs and was confirmed that its not done in any Lab in Sialkot.

My grandfather was admitted in a big privae hospital in Gujranwala, when i asked the nurse to remove his canula, i was shocked that she sent the housekeeping with a swab to remove canula. Turns out that it was the usual practice that safai wali removes the canula!

Then once my granpa's urine bag was blocked, as i enterd the room i found the "chora" of the ward with a "tinka" of Jharoo was poking the urine bag.

So what are we trying to do or prove here with this sharing of horror stories? Pakistan is a third world country and has its share of problems in the healthcare system like any other third world country. Pakistan is also a vastly illiterate country and will take decades to come up to living standards that most of the guppies enjoy in the West.

What is the news here? Also, what is a chora?

Scratch there is lot of disparity in health care vs other sectors in Pakistan.

You can get all brands of mobile phones, Laptops, eat everykind of food prepared in the world, live in lavish houses in Pakistan, but when it comes to healthcare its very very difficult to find a good hospital and charges in those hospitals are a lot compared to services they provide.

OK maybe it is not done in Sialkot but you mentioned lahore n other cities too saying even most basic tests are not done there?!?. Also, may i ask if this happened recently @ sialkot?.

And as for rest of your post, I already said i agree with you about the treatment @ the hospitals.

Re: You Don’t Want To Get Sick in Pakistan

^:smack:
I said “except” 3-4 major cities.

^ ok...i must have read it wrong than! so argument solved :D. thanx :).

So where does the rich person go? Is there a hospital for rich people?

Yes there are, it depends which city u are in :)

sometimes, the rich person often flies away from home as well.. but there are some good hospitals there for sure.. The problem is that drugs/medications are normally not by standard and it's a significant issue for sure.

Rule no. 1 for health care in Pakistan is ... money speaks ... rather it yellsssss...

^ yes, that and "jhaaRhing" one's english does the trick :(

Is HCO3 level a basic test? (I don't know). BTW, what do you think should be done and who do you think should take an action so these services become available? Are there many diseases which requires such tests like HCO3?

^HCO3 is a very basic test and is very essential in treatment of newly discovered typeI diabetes complicated by acidosis (DKA). Now DKA is life threatening if not properly treated. Moreover "any" severly sick person will have abnormal "HCO3" that needs to be corrected.

The responsibility surely lies with the government, for it is responsible for maintaining standards of care in all hospitals governemnt or private.

I don't think even the rich get the good care or the appropriate care in Pakistan. Bcoz afterall most peopel trained in Pakistani system do not know how to do it. I don't think i will like to be in any hospital in Pakistan. The only exception i have "heard" is Agha Khan but do not have the first hand experience of it.

Agha Khan is definitely an exception... I have been to the hospital...

secondly, Shaukat Khanam Memorial Cancer hospital is very very very high class.... I have some relative working in there... and from the first hand knowledge I have, it's by far the most articulate hospital