Yasmeen Ghauri--Indian or Pakistani?

I have been to her sites. Some say she is from Pakistan and some say she is from India. They also have articles that say she is from Pakistan. And some articles say she is from India. Does anyone know about this?

She is Pakistani and from Canada though. I heard her dad was a imam of a local mosque. But did you see what she wears.. So what if she's a supermodel, and sure she may look hot but I don't take her as a muslim. You see what she wears! bras, bikini's etc. Well that's why probably people take her as a Indian but she isn't.

peoples champ
no wayyyyyy??? imam at a local mosque? wow.
i heard it was real hard for him too, the fact that his daughter became some harami supermodel. astaghferullah. i also heard that the dad and her had a pretty rough argument (a very valid reason) and the two didn't talk for quite a while. i think she's pakistani as well though. ppl champ, yeah i don't consider her muslim either man. don't you hate it when people who publicly do something against islam, then claim they are muslim??? i.e. shahrukh khan, yasmeen ghauri, mike tyson, and the list goes on

011.HUD.112 Therefore stand firm (in the
straight Path) as thou art commanded,- thou
and those who with thee turn (unto God); and
transgress not (from the Path): for He seeth
well all that ye do.

btw hey ppls champ you're from the peg! me too. small world.

DEAR SLAMAN
this is some thing interesting
can you give me any site with some information about her every where i go they give some xxx crap

it really is surprisding for me

->looking forward for your reply

well i heard she is pakistani and her dad is mulla but what i heard is they live in chicgo or something and when her dad found out about her he kicked her out they don't live togther no more
do you know the story about how her dad found out he went to the local mall and in mall he saw her half naked pic he went home told her to either quit modling or leave my house anyways this is the story that i heard might be wrong
takecare nice topic by the way

Dil Dil pakistan

some more chunk of info on Yasmin: its true that her father WAS an imam in a muslim community in Canada and when words were out that she's become a model, her father was forced to step down and was virtually thrown out by social boycott. The reason was that daughter of imam as super model would lead the new generation to the same path. I would definitely not argue about it!! This is really a shame for a Muslim community...

Yasmin....
Her Mom is German....Father originally from Karachi......She Has been raised by her German mom.....

Pakistani/Canadian.

Yasmeen Ghauri is but one example where the children's behavior has brought disgrace & ruin to the family. ALl acrooss the US, the first generation of US who were raisedon Western values are a cause of domestic turmoil and chaos across DESI america....

It is so bad that we are seeing a reverse migration of desi professionals as the children start hitting the pre-teens.....

KK:

Its a shame that it happened but what is even more shameful is that the community overthrew the imam. In forcing the imam to resign, they showed their own lack of knowledge and heights of ignorance because he's not the one promoting her daughter to flaunt her "stuff." He condoned it and from what I have read here, disowned her also. Conclusion? He did his duty by kicking her daughter out and condoning her profession. He shouldn;t be punished for her daughter's sins.

In fact, the very people who forced him to resign probably get a kick out of watching his daughter perform in their own homes!

To me it is not a shame for any Muslim that Yasmeen Ghauri is a model.

Her Mom is German and she married to her Pakistani father while he was living in Germany. Her father and mom got divorced when Yasmeen was a kid. Although her mother blamed her father for the divorce but it is again he says, she says thing. Who ever was responsible for the divorce, but the kid was raised in a non-Muslim way. Her mom raised Yasmeen. At the age of sixteen, she started modeling. Her hair dresser guy brought her into the modeling and he was also her manager later on. In the beginning he managed her photo sessions in his hair saloon and later on he introduced her to the modeling world.
I would not take it hard because she is a daughter of a Muslim father. Her father is a Muslim but her mom was/is a non-Muslim. And it is a big lesson for those who think that inter-religious marriages are okay.

I have a Canadian friend who went to an iftar where Yasmeen was.
She met and spoke to Yasmeen and yes…she did fast and yes she did pray.

She said her father found out by looking in a magazine and seeing one of her layouts where she was ½ naked.

ONe of the community guys loved to take photo...and started taking photos of her from 8th grade...and she always was beautiful.

oh and yes she did look gorgeous in person also.

[This message has been edited by kashmirigirl (edited April 21, 1999).]

Ah this is more my type of a discussion. Yasmeen Ghauri hmmm. Uski jitni bhi tareef karo kum hai. Shaan of all desis. To break into one of the toughest professions in the world and not only that but to reach the height of that profession, modelling.

Dard

Now i really believe pakistan can make ** Ghauri missiles **..... :)

i think she brings down the morality that Islam teaches and thus im not proud 'o her!

shes pretty kool though :)....hmmm....double standard :)

MR

The bottom line is if her father doesn't need her... she'll always have a home with me ;)

From what I have come to know about Christianity modesty of dress is equally appreciated though no hijab is required...does that mean that Cindy Crawford and the others have equally disgraced their respective communities?

Are you seriously trying to suggest that Cindy Crawford attempts to dress in a manner that complies with Christian values? Is there another new version of the bible out in print that I haven't heard about? The Supermodel's Testament maybe?

I have not met a single Christian who is proud of Cindy Crawford and other bikini type models as a MODEL Christians. But look we Muslims are? Shame on US if we have some........
I have met almost ten different sections of Christians (Different schools of thought of Christianity). I did not find any one of them favoring or promoting this type of activities in the society and religion. But we, because, are liberal and we want to create a liberal image in this western world that is why we need to tell the western world, hey people look, how much we as Muslims are proud of this supper model? All I would say it is just a shameless try.
If some one personally is a admirer of Yasmeen, that is his/her action and choice, no problem at all.
If Yasmeen is doing this modeling, that is her own choice. In my points of view, that is particularly her personal choice to spend her life. Her personal choice would not be my problem unless some one tries to justify her actions Islamic. Justifying this type of action in Religion is just lame struggles.