Yasir Hameed - little known fact

Since his 2 centuries burst on the scene against BD in Karachi 1st test, his following scores have been like this

23, 18, 39, 18, 16, 20, 21, 17

Shall was assume another Younis Khan in the making?

Too much talent, getting great starts but not captalizing on it.

I take it as a good sign. Atleast he is not follwing the trend of other Pakistani batsmen. He is actually staying on the crease. He can only get better now..He has a potential.

Younis Khan I believe is a test player. He should have been included in the test squad. I'm not sure abotu ODI. I was never a big fan of him.

Give him some time...he certainly has the potential to be a great player. But I don't know about his Test Match abilites. He is an aggressive batsmen who likes to go after the bowlers. I think he should reserved for just the ODI's, and in tests, should be replaced by Asim Kamal...But Yaasir is certainly a great player!

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *
I take it as a good sign. Atleast he is not follwing the trend of other Pakistani batsmen. He is actually staying on the crease. He can only get better now..He has a potential.

Younis Khan I believe is a test player. He should have been included in the test squad. I'm not sure abotu ODI. I was never a big fan of him.

Sherry jee...aap kahaan see aay gaye? :) Welcome bak to KK.

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *

wut exactly r u tryin to say......cud u please elaborate... which trend he is not following? and then u said he is stayin on crease....well, most of the times he got out pretty quick.... in fact that is his biggest problem that he loses the patience and cant stay longer on crease....

*Originally posted by yaasir: *
Give him some time...he certainly has the potential to be a great player. But I don't know about his Test Match abilites. He is an aggressive batsmen who likes to go after the bowlers. I think he should reserved for just the ODI's, and in tests, should be replaced by Asim Kamal...But Yaasir is certainly a great player!

You are just saying that because youre his ham-naam!!

j/k, I think he will do great wonders for the team in the future!

Umair, I never realized about Yassir's scores, but most of those were test scores I think. It is tough to judge him on that considering it was his first test against a good side and on top of that he is obviously better suited to ODI's. But even those scores are very impressive for a young Pakistani batsman who is learning the international game. I would hate to see what Hafeez had in his last 5 or 6 innings before departure, you can say the same about a lot of our young batsmen. Even include Yunis Khan in that and he is'nt even a young guy.

he just needs to be told to hold his shots....
he never seems to have had enuff of the FOURS....
all the coach needs to do is to tell him that in a test, one FOUR in an over is more than enuff.... u dont have to hit all the 6 balls for a FOUR....
and that will solve all the problems yasir has....

A very good point raised by Umair. Looking at the way he performed, he will have to radically change his approach otherwise he will be a big flop outside Pakistan speicially on fast and bouncy tracks. A bowler like Kallis hit him twice on Pakistani tracks. Yasir took his eyes off the ball and then in trying to prove a point hooked him straight where the fielder was standing. At this level he should have known where the fielder was. It wsnt a top edge Yasir played that shot and I have no idea of what he was thinking or trying to do. I mean he should have known that unless a miracle happens and a top edge falls safe that ball if connected was going to the fielder.

Now imagine what bowlers like Ntini, Bret Lee, Shane Bond and many other can do when Yasir plays outside Pakistan say in Australia or even England. He needs to concentrate a lot harder and keep his eye on the ball. If he keeps taking his eyes off like he did yesterday he will end up in a lot worse condition then Gary Kirsten.

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
A very good point raised by Umair. Looking at the way he performed, he will have to radically change his approach otherwise he will be a big flop outside Pakistan speicially on fast and bouncy tracks. A bowler like Kallis hit him twice on Pakistani tracks. Yasir took his eyes off the ball and then in trying to prove a point hooked him straight where the fielder was standing. At this level he should have known where the fielder was. It wsnt a top edge Yasir played that shot and I have no idea of what he was thinking or trying to do. I mean he should have known that unless a miracle happens and a top edge falls safe that ball if connected was going to the fielder.

Now imagine what bowlers like Ntini, Bret Lee, Shane Bond and many other can do when Yasir plays outside Pakistan say in Australia or even England. He needs to concentrate a lot harder and keep his eye on the ball. If he keeps taking his eyes off like he did yesterday he will end up in a lot worse condition then Gary Kirsten.

Yassir got out while hooking on Nitini's delievery.

Finally people noticed that the star we saw against BD couldn't do much in tests against SA. His ODI against SA is 40.xx in recent series but in tests he barely averaged 24 which is not good at all. Also, this was on home soil, we'll have to watch him when he goes out of sub-continent.

Thats one of the reason I said in the thread about Pakistan as "Cricket Power", that we are not there yet. Many new players have to prove themselves on different soils.

Yaasir is a class act. Unlike Hameed he isn't a flat track bully and has ability to hit any shot in the book. He just needs to curb his aggression a bit and learn to build his innings.

You can tell a quality player by the ease with which he plays the bowler and Yaasir always looks in command. Sometimes it's better to back your own eyes than the stats and as the guy who backed, Sami, Shoiab Malik and kaneria to come good I would say you take my advice and back this lad as well. Form is temporary, class is permanent.

Mr Star-Spotter Xtreme

Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Yaasir is a class act. Unlike **Hameed
* he isn't a flat track bully and has ability to hit any shot in the book. He just needs to curb his aggression a bit and learn to build his innings.....

I think you meant "Hafeez". I don't think he is bully at all, he was simply able to keep his wicket even if the pitch was "batting friendly".... meaning he plays defensive even if pitch is batsmen friendly and if pitch goes bowler friendly or not-so-flat he hardly crosses 25 (which would be too much for him I guess).

Yes I was talking about Hafeez. He scored a century against BD but I don't think he could step up a level. I think Hameed can. Yousuf Youhanna also had an inconsistent early record but in the end his class came through. It will be similar for Hameed if we back him and he's willing to learn from his mistakes.

Yasir Hameed is anything but a "class act"
He looks like a talented bloke who can play his shots like Nazir, but he was beaten in all his dissmissal.
In test cricket, one should have the know how to when to play your shots and when to just leave the deliveries.
Before 2nd inning, he was dismissed thrice from his unnecessary shots.

Well Umair, it's a matter of judgement or opinion here. I think he will go on to be a good player maybe you don't.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Well Umair, it's a matter of judgement or opinion here. I think he will go on to be a good player maybe you don't.

I respect your opinion but everyone thought Imran Nazir would be the next big thing.
Plus he still has time to improve, he has a bright future ahead of him.

Well no one claimed he was the finished article, but the ingredients are there. Saeed Anwar got dropped a few times before cementing his place as one our greatest ever openers. Sometimes you just have to look at a player and decide whether he's got what it takes or not. After that it's up to them.

Hey guys, calm down... ok!!
yasir hameed is a gr8 player, he has shown that in the odi, and he was just unlucky against s.a. in the test... allthough i think he will became the best player in the world... in Odi`s he doesnt give his wickets so early.. in some occasion... but guys... look at this..he can open well..he can bat well at #3... so wat do u guys want from him, he cant make century in each match..so...!! Javed Miandad will surely make Hameed a very good player and he can be Pakistans Match winner... And if we look at our team now..

Openers :Taufeeq and Imran Farhat... They can be very dangerous for the bowlers... I know some of u guys may think that Taufeeq is a bit slow in ODI, but InshaAllah he will became the next Saeed Anwar, And opening with Imran Farhat, Two lefties... That can be crusial for the opening bowlers.. good sign... hope they make opening like our gr8 player Saeed Anwar and Amir Sohail...

Midle orders: Yasir hameed, Yousuf Youhan, Asim Kamal, (Wicket keeper ? )....... if some of the middle orders get out then we have some other who can take control... and thats a good sign for Pakistan too!!

All rounders : Shoaib Malik, Razzler... They both can get some very quick runs and have some good bowling...

Tailenders : Shoaib Akhtar, Sami, Kaneria, Shabbir, Gul
Shoaib can hit very hard, Sami can play very defensiv and Shabbir can also hit the ball and take some quick runs....

yeh bhi kisi ki parchi per to nahi aaya;)