Yasir Hameed - Is he worth?/You Got your Answer! (Merged)

*Originally posted by saby: *
Captain1 bhai, i m merging this thread with Degas's Yasir Hameed thread :D. Wahan zyada suit karega.

chorro yaar, alag hee rehnay dete :D

^ yaar woh uss ko answer nai kerna thaa Degas ko. Thread title kaisa hai :blush:

On a seriuos note, Yasir Hameed was sublime today in his innings. The way he smacked Brett Lee all over was a sight to behold. He is a must in our team.

Definitely, the way he handled Brett Lee was something I wanna watch (I only read in comments :bummer: ) . Nobody should rule him out, :insha: he will be a part of our team for a longer time.

The title is :cool:

If any of you who are against Yasir, I would like you guys to compare De Silva and Hameed's Drives.

The guy is AMAZING. Mark my words he will be our 2nd Anwar and will be far better than anwar. He is just too young and need's time in the team and he will be all fine ....

-Salman

^Better than Anwer. Come on dawg.
If Yassir can be 1/2 the player Anwer was, he will serve Pakistani cricket immeasurably.
To me Anwer is an all time great. For that small amount of time he was at his peak, I don't think there was a better batsman in the world. He's a lot like a batting version of Waqar Yunis in that sense. Anwer played well when the going was tough - from the famous 194 in front of 100,000 screaming Calcuttites to his last century in the World Cup against India- thats a true measure of a great player.

Re: Yasir Hameed - Is he worth

*Originally posted by Degas: *
Yasir Hameed may have had success in few domestic series but to me hes not a player of international calibre.. the way he was playing Australia was evident that he lacks skills to play international cricket.. he seems to be an hard working player who has improved his game but he has no natural talent that is necessary for any international player.. he seems at odd with out going balls.. hes too concious when playing .. I think Taufeeq Umer was much better choice than Yasir for opening Pakistani side..

Someone should tell Taufiq Umar to do us all a favor and give up cricket. The guy is'nt a bad batsman he's a terrible one. Remember the Test Series against India? How can you get out to the same way over and over again... I mean was he not watching the tape of the last match or something. Just terrible cricket.

*Originally posted by elahi: *
If Yassir can be 1/2 the player Anwer was, he will serve Pakistani cricket immeasurably.
To me Anwer is an all time great. For that small amount of time he was at his peak, I don't think there was a better batsman in the world. He's a lot like a batting version of Waqar Yunis in that sense. Anwer played well when the going was tough - from the famous 194 in front of 100,000 screaming Calcuttites to his last century in the World Cup against India- thats a true measure of a great player.

Was that 195 in his first 50 ODIs? How many games did Saeed Anwar took to score 1000 runs? waiting for all guns to point at me :D come on now, why do we have to compare one batsman to the previous great? Yasir Hameed is great in his own place, Saeed Anwar was great in his own time and place, period.

yasir hameed scored these 47 runs just as a chapaiR to all those who think he is no good....

so now in two games he averages 32 against australia....
(that was just for those of u who love to see averages)

*Originally posted by Captain1: *

Was that 195 in his first 50 ODIs? How many games did Saeed Anwar took to score 1000 runs? waiting for all guns to point at me :D come on now, why do we have to compare one batsman to the previous great? Yasir Hameed is great in his own place, Saeed Anwar was great in his own time and place, period.

fair enough.......
As for the stats, I got no clue, and I sure as hell am not looking that shyte up.

well guys, lets make one thing clear...what are we saying here?? are we saying that he is "damn good" or are we saying that he is a "descent opener"??

i think that he is descent and we shouldnt try to put him on top by saying that he is the best...its just the start of his career...lets see how he moves along..

and as for comments like that inzi hasnt scored a 100 against australia is just so lame...scoring a 100 isnt the only criteria...and besides, lets now judge ourselves to australians only...they may be no. 1 at the moment, but that doesnt mean that if we score just 50 against them means that we are good....look at yoyo and inzi's innings yesterday...they gave the partnership when it was required...altough i do feel that yoyo threw away his wicket for nothing..

so does scoring 47 against australia makes hameed the best opener for pakistan??? u be the judge of it...

*Originally posted by knightofhearts: *

so does scoring 47 against australia makes hameed the best opener for pakistan??? u be the judge of it...

in one match he scored 17 and u said he wasnt good....

now in the second match he scores 47, so u shud say he is the best....

*Originally posted by elahi: *

*That was in Chennai not in Calcutta ..... and even thoght the stadium was packed but it was nowhere close to 100000 spectators !!!! But nevertheless what a unique innings *

when did i say that he is the best???

*Originally posted by armughal: *

in one match he scored 17 and u said he wasnt good....

now in the second match he scores 47, so u shud say he is the best....