Yar yeh kya bakwas hay?????

Why has ICC shifted its headquarters to Dubai (of all places) ?

SHOIB AKHTAR must use his influence et THE DANCE in order to make our parosis review their decision…

few questions better left unanswered :hoonh:

I wonder if the topic of Pakistan’s isolation was discussed at the ICC meeting in Dubai yesterday?

Perhaps. Maybe not in as much detail as Shoaib Malik would have liked. The greater concern might have been the relocation of Champions Trophy (to whenever or wherever. Or taking Ehsan Mani's comments under supervision) and the possible dates for this tournament since it is clashing with the major India/Australia series.

Even if ICC had put it out there to address it in their meeting, I doubt it had gotten a major response from the other teams (the ones who refused to tour).

Re: Yar yeh kya bakwas hay?????

Breaking news....

The ICC's CEO Haroon Lorragat has convinced the new PCB patron-in-chief Asif Zardari that the Champions trophy slated to take place in Pakistan was in fact the field hockey Champions Trophy and not cricket. Zardari agreed.

Our sources tell us that Lorragat made an under the table deal with Mr. 10% where Zardari will be making 10% of all of ICC's earnings in 2008.

… also consider playing Ireland again.

The murder of Pakistan cricket, a fan writes

I read that and was wanting to comment on it. Glad you posted.

One of the points that is written also relates to what you have said before about Pakistan playing their last 5-test series in 1992, and the interest/money and other variables have dwindled since then. The two main reasons which are mentioned that have been the weakest links for Pakistan, one I would say is largely due to PCB’s reluctance of wanting to arrange more ODI’s - taking that World Cup victory of 1992 and transforming the cricket altogether because the crowd was largely attracted towards the shorter version and meanwhile, destroying the test cricket (also stated in the article). We have sat here and said that test cricket is the be-all end-all and it should be preserved, but for Pakistan, it died after that 5-test series. 2-test and 3-test series have lived since then. Right now, with the advent of Twenty/20’s, Champions League and IPL/ICL, a lot of other countries are on the verge of a breakpoint realizing that Twenty20 has gotten more mainstream attention. Come soon, The Ashes will be the only series left worth to follow.

I am not happy with the situation that Pakistan is in and wish it were to change for the better. Unfortunately, there is too long of a wait-time on that, and only next year’s (half) Australia tour and ICCCT will determine Pakistan’s role in the World Cup. Again, if those two are not held due to whatever, Pakistan will have a real hard time convincing the countries that it is safe to arrange World Cup matches in Pakistan.

wah!!! fkhan2 lamba haat mara hai. Well written piece. Keep up the good work. :slight_smile:

I raised the longer test series question many times on this forum. Fkhan, thanks for forwarding it to KA.

Re: Yar yeh kya bakwas hay???

:hmmm:

wah wah even Bangladesh is playing more matches than Pakistan this year and against good sides. Look at their 'busy' schedule from August this year till December.

BD in Aus - 3 ODI's
NZ in BD - 2 Tests & 3 ODI's
BD in South Africa - 2 Tests, 3 ODIs, 1 T20
Lanka in BD - 2 Tests , 3 ODI's

Seriously yar yeah kya bakwas hay????? What was ICC/PCB thinking when they were drafting tours and schedules???

Good point.

The last change to the ICC FTP schedule was made when Nasim Ashraf was at helm, yes? I don't quite remember, was it in 2007?

I am not sure if Ejaz Butt administration can do anything about it until it's expiry date - 2012. Except for accepting offers from Abu Dhabi and ECB to come and play on their home soil.

ECB confirm West Indies visit

wow!!! how did Windies ended as Zimbabwe/Lankans replacements? If anyone deserved this tour, it was Pakistan. Obviously PCB never advocated for it, actually I won’t be surprised if they even thought about it. PCB should be looking for such ooportunities during this time of crisis. Absolutely shameful!!!

PCB is prolly not at all interested in availing such opportunities. this was a golden chance for them to have some test matches for the team...but noo...sanu ki...

Maybe, just maybe one of the reasons why West Indies was picked, stemmed from recent Stanford Superstars/England 5-year deal. However, how did West Indies ‘offer their services’ which is what I would like to know. And on what basis was West Indies picked, was there a draw or some kind of lottery ticket? From the news a few weeks ago where David Morgan/ECB iterated that they want Pakistan home series to be played in England, why was Pakistan not considered ahead of West Indies? The ‘draw’ and the attraction which West Indies (Stanford Superstars) had in West Indies a few weeks ago at the Stanford tournament will not be the same this time around in England.

And again, no clue why West Indies was picked. How did they ‘offer their services’, it’s puzzling.

DB read this news from October 27

West Indies in line to tour England in 2009

I cant understand why PCB didn’t pursue this opportunity when there was an uncertainty for such a long period of time about who England is going to play in May???

This is it. This is the source tracing back to the root. So I understand that West Indies received an invitation from ECB as they were considered more marketable than…? On what grounds were West Indies considered more marketable in England than…Pakistan? And why would ECB pursue a country which would already be busy in it’s own series against Bangladesh? If it is from the marketability perspective, the logic behind it is grey.

Let me tell you something more interesting. England is scheduled to tour Windies from February 5th 2009 for a 4 test, 5 ODI series and T20 match series which will end on April 3rd. In 5 weeks the two teams will face each other again in England for a 2 test and 3 ODI series starting from May 6th.