Yaar! I am confused :S

Okay - I am in love with 2-3 gowns to wear on my brother’s wedding but I dont want to get the original of the designer because they are expensive and I dont want to trust a karigar to completely make it as the fabric they get sometimes isnt og good quality.

So tell me
-Which fabric should i get? (60 gram or 80 gram chiffon for shirt? Jamawar silk for trouser?)

-How much of the fabric should i get?

-Should i get it dyed first and then for kaam?

-Fine, i got it dyed, I go to the karigar (suppose some one in Duppata gali, Liberty) and i ask him to make this heavy thick border and the style as is. I am unsure whether it will be as close to the original or not? Will it actually turn out the way i want?

-How much will the karigar charge me for the heavy border kaam

-If i need those jamawar multi colour borders, do i get an entire suit and cut pieces for the border or i can get the borders from some where ready made?

Re: Yaar! I am confused :S

can you post the pics of the outfits so we can see how much fabric you need?

It definitely needs to be dyed first otherwise the kaam will get ruined. The best way to get them to make what you like are lots of pics of the outfit from different angles and close up of the work.

The prices vary depending on how much kaam you need.

sorry can't be of more help.

why dont you find some guppie that knows a good karigar in lahore, at least you'll have someone trustworthy to go to.

I bought jamavar itself for the borders. It cost Rs,2500 for the different colored pattis alone. regarding chiffon, ask the store keeper where you are buying the fabric from to give you chiffon that is suitable for heavy kaam.

**Kahtifa **- I am unable to post pictures but i found some links of the type of dresses i am talking about.

This is my favourite one so far - How should i get it made?
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/63969/Gownsborders.jpg

Other dresses
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/63969/Gownsborders_8.jpg (From where do i get all this fabric for the kaliyan? If suppose its jamawar then does it give this fall? and how much of each colour and style fabric do i need for the kaliyan?)

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/80452/1-11.JPG
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/80452/1-21.JPG
(Which fabric? Mukaish? and then dye it and give for the border silver kaam? but the kaam isnt even clear .. what should i tell the karigar? should it be rhine stone? sequence? dabka? etc.

Thanks Eastern - How are you? Long time. Anyway, for an entire frock/pishwaz border the cloth needed just for the shirt would be around 5 guz i think so for that how much of one colour jamawar would i require?

i think for 1st dress jamawar silk in plain will go for shirt but trouser looks like normal silk. kaam is heavy with stones dabka.

for 2nd georgette will work you might get one with sprinkled dots so no need for mukaish. kaam looks like mukaish or sequence work and kinda fancy chamkeela thread work.

for 3rd malai silk or some very flowy n soft silk will be good. kaam looks like thread embroidery with kora dabka.

Usually a good karigar understands the type of work from looking at the picture so try to take the good picture of these dresses with you.
So you just need to get the good quality fabric n get it dyed.

im in love with ur first choice! go for it! color is gorgeous too!

Really like the first one (more so than the others)......so definitely go for the turquoise style! :)

Thanks girls. I am going to check out proper fabric for this. I was thinking of getting the work done on 80gram chiffon since chiffon has a beautiful fall. What do you say?

Well chiffon can work for 2nd 3rd n 4th dress, but i dont think with 1st. it cant give you that little stiff look.
You want to make all of them or only one?

For kaliyaan you can try chiffon jamawar it has fall like chiffon n look like jamawar. sorry don;t know how much you will need, you can ask the tailor before getting the fabric.

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/80452/1-11.JPG

I like ths one, who is the designer… And if we get it made like ths? Can someone give me th price idea.. As it is. Thanks!!

Rani emaan Designer...

check it

Cool... Price idea, not the original but if we get a copy...

Great selection DD, do u mInd sharing.. Which dress did u go for & how'd it turn out?

1-get a print-out,preferable enlarged one of the dress’s picture

2=ask your tailor how much fabric he wants for the dress,esp the gown

3-buy heavy silk chiffon |(pure wali) for the gown (around 580/y) , medium silk for lining(300/yard), light silk chiffon for dupatta (390/y), pure 60gm raw silk for churidar or 80gm for pants, pure qattan banarsi fabric 1.5y each for as many colours you want for the chatta patti border

4- go to a fabric shop (silk or lining wali) or a threads shop (the ones that have the reshmi karhaii walay dhaagay) and get the swatches/threads for the dyer

5- drop them at the dyer for dyeing

6- take the gown fabric to the tailor for marking/stitching panels

7- meanwhile dupatta gali ka chakkar lagaa kay dekho if you like borders from samples they have already made and if you come across one, discuss pricing etc for using that border/motif pattern adjusting it to match your choice/sample picture Dont show the picture right away or get ready to pay double the money for ‘designer dress copy’ :smiley:

8- keep reminding tailor for marking/panel kharay karnay kay liay sigh

9- drop it with the karigar you finalised

10- beg your tailor to make the chatta patti border using the colourful fabric pieces !!! yeh sub se mushkil step hai

11- pick it from the karigar and drop with hte tailor to get stitched

:slight_smile: :slight_smile:

easy ?? I do this with every dress I make :bummer:

and dont go for muqesh fabric that you find ready in the market. it is done on chiffon and it wont be durable. if you have an extra month, drop dyed silk chiffon with the muqesh wali shop to get muqesh done on it and then use it for kaam

:smack: I just read the dates and realised I am feeding an olddddd thread .. abb tak tau DD kay bhai kay bachay bhi ho gaye hoangay :smack:

lolzzzz

Proto, why u so niceee:)
One quick question , what is the desi term or should i say term used in liberty's back / lateral market for silk chiffon? Is it china crinkle with crinkle texture or the other plain chiffon 80gm for shirts and 60gm for duppatta?
Make any sense ;)

omg proto your comment made me realise that its an old thread :smack:

silk chiffon is not crinkled or rough. it is like french chiffon..plain,soft and flowy. 60gms chiffon is 'danay-daar' (rough-y textured)

even pure charmeuse 60gms goes really well with kaam without catching much but it is expensive