y ppl r not ready to come back

**" If you read the history of Indo Pak you will see that it was always invaded by foreign rulers. The people of this land are never sincere to each other, they always helped foreigners to invade and then helping them to get benefits from them. Even muslim rulers did the same. Muhammad bin Qasim, Emperor Babar (Mughals). Sultan Mehmood Ghaznavi, Tughlaqs etc etc ... they all were foreigners & locals helped them to set their kingships then served them to be prominant in the locals. Later on English were entertained by the locals, "

"In 1857, Zeenat Mahal_played a most destructive role in sealing the fate of the “mutineers” and the Mughals. Zeenat Mahal was the youngest wife of the last Mughal Emperor, Bahadur Shah Zafar, and was aware that as long as elder princes lived, her own son stood no chance of ascending the throne. As it happens, Bahadur Shah supported her son Jiwan Bakht’s succession. But the British East India Company, also known as the “Company Bahadur”, was in financial control, and only supported the claims of the eldest sons. It was even contemplating the abolition of the title after the death of the reigning Badshah.
In the Mutiny of 1857 (or War of Independence, depending on whether you’re a born-again colonialist or a politically-correct revisionist), Zeenat Mahal found common cause with the English. In exchange for supplying useful information about the mutineers and the army fighting against the Company, she hoped to secure all for her son. With the other princes dead, Jiwan Bakht would be able to take the seat of power.
Along with Hakim Ahsan Ullah, the Emperor’s physician, and a relative of hers, Mirza Ilahi Bakhsh, the queen helped deliver the Mughal Princes to the English. Mirza Ilahi Baksh identified 30 princes, sons, grandsons and sons in-law of_ Bahadur Shah. The unfortunate princes lost their heads to Captain Hodsun, and as the story goes these were presented to the aged and hapless Bahadur Shah on a platter. Other princes unrelated to the emperor — namely, Mirza Mughal, Mirza Abu Bakr and Mirza Khizr Sultan — were also shot. But Jiwan Bakht did not take the throne. The Mughal Empire was dissolved, and Queen Victoria became Empress of India. The hapless Badshah was tried by the Company and exiled to Rangoon. " **

In India and Pakistan, desis have become used to being ruled by foreigners. Jee Huzoor kehna, aur "Sirkaar say chori karna"
is now in our blood. NOthing will change that easily. That was the situation in France and it took two revolutions to get some patriotic spirit back. Without a revolution in spirit, by the people living there, nothing will change. India and Pakistan will remain the third world forever. Whatever economic gains are made will be offset by the population growth.

We will run out of arable land, cut all the trees for firewood, litter the country with plastic wrapping and other plastic junk, and fill upo the air with smog.

Ai mere vatan ke logo, zara aankh main bhar lo paani!
Jo shaheed huay hain unki , zara yaad karo kurbaani

[This message has been edited by Tanhaa (edited July 06, 2001).]

Originally posted by Tanhaa:
*We will run out of arable land, cut all the trees for firewood, litter the country with plastic wrapping and other plastic junk, and fill upo the air with smog.

Very well said Tanhaa... (I dont compliment too many people on their writing... so u must be good !!)

In the course of reading almost all the posts in this thread , I realised one interesting thing...
Though India has similar problems to Pakistan (corruption, nepotism, crime etc.) ,somehow Indians abroad dont fear going back to India as much as the Pakistanis seem to from this thread.I mean I am yet to come across an Indian who will not go back home for the fear of his house being robbed or being carjacked etc.. I wonder what is the reason ?

Najim You got excelent point but if some one is not from your mentioned families and he want to go back its not a posiblity that he will suffer the faith, and become corrupted gave bribes use safarish and being ready to killed for his money.

If good people keep on leaving pakistan for good then what is going to happen ,I think we people are afraid to go back to change the setup which we are use to,in our mind there is always a question that we are leaving devaloped country what is there for us in 3rd world country they can`t match our pay scale our living standards.

Najam my family went to Pakistan and they are living normal life there without threat of any kind just like normal people,People there are more demanding

As you mentioned Zeenath mahal.You forget to mention Bakhat-Bahadur,People of Indopak had always looked for another power to help them out its time to change that if we cant help our selves no one is ready to be there for us.

well sir leaving the country and saying thats it we are done with it ... is a very poor decision indeed... simply put if the honest and educated leave would not pakistan sink ever more into the corruption abyss ?

Is it not the duty of the better educated and mannered pakistanis to get involved ... aren't the people who abandon pakistan the same as the selfish people in pakistan who indulge in corruption ? becase where the former takes the easy way, the later keeps doing wat comes easily to them ... theft, corruptness!

seriously though ... if pakistanis maybe even temporarly go back for a while they can change alot!

washing away ur hands and writing about emotional personal experiences will not change the ground realities but make them worse by convincing even more educated people to leave the country go abroad ...!

in the end no matter where u are ur not really american, brit, canadian, austrian etc ... simply becuase of ur skin color u remain pakistani...

those who abandon there country of can call no place in this world home!

To do in life is to appreciate it. To live life is to lose it. I dont know what I am saying so I will stop saying it.

Very Good subject ATTITUDE!

I agree with you and other people who say that our origin will never change but on the other hand the corruption makes it impossible for you to do the job you are required other then if you have the power so keep standing against all the wrong things happen in Pakistan.

I am not saying that we shouldn’t go back as I do miss Pakistan but people are so much into corruption that one of us or more can’t change it as people have more to loose then to gain. Greed for money, dishonesty, Milavot, shortcuts etc are the major problems in Pakistan. I go home every year and meet my family, go to my village and come back sad and upset. I tried to live there with not much of a success. Every one is too busy in loot mar that no one notices your presence.

My dad says that I am misfit for Pakistan.

no comment

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bukbuk.gif

“The devil has put a penalty on all things we enjoy in life. Either we suffer in health or we suffer in soul or we get fat.”

Wahan Bohat Sukoon Tha… is liye

Zamane kay Andaz Badle Gay
Naya Raag hai, Saaz Badle Gaye

Re: y ppl r not ready to come back

:biggthumb :biggthumb

color & soin or Garnier ? :smiley:

Interesting thread.

old thread too.

^so you still stand by your words or your preception has been changed in years?

still stand by my words

1) One does not need to be physically in Pakistan to make a difference,
2) The expectation that expats have somehow forgotten their duty is very shallow and oversimplified reasoning
3) People present in Pakistan have the ability and the means to make a change, they choose not to. for example, this is apparent in the lack of volunteerism of the kind you see in US.

^ Agreed. And those who are calling for people to come back forget how dependent families in Pakistan have become on foreign remittances.

How badly do you want us back when you realize that taya won't be sending your parents $500 every month or paying your school fees anymore? Will you be willing to downsize your better standard of living?

Certain stratas of Pakistani society have become totally dependent on foreign remittances.

..my point also is, what is the respnsibility of the people there? or until expats or ppl of pak origin start going back, they wont do anything? generation after generation things have gotten worse, because each generation has further contributed to the challenges and added new ones of their own.

Let me give you a ery simple example, sahibzadas in places like gulshan and nazimabad will have all the time in the world to try and dress nice, smell nice..be oh so modern and western..but that is where it stops. the work ethic is not there and the spirit of volunteerism is not there.

Here is an example..how many times have you seen neighbourhood groups do simple tasks such as clean up trash dumps in the area, or but some paint and paint over the stupid slogans ppl post over private and public property? its not that ppl dont have time? they havr tons of time, they just dont care..and the exact same situation is true for the other problems of the country, people there dont care..they complain yes, but to do anything, thats asking too much..

God helps those who help themselves, how can expats help those who dont help themselves?

Good points.
The reason I am reluctant to go back is the "Ji Hazoor" attitude in the naukari scene.
Safety for my family.
And I would be getting 1/8 of the salary what I am making right now. Sounds selfish but if I have skills which is worth something on the international market would it be unfair to ask the same in Pakistan.
Corruption, Rishwat aj tak na li hai na di hai, In Pakistan you really don't have a choice. Without parchi and Quaed Azam you won't go anywhere.

You are right, Insha'ALLAH the ummah will wake up, especially when they get messed around in thier host countries. We would then help reform our nations Insha'ALLAH and get rid of corruption...

ummah is getting messed around in their home countries and infact messing around in their home countries, its not an awakening that the ummah needs but a reality check.

You have a strong valid point Alhamdulilah!

excellent thread.

here is what i've to offer based on my observations.

i feel that at times, for good reasons too, majority of young professional ex-patriots (between 25 - 35 years of age) might feel, that there is nothing to talk about. there are no things to be worried about. in a country where all things are ad-hoc, social responsibility lacks utterly. there is no civic engagement, no self accountability & too much discord.
there is only a good feeling of determination to do well, & to live well.

the issues can be very sensitive, people can be really stubborn, the systems can feel like the ultimate disappointments.

so, what do we do?
what we can do is that if individually all expatriates want to, then we can certainly come back, & make the difference, if and only if, globalization influences are not taken as the only form of acculturation.

we need to allow other cultures to become aware of true Islamic tenets and real sophistication within our heritage, but that is not the case in Pakistan.

affluence has made some parts of the country corrupt beyond imagination.
while others are suffering ever so more. ours is not an economy of scale. so we ought not be capitalistic in our materialistic demands as a society. in fact, seeing the damage of senseless corporate schemes of developing the land, in the manner and by the means by which the so called developed countries, have done it, we must know that the

the disadvantage to the expats coming back is one that is personal since people have vested themselves into the adapted country considerably, they have jobs, homes, families that they have made in those adapted countries.

honesty and collaborative social and inter group culture has to be established, & there has to be an unspoken balance that has to be kept, between the negative awe-struck-ness of the native people, who marvel at expats as some sort of dictating forces whose minds have been somehow transformed by the living in the west with non-Pakistanis and non-Muslims. that is not always the case, and this is one of the reasons, i have found, having met & discussed this issue at length, with people from both genders, who feel that even if they willed to come back to Pakistan, they will be second class citizens in their own country especially women, since any bit of reasonable outspokenness will automatically be subdued as something immoral. men, on the other hand, are more attracted by the glitz and the glam of the developed countries. this is just a fact. not all, but many men think like this, the reason why they don't want to come back & work back in their native country.

perhaps, if we can take care of the notions i mentioned above, then maybe, expats can indeed come back & begin to live as Pakistani citizens who are comfortable and not subject to double standards in perceptions & in expectations of their own or of those in their native land, who will be around them.

dushi