Y are girls told to cover their head

by elders while azan is going while i c ppl talking and not listening and niether replying to azan

the concept i have in mind is its imp to reply to azan and theres one hadith too that says sumthing like k one wont be able tosay kalma on his death bed if he doesnt listens to azan quitely

so y covering the head?and y girls only?Do sahabiyaat used to cover their head while prayers were going on:hmmm:?Do we cover our head for respect?

Re: Y are girls told to cover their head

cultural issue i guess....

no we r not supposed to cover our heads while listening or reading to quran or adhan

all cultural crap!!!

i never came across any reference in my whole life which shows we shud cover our heads

never in quran nor in any hadeeth

and if u notice its only in asian ppl that they do cover heads

so its cultural

and prayer is sumthing else

for prayer there are clear cut ahadeeth and references that a woman shud b covered from head to toe except face and hands and feet

Well..i'd say...Beauty chupanay ka hukam hai na mehram se and it is for our own safety..and YEs..HADith main parday ka hukam hai..albata QUran main clearly nahi kaha gaya k BAAL CHUPAOo..it tells u to hide yr beauty ORNAMENTS..
waisay bhi uss muslims we hardly knw what the QUran says..isliyee hum loog suni sunayii baaton pe amal kerney lagtay hain...and we start copying others..lol

Cultural thing......in some families girls have to stick the scarf on when abba ji or big brother walks into the house too.

no i mean y specially when its azan

otherwise i know girls have to cover themself

:hmmm:its means its cultural norm?

I think (or a pillowcase :rolleyes: ) while still chatting or doing whatever else, is useless…i feel it’s far more respectful to be quiet and actually listen to it.
plus i never got why one had to do hijab/purdah?? in front of brother and father?

yup how many times we have to tell u that its cultural!!:smack:

and whoever says that we shud cover our heads or bla bla infront of abbu ji and bhai jaan r losers!!

cuz in quran its clearly said that there is no need of hijab infront of mahrams and they include ur father brothers and uncles and bloodrelaives

its clearly said that a woman can uncover certain parts of body infront of mahrams like arms head

i think that was it!!

i cant remember correctly

but if sum1 knows exctly which parts were mentioned plz post it!!

ok fine i know that its a cultural thing..but someone wana xplain WHY this is cultural reason? Perhaps this can be split and put into culture forum where it can be xplained? :@:

because our desi ppl dont wanna know the real things

they just do watever been told to by their elders

we actually think waever our elders r saying is "kalmah" and no1 have a right to change it!!

they think that reading quran and listening to adhan is just like a prayer so if women has been told to cover their heads while praying so they r supposed to be covering their heads if they r reading quran or listening to it!!

while its not the case

From what I understand, covering your head upon hearing the azan also symbolizes getting ready for prayer, quitting all other activity and settling down for prayer for which the head needs to be covered. Maybe that’s how it started but now, people just loosely cover as a sign of respect or tradition and still do everything else under the sun while the azan is going on. Just my thought. :bummer:

Regarding covering the head while reciting Quran, I believe is mustahhab. No harm if we do it, as we’re rewarded if it is and if we don’t then we havent done any bad.

I forgot i had opened this thread up :blush:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=234742

:omg:under a cushion.sorry i found it funny

niksik i am somehow a lil satisfied by ur reply.thanks

Not sure , but I guess thats how fathers want to see their daughters.
Its old school though.

how about a tissue paper :rolleyes: delicately placed to cover the top most part of ones head :vivo:

K337, I talked about this issue with a very knowledgeable lady today. She told me that yes, while there is no farz or requirement to cover the head while reading Qur'an, it is one of the etiquettes while reciting it. It brings humility and grace, and the angels around us are very impressed with hayaa of a woman. If it isn't bothering someone, then covering the head while reading Qur'an should be practiced. But of course, you don't lose any credit points for not doing so.

Indeed its all about respect and humility ...

but plz dont make this hayaa and humility a part of religion

just leave it as sumthing u do just bcuz u find it pretty!

in islam there is no such rule so dont consider it part of our religion

kool:hmmm: thanks