What is it that Greg has brought with him from India that Wright did not bring in 2004?
To me it all seems like an old ketchup in the new bottle.
I see a ritual in making. Any Manager who wishes to get fired to be eligible for EI, must get beat’ in by the Pakistanis and the rest just falls in.
Now Compare these ^ gentlemen to Bublu and you can see the evolution and the transformation which is visible and promising with Pakistan’s team.
I see Chappel & Wright exchange as meaningless and unnecessary, whereas Pakistan were in dire need of helm and steer which they have now with Woolmer, with bonus Skipper Inzi earning laurels as the best Captain among the best. Mashallah
Wright was not let go or fired ...he left on his own accord (to spend more time with his family...we were told)...and somebody had to be brought in his place...and BCCI selected Chappel.
I actually see it a bit differently. The Indian team is at a higher stage of maturity and Greg Chappel brings to it hopefully, some arrogance in attitude and game planning.
Pakistan team needs to get better balanced and mature and Woolmer hopefully is a methods man for that. Before Ganguly became useless, he was a pretty good team leader who brought that attitude. Inzamam is IMO in that role for Pakistan now.
So much for the anal views! Some1
Chappel is being dealt harshly as was Wright.
Presently its the 'Fat Pay packets' keeping every one (Indians) on the simmer.
In my opinion, Chappel was brought in for the same reason as Wright and that is to have a PHIRANGI (and by extension..a Professional) Coach. I mean, who would like to see TEAM INDIA being coached by a pot-bellied ANSUMAN GAEKWAD (it does not even make for good television)
Chappel, though, is only now learning the filth i.e. Desi Politics.
In Australia, you can drop a legend called Steve Waugh (when he is in the pink of form) if the selectors think he does not fit in the team’s future plans…and fans will understand…much less burn effigies.
In India, you drop a player who has been rendered yooseless and you have fans willing to self-immolate only because he is a BENGALI BABU.
Yes Aussies are aussies and a heap more professional than desis. But the passion of the desis that fill the stands is also the same that causes the hero worship ....whether it be a 70 year old thespian playing a romatic college boy or the dada being worshipped as the prince of bengal. Now we have prince of najafgarh, the king of bangalore and God Himself of Mubai Gymkhana
Greg brings very strong Discipline and more than that he is breaking star culture...Atleast he is trying to. He is also more assertive and is ready to fight for what he thinks is right. We may debate whether it is actually right or wrong. He makes sure that selectore listen to him and most of the time gets what he wants ( except for ganguly episode). There also he definitly managed to side-line him. Team fiedling has improved a lot. Team is experimenting a lot. So he is definitly not a same wine in new bottle.
Whether it is Chappel or Dravid or someone else, I like the fact that they have been TRYING a lot of things...player selection, openers etc. What's wrong with playing Dhoni in tests? After seeing what happened to some others I am thinking it makes sense to get the players with the best eye and swing of the to play as much as they can before they slow down. Unlike bowlers, it seems batsmen don't age too well!
Greg Chappel at the beginning of VVS Laxman's career would have been a huge blessing
don’t know what you mean by that statement, but here’s my take. A lot of people weren’t sure abt Sehwag, Yuvi, Bhajji in the test teams also…seems to me a fine situation..
Wright left the indian team in a pretty bad situation. Team as a whole wasn’t performing. In fact the whole season they didn’t do anything but to loose to teams, whom they had recently defeated. Pakistan in India series was a prime example of that. They just couldn’t deliver the point. At that time you could see that Woolmer had made a big difference in the same set of guys…As a unit they were clicking and things went their way..
Well…well..well and finally BCCI succumbs to the pressure of Ganguly and hires Chappell and comes to bite Gangs in his rear side latter…we all know the story..Chappell surely brings a whole lot of new ideas, strategies with him. Examples of which we saw in the recent past series..A lot of people would say things, but who doesn’t resists the change…it’s pretty much the same team, just with different ideas, a captain who thinks and makes sure his team is motivated…
This series, the series against England and the world cup should tell us how much difference chappell has made…
---------cvabn----------
Quite a few! recently concluded India-Srilanka games. Since India won most of the games and every thing else was A Alright!
The difference between Woolmer and Chappel (or the Captains) is that for Woolmer Kamran Akmal is too valuable a keeper to risk him as an opener. While Chappel or Dravid wants to 'Jhonk Dhoni in the fire at an offset'.
I think Dhoni is a valuable bat but not a test keeper. So why give him double the work ?
*Puray India mai koi regular keeper nahi hai kiya ? *
There is no much difference between previous Indian team and current one, except that the captain is not a liability but carries a player as liability instead i.e. Ganguly. Since Dravid is also almost always 'in-form' he will be respected more, resulting in a better/more-united team.
*Puray India mai koi regular keeper nahi hai kiya ? *
I didnot see any catch dropped by him in that series. May be you are talking about some obscure difficult chance...But who doesnt drop catches. Question is if it was an easy one and happens quite often ( Exaple will be P Patel )
What regular keeper*?? He is regular keeper dude. He played all his life as regular keeper.
IMO Aussie Gringo is more a ceremonial ploy than any thing else. Indian have been good under Wright too. The recent resentments in India against Greg are more towards a cultural misfit rather than a 'New think tank' for an emerging Indian team.
Pakistan on the other hand has been busy playing good cricket against in- form teams and Woolmer has been a great instigator for new talents and skipper Inzimam.
There is something about Woolmer as being right at home with the drawbacks and past problems which he resolved with great zest.
I see Greg Chappel getting his 'mati paleed' very soon. But team India will carry-on but not above Pakistan. The later needs to strengthen their bowling dept. a bit I agree.
My problem is quite simple. I have this nasty habit of worrying about the BIG games to come i.e the World-Cup! etc. :D
The only differecne chappel brought was replacing gangu from the team and allowing Dravid to captain the side on long term bases. I am not sure if wright could have done that. India under dravid is much more dangerous than under gangu. That doesn't mean the gangu was a bad captain, he was one of the greatest indian captain but only until he was not a liability.
I am not sure what's this discussion about. Wright was for long enough time to put his thinking in prespective. Its always good to get new coach to get new ideas. We did some during short stay of Greg at the helm...
Good for India since Wright seems to have started accepting complexity of Indian cricket as fact of life and had stopped taking tougher decisions. Which Greg is taking..
Greg "Chappal" brings game planning with him - YES, I AGREE
Greg "Chappal" will induce some arrogance in indian team's attitude- NO, I DO NOT AGREE ( i think this attitude type stuff is pretty natural and you can not induce it into some one....there is only one guy in the Indian team who is naturally arrogant and that is DADA Ganguly but he is already down these days..and yeah, sehwag bee dil wala ha (nothing to do with his double or triple centuries. I am talking about the temprament)....baqi saray to bakriee kay bachhay haan...now dont start yelling at me. I am not questioning anyone's talent here, just making a comment on attitude)