wrap the kid tightly

So I heard that when the kid is born he is wrapped real tightly in a blanket or at times by some piece of cloth and he isnt able to move his hands and feet much.

What could be the reason for this?

Re: wrap the kid tightly

I think its to re-create the tight womb environment, to make the baby more comforable and ease the transition - but you'd have to be careful I think many people overdress their babies

Doesnt it hinder the growth of the baby?

^no.
It's called swaddling.

There is swaddling, something commonly done with newborns.

And then there is this other practice in some areas of Pakistan that immitates swaddling but done a little differently. Baby is tied up with a rope like thingy made of fabric called khundak/gundak not sure how it's pronounced exactly. Is that what you are reffering to?

I HATE THIS, last year in pak, my aunts sister in law lives with them and she had a baby, and they had this tradition of wrapping the baby tightly with rope, jeez, whats with that, harldy anyone does it, all the other babies turn out fine, anyway i told her it was unethical when she asked me why i was cringing. she just laughed.

You can find blankets here in the US which pretty much button or latch or tie up at the ends, to keep the baby contained. Many babies don't settle down until they're snuggled like this. My cousin's baby was like that. My daughter hated having her arms constrained, but would still want the rest wrapped so she could settle down.

jee..this is wht i meant.Why do people do that?wht are its benefits?

This is called GUNDAKH... My girl loves this and she absolutely couldnt sleep without her hands and legs tied that way... If i dont she moves them so frequently that culdnt sleep for longer... But when she wants to get up, she yells

babies feel secure while swaddled otherwise they get distracted very easily while sleeping. they also get scared if not swaddled. babies also scratch themselves a lot so this helps again in keeping them safe. so its a good practice until they r 6 months.

Swaddling a newborn is good, they sleep peacefully. Since they don't have much space in their mother's womb, they're used to being cramped up .... if you don't swaddle them, they get startled in their sleep.

However, I've seen how they tie the baby up tightly in my village in Pakistan and OMG, I would never do that.... my daughter was happy being swaddled till 3 months, after that she started struggling to get her hands out so I discontinued doing it....... she was happier :)

how is using a rope any diff from a cloth tier that is sold with swaddling sheets in motehrcare and other baby stores????

no one is suffocating their babies and these babies grow up to be normal human beings.

kher.. we dont tie the babies in our family but we do swaddle them... mine hated it so i didnt do it but otehrwise babies love being swaddled.. makes them feel safe.

You are the second person using this word ‘gundakh’…!!
I heard it for the first time from my husband when our daughter was born…:hehe:
He was insistent that we ‘gundakh’ the baby…and that there is a technique to do it…
I never knew about it so used a receiving blanket or swaddling blanket but our baby always hated it…
she somehow was more comfy and slept well without having her arms all wrapped up…

That rope like cloth is wrapped so tight, I have seen babies crying and crying because of that and finally falling asleep cuz they are exhausted :frowning: This usually happens with the uneducated lot, they let the baby cry.

Oh and I’ve also seen that weird shaped thing with 2 big sticks they make with clay (a practice in my village) and put baby’s head on it to make the head round… I scolded them but nobody listened to me and said you’re amreekan now, you won’t understand :bummer:.

this has never been doen in my close khandaan..so when i recently heard abt it i was shocked :bummer:

ab whts tht?

my mum used sarsoon ki pillow to make the head round…

Pillow is fine, its soft.

This is a really weird half U shaped thing, made from clay (its rock hard and they put the baby’s head on it :smack:)… has two holes on each side where they put these long wooden sticks in… they put malmal ka kapraa on those sticks to cover the baby so that flies and mosquitos stay away. Just use a ready-made mosquito net I said and they scoffed at me :pcg:

I was shocked when I first heard about Gundakh being done to babies. I was told iss se bacha darta nahi hai aur araam se soya rehta hai. I refused to do it and went along with swaddling.

On the same note I was told to put a knife under baby’s pillow, apparently iss se bhi bacha darta nahi hai. :hehe:

now tht is crazyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

I dont believe in 'making head goal'". I put her head under normal baby pillow... but YES she loves gundakhh.. SHe sleeps so relaxed in it. .. Our family have this tradition of gundakh..

Hubby HATES it though.. He aways say kia bandh rahi ho isko.. And i am always like.. Ham bhi aisay hi pall gaye thay na?