I like to, by serving something exotic , something extra ordinary, with presentation of food etc.
I will have traditional desi dishes but will have some uncommon food or desert item.
Sometime it is very common dish but with a different touch.
I like to hear those compliments. I do not ask for them but all that hard work to add that wow factor pays off.
What about you ?
Re: Wow factor in dawats/parties. Do you like to wow your guests ?
I do sometimes and it works well for a small gathering.
Like setting a really nice place setting or making something exotic.
yup...i like to go to this aunty's house who always serves a different food all the time...i do NOT like lobster but one day i ate accidentally at her place * and since then i love lobster :) thankoo aunty ji :)*
The WOW factor lets me know my guests are enjoying themselves!
So yes, its important to me!
I like to, by serving something exotic , something extra ordinary, with presentation of food etc. I will have traditional desi dishes but will have some uncommon food or desert item. Sometime it is very common dish but with a different touch. I like to hear those compliments. I do not ask for them but all that hard work to add that wow factor pays off. What about you ?
man as long as you are non popping up from a cake or a daig of haleem all is cool
You have such a wild imagination.
If I pop out they will not be amused they will be scared , but that is not a bad idea may be for the next party. ![]()
We like to add wow by getting the bbq out in summer and serving fresh bihari kebabs along with everything else suppose thats not that WOW but people appreciate it alot.
One aunty made us milkshakes out of any chocolate bar we wanted that was amazing nom nom nom
Now that is is great wow factor , it goes in my list of wow's. Thanks for sharing.
Adding a wow factor is a must for me when I host dawats .. and I have achieved a good reputation too Alhamdullillah ... Things i keep in mind:
Make the food look colorful .. for example in Biryani I add a little red and a little yellow and leave the rest white ... looks brilliant ... in Zarda I make two colored rice and decorate them in a nice way .. mehmaan's also swoon over it ! Similarly once i made green custard and to top it up I mixed a very little tinge of green food color in dessicated coconut and mixed it well .. it caught on a very nice darker shade of green and I sprinkled it over the custard... everyone loved it ...
Use stylish crockery an cutlery ... I have three sets and I keep mixing and matching them when ever i get a chance ... Bartan do add to that wow factor ..
I shape up the food I present.. for that purpose I use moulds .. I even keep the random containers that have a nice shape , like this square little pot that had cheese ... one day I made chicken tikkas .. to decorate it I did some biryani flavoured rice .. put this rice in the little square container.. pressed hard then took them out neatly into the serving plate and put tikkas on top ... made an awesome presentation...
Wow CB some really good ideas.
Thanks so much Mirch ... and to add ... Doing various napking folds helps create the oomph factor too ...
Similarly , learning some tiny bit of food carving helps creating great looking food too ... for example, once I made Aloo kabab.. they looked to bland to be served on their own .. so with a toothpick I carefully pressed the kabab to form a little flower .. and then very carefully filled it with the mint chutney ... looked awesome :@:
Brilliant . :k: