Would you write a horror movie?

I didnt know what section this belonged in so posted here.

I have thought of this for a long time and am now seriously considering it. Ever since I was a child I would think of the weirdest things that would scare me. Overactive imagination you can say.

I have been encouraged by some people I know and some family members to write, but I never told anyone that I think I could come up with a good screenplay for a horror film, a horror suspense. Something that would be a mix of “The Sixth Sense”, “What Lies Beneath” and “Aliens”. Not the teenage gore horror films like Texas Chainsaw.

Anyway, so yesterday I was talking to my brother about it, someone whom I consider very conservative, and he told me I should do it. It’s a shot in the dark and there is a very big chance I wouldnt get anywhere with it, but he was encouraging. I thought that was interesting.

Now I just dont know if I should go ahead with it. Like, is it wrong and stuff. Is it wrong to scare the bajeebers out of teens and adults (Rated PG material)?

I realize that I could instead write a childrens book which I have also thought of, but writing a horror film is more challenging for me. I have a good friend who is a movie director and producer and he would be willing to work with me on the project. Plus I know other screenwriters that have had their stuff accepted, so I am aware of the process.

So, my question is, do you think its a good idea? Would you go ahead with something like this? Why? Why not? Thanks.

Munni, if you have the writing abilities, talent and have confidence in your ability (which you do), then definitely do it!! I see it as a great opportunity, one that many of us who lack creative skills will never have.

Re: Would you write a horror movie?

Originally posted by Munni: *
**I have a good friend who is a movie director and producer and he would be willing to work with me on the project. *

If you have a passion for writing that genre, then go for it. Best of luck, Insha'Allah.

Munmun, I am always looking out for the next M Night Shyamalan..having missed that boat :smack:

Munni its not a bad Idea at all. Start it and if you enjoyed writting it continue it if you didnt leave it.

And by the way, I can write a scene or two for you too. :D

can I be the badguy? :devil:
I m pretty good at in real life :halo:

*Originally posted by Munni: *

Now I just dont know if I should go ahead with it. Like, is it wrong and stuff. Is it wrong to scare the bajeebers out of teens and adults (Rated PG material)?

I realize that I could instead write a childrens book which I have also thought of, but writing a horror film is more challenging for me. I have a good friend who is a movie director and producer and he would be willing to work with me on the project. Plus I know other screenwriters that have had their stuff accepted, so I am aware of the process.

So, my question is, do you think its a good idea? Would you go ahead with something like this? Why? Why not? Thanks.

No Munni, dont do it!!!Its horrible to do this!Please dont this to the world!!!Aside then scaring the bejeebers out of teens and adults, its jsut plain cruel for them to see a movie written by you :p

On a serious note , your brother is right: yaar you never know what could happen. THis maybe your big chance yaar. Like everyone else said, just go for it!

try top create something of your own not a mix like indian movies :stuck_out_tongue:

Hey joking apart, go ahead :k:

aur haan bhai itney burrey bhi nahien hotey :slight_smile:

can i be the dosheeza rooh who haunts the badguys and bury them alive? :D

wana compete for the bad guy role? :devil:

Munni, give Suroor’s current situation with the arriving relatives a thought. You can revoolve the story around her turning into a vampire after a few ‘taanay’ from a couple of chaachiaan tey maamiaan of hers. She starts haunting them during the day when they are all alone on the phone gossiping with other faarigh aunties. Just as they pick up the phone, lights go off, thunderstorms begin and suroor shows up in a black gown… ready to suck their blood… :devil: :dixsi:

u’ll be my first victim fungay, vorry Nat! vampires are so pretty :blush:

*Originally posted by suroor_ca02: *

u'll be my first victim fungay

tumhay tau flirt kerna bhi nahee aataa. Pata nahee kin auntioN kay saath uth-tee baith-tee hau.

^ :rotfl:

*Originally posted by Munni: *
Ever since I was a child I would think of the weirdest things that would scare me.

I suppose you have to look for translatable horror that transcends lifestyle and the individual, something primeval and common to us all.

Thing is though, this has been attempted and re-hashed so many times, that’s it’s just not horror anymore e.g. ‘Blair Witch’, slasher movies etc and more subtly in the ‘Changeling’.

Horror for me when I was a child is obviously different from what is it today, I wouldn’t say I’m any less fearful but just about different things I suppose.

I remember watching the Walton’s as a kid, my sisters ruled the house and the TV, anyway is was schmaltzy rubbish as many would agree, but one episode out of the blue had a poltergeist in it and spooky stuff happened, but just subtly. I think the fact that having that sort of horror out of context in the schmaltzy setting was unnerving and it worked.

Now I think real horror for me would be a house price crash at the wrong time.

Anyway good luck with the originality in transcending the last few thousand years of effort.

do it…
and seriously, I was thinking about horror movies these days and how they are basically more or less similar, and then i thought about the “real” stuff that goes around in pakistan with the whole jin and bhoot, or the stories that i,ve heard…

you should do it, and get some ideas from those spooky stories that go around in pak/india…

and if u need a hero, who becomes a werewolf at night to go meet his dosheeza rooh, i,m ready to work for free :blush:

Didnt I tell you about the guy who almost wet his pants bacause of me? :devil: :stuck_out_tongue:

Munni,
i say go for it!
no reason why you shouldnt! some horror movie of late have been really phenomenal with The Others being one of my list toppers. and as Kaka says with a bit of desi flavour to the mysteries of the paranormal you could very well land at a blockbuster script. are you writing a script or just the plot or story?
and, this friend of yours, where does he work?
good luck! :k:

Thanks for the replies, they are encouraging. smile

The one I am planning on writing is not like other movies, although all horror flicks tend to share certain elements.

You guys can be special extras if it ever hits the big screen. grin

My friend is working on an action film right now. He is based in my city but travels for location shoots.

Thanks again everyone, I appreciate it. I will consider it, but the problem is, I am afraid of scaring myself during the writing process. hehe.