Would you reject a rishta just because of your dis-likeness for his/her "Name"

At times uneducated parents enter the territory of weirdness while trying to give a unique name ever to their child, but unfortunately that (meaningless) name remains attached with the child no matter how good s/he is in very field of life.

Would you suggest a change of name if you realize that you might not get such a good rishta if you miss this one. Or you would like to get used to people smiling every time they hear your new surname (for ladies)

Re: Would you reject a rishta just because of your dis-likeness for his/her "Name"

since when is a "name" a deal breaker for a rishta?

mere hisaab se yeh maamuuli se cheez hai...

what's in a name? for a rose by any other name would smell just as sweet

i personally feel a name has no significance in whether or not you should go for a rishta

Re: Would you reject a rishta just because of your dis-likeness for his/her “Name”

What kind of name are you talking about? :hmmm: example?

Though I think rejecting a rishta because of the name of the suitor seems silly.

Re: Would you reject a rishta just because of your dis-likeness for his/her "Name"

Hmm..it won't be a problem for you to have a handsome, educated, well mannered "Peer-ditta" for a rishta ?!

Hence your name becoming "Fatima Peer ditta" in id card, passport..etc.. In case you decide the desi way of surname selection. (Just an example)

oh dear............

Yes.

Particulary it it were somthing like 'RAW'.

RAW-well, wouldn't you, especially if the name was something like Mary or Natalie or Anna

: )

Peer Ditta could be P.D - we have many AD khan , MD Khan , A.B Somroo roaming around . ... it aint a big deal ...

But I would definitely reject some one with names like Parvez or Yazid ....

What about "Allah Rakhi" for a girl? Would you marry her?

Some good points. To be honest, I would be a bit confused in some cases. For me weird sounding names are acceptable but not names with weird meanings. I would definitely like to have an opinion of the scholars before the decision.

I heard it from scholars that one should not keep a name of Allah (swt) without adding "Abdul". For example, Abdul Quddus (Quddus ka banda) is OK but not only Razzaq, Raffey,...etc. But of course such mistakes should not lead to rejection of a rishta.

But some mistakes are not acceptable in some religious families. For example, it is not appropriate to keep a name of the Prophet (saw) by adding "Abdul". Hence, Abdur-Rasool would become objectionable. Some scholars even say that it gives an impression of "shirk".

Whats your last name?

Raw...IS-War?

RAW is his last name ... his first name is Ganneydi :)

Solution to the OP: I once heard where a rishta was done on the condition that a girl changes her name ... the parents accepted ...

My cousin is Pak.. her name is Anam.. her in-laws didn't like her name, so they call her Zainab. She was accepted on the condition that they can change her name ( which is very stupid in my opinion)

That's so retarded.

No i will totally marry Gulab Khan<3

yup, I know someone who has a perfectly normal & nice name but her MIL calls her by another name that the MIL likes....sooo retarded

Re: Would you reject a rishta just because of your dis-likeness for his/her “Name”

What is the point of this thread by the way? :smack:

RAW bhai!

Khisak Gaye Ho, Ya, Koi Sanjeeda Baat Kehna Bhool Gaye?

If only it was in joke section. :smiley:

what if they spoke in a very paindoo manner "HAWWW HAIIII"

And it is topics like this that make me pessimistic about our fortune as a future people.

Hmm...So it does happen in practical life.

There is nothing wrong in the name Anam.

I met a person named Masaail (problems) Khan. But if you go in some rural areas in Pakistan, they have Samandar Khan, Pakistan Khan, January bibi whose sister is February bibi....etc.