1) Many of the established Bollywood stars don't have a problem with their daughters being actresses. Example: The Kapoors have no issues watching Kareena and Karishma on screen. Anil Kapoor's daughter, Sonam Kapoor, followed his foot steps. Saif Ali Khan has to deal with his sister, Soha Ali Khan, being an actress.
^In the above example, the parents themselves are in the entertainment business...so they are more inclined to be relaxed about their children following the same path.
^And there are also some celebrities whose family backgrounds are not filmi.....and either had the support from their families.....or went against the wishes of their parents....to pursue their tinsel town dreams.
2) Naturally, when it comes to ONE'S OWN child.....one will be MORE protective.
3) But here's a thought that came to mind. It's easier to pose the question, "Would you be okay with seeing your daughter felt up and dancing half naked on screen?"..................................BUT.......................
********If one is so against this.........then they shouldn't be watching "other people's daughters/sisters" get touched up and dancing half naked on screen. Sure, the actresses get paid by the directors, etc. BUT.............those that "watch" their movies..........are in a way supporting it....aren't they? Something to think about. What does that say about the person watching such scenes?
And as mentioned by the above posters.....having haya is not just for women...it includes men as well.
That's Very Well Said. BUT i really doubt it that ANYONE AT ALL would feel the same for some actor like they would for their kid. You know what i mean?! but what u said does make sense.
BUT i really doubt it that ANYONE AT ALL would feel the same for some actor like they would for their kid. You know what i mean?!
I understand what you're saying, M. And I already mentioned that naturally people would be** more** protective of their own child than some actor whom they are not related to.
What I'm trying to point out is that if one vehemently opposes this profession.....but has no qualms about intentionally watching the same kind of movies that they wouldn't want their own child to do.......that can send a double message.
Kids pick up on double messages/hypocrisy in adults so quickly. "How come I can't do this but you can? How come you said this to me but that to her? How come he gets to and I don't? "You say this...but look at what you're doing." These are common questions and when an authority figure lacks consistency b/w words and actions and moreover can't logically explain the contradiction.....it can invalidate their preaching.
Deeba was talking about "doing"......and you're talking about "seeing." You're confining her response to provocative scenes in movies..........when the response is broad enough to apply to other situations.
For example, would you let your 12-year-old drive a car? Obviously not. A child that age would not have the maturity to handle a car. Is driving a car sinful in Islam? Does one get gunnah for driving a car? No. But one does have to be mature enough to handle the situation.
Does Islam allow dancing half naked on screen? No, it doesn't. At the same time does Islam encourage watching or "seeing" such scenes? No, it doesn't. When you know that "doing" and "seeing" something is wrong from an Islamic standpoint............then you can't uphold the attitude that "Meri beti har giz aisa kaam nahin karay gi.....lekin main khud baray shaukh se in scenes ko dekhoon ga." The argument becomes weak....and kids pick upon such contradictions and usually don't hesitate to bring them up.
Deeba was talking about "doing"......and you're talking about "seeing." You're confining her response to provocative scenes in movies..........when the response is broad enough to apply to other situations.
For example, would you let your 12-year-old drive a car? Obviously not. A child that age would not have the maturity to handle a car. Is driving a car sinful in Islam? Does one get gunnah for driving a car? No. But one does have to be mature enough to handle the situation.
Does Islam allow dancing half naked on screen? No, it doesn't. At the same time does Islam encourage watching or "seeing" such scenes? No, it doesn't. When you know that "doing" and "seeing" something is wrong from an Islamic standpoint............then you can't uphold the attitude that "Meri beti har giz aisa kaam nahin karay gi.....lekin main khud baray shaukh se in scenes ko dekhoon ga." The argument becomes weak....and kids pick upon such contradictions and usually don't hesitate to bring them up.
again there is a difference between seeing something and being part of something. Watching a song is a lot different than being part of it.
if couple has seen porn then they shouldn't tell their kids not to enter b/c they have seen it?
and just b/c parents are doing something doesn't mean kids can. Period!
Lahori chacha has not problems in watching some elses daughter getting touched up, dancing half naked etc.
But he has issues with his own.
hahaha damn!!
why would i care what kareeena, aishwarya etc are doing? i have nothing to do with them.
It's like saying you have no problem seeing girls dressed like whores on the streets in summer but when ti comes to your wife, you don't want her to.
why would i care what kareeena, aishwarya etc are doing? i have nothing to do with them.
It's like saying you have no problem seeing girls dressed like whores on the streets in summer but when ti comes to your wife, you don't want her to.
haha damn!!!
NOPE, that's what YOU are essentially saying as well, Lahori Pai. You seem to think it's okay to watch women dancing half naked on screen....you'll support these actresses's careers by watching the movies..........but you won't want your daughter in those movies. Seeing and doing...are BOTH gunnah. Yes, "seeing"........maybe be a LESSER gunnah than actually "doing" such scenes. But.....your eyes will still be held accountable on the Day of Judgment for what you deliberately chose to see. (It's been said that your body parts will bear witness to all that you did).
Instead of it being one or the other............why can't you say that "Dekhna bhi sahi nahi hai....AUR.....aisay kaam karna bhi sahi nahin hai." That carries more weight.
NOPE, that's what YOU are essentially saying as well, Lahori Pai. You seem to think it's okay to watch women dancing half naked on screen....you'll support these actresses's careers by watching the movies..........but you won't want your daughter in those movies. Seeing and doing...are BOTH gunnah. Yes, "seeing"........maybe be a LESSER gunnah than actually "doing" such scenes. But.....your eyes will still be held accountable on the Day of Judgment for what you deliberately chose to see. (It's been said that your body parts will bear witness to all that you did).
Instead of it being one or the other............why can't you say that "Dekhna bhi sahi nahi hai....AUR.....aisay kaam karna bhi sahi nahin hai." That carries more weight.
again i have no problem with them because it got nothing to do with me. Aishwarya rai can go topless, i could care less. But if you have ever watch porn (dont remember stats but majority of ppl have seen it at least once) then you are supporting them or have supported them therefore you cant tell your kids >dont enter, is that what you are saying
its like watching a porn, then your wife telling you i am entering, you cant say anything béc you have seen itÉÉ
i dont have problem with white girls dressed all bad, does that mean i shouldnt have any problems when it comes to my wifeÉ
Dekhna bhi sahi nahi hai**
when did i say its okay to watch such sense. I dont even watch bollywood movies. Maybe 2 movies per year for past few years. But i am old enough to know what exactly is going on, just like i am old enough to know what porn is, doesnt mean i watch it. I was just making a point.
I think you have a problem with this thread bc it was intended towards women only. Lets end it here.