one of the judges investigating corruption allegation against zardari under first nawaz sharif government ended up being murdered. link provided by coolbreeze below:
there was corruption allegation against zardari involving a plot next to awami markaz in karachi. judge investigating the case, justice nizam, ended up being murdered along with his son. cowasjee wrote about this:
“ON THE afternoon of Monday June 10 Nizam Ahmed, a senior advocate of the Supreme Court and a former additional judge of the Sindh High Court, and his 27-year-old son Nadeem were gunned down as their car (driven by theyoung man) was turning into the gate of their PECHS home. It was a good, clean professional job…”
zardari was accused of siphoning money of from the steel mills by nawaz sharif when he came to power second time. the head of steel mills who was the main witness ended up getting murdered. i know the details of this case from inside as the main witness was my best friend’s khaloo. i was in the vicinity when family was receiving threatening phone calls warning not to testify. pakistani court recently cleared zardari of murder accusation but we all know what judicial system is like in pak. in addition couple of phone calls might have convinced the judges:
murders affect Zardari case
“ISLAMABAD, Sept 13 (PTI) — The Sharif government’s plan to start corruption proceedings against Benazir Bhutto’s husband Asif Ali Zardari in an alleged financial scam has suffered a serious setback following killings of a key witness and a public prosecutor within the past four days…”
other fun things done by zardari: sanday times uk, claimed it had taped evidence of drug dealing by zardari. ppp said it would take newspaper to court. we all know what happened after that.
so to answer my question i posed in the tittle, no i would not give evidence against zardari for obvious reasons. in fact, like some of my jaanay-walays, i would help zaradari to steal money from pakistan if i could get a cut. and i would feel no shame. pakistani qaum does not deserve any better.
with no guarantees of protection, why would anyone?
but that goes for all thugs, whether its zardari or altaf or someone else
very good point which is why justice sytem will continue to be a joke in pakistan even if it is made independent. the biggest threats to the judiciary are made by jihadee tanzeemain which is why terrorists never get convicted. democratic govts solved the problem by conducting extra-judicial killings and current govt has solved the problem by not bringing main culprits to court. btw one of the main reasons nawaz sharif got rid of sc-cj was on the issue of terrorism.
Zardari's plan is working well. He has sympathy which he never really had before from non-jiyalas.
zaradri has sympathy because he is an opponent of musharraf. in fact our jahil awam and media would support people like saddam or hitler if they had to.
yaar bhai sahab, people's party has some offices since 1990s that actually belong to my family. people have never dared make a case because they are concerned about their safety. so I know first hand how citizens feel when going up against these thugs.
thats unfortunately reality of third world countries. in india for instance, powerful politicians like advani, modi or jagdish tyler have never been convicted of killing minorities despite overwhelming evidence against them.
basically this campaign for independent judiciary in pak is a sham. ultimately justice systems in countries like pak depend on the govts will.
thanks for the link. i had been searching for this story for a long time. i also wonder what aitzaz ahsan thinks of death of judges and lawyers who happen to investigate zardaris kurtooth?
thanks for the link. i had been searching for this story for a long time.** i also wonder what aitzaz ahsan thinks of death of judges and lawyers who happen to investigate zardaris kurtooth**?
Aitzaz Ahsan has appointed murderers and party jiyalas as judges, so I don't think he will be that bothered.
People forget easily the political killings ordered by PPP.
Well PPP workers are on the rampage these days in Karachi and interior Sindh looting, burning and murdering, which I don't think will be forgotten that easily now.
I hope Zardari doesn’t start going after judges this time around as well?
Many PPP candidates booked for arson
By Shahid Shah
Karachi: Thousands of people, including several PPP candidates for the upcoming elections, have been nominated for burning public and private property in the province. According to details, two candidates for the National Assembly and four candidates for the provincial assembly from Dadu district have been booked after recent violence in the district. A case for attacking the home of former federal minister Liaquat Ali Khan Jatoi, has been lodged against PPP leaders Pir Mazharul Haq and Sardar Rafiq Ahmed Jamali as well as more than 3,000 citizens.
More than 2,000 people have been nominated in Umerkot alone. Cases of looting and damaging public property in Ghotki have been registered against Jam Ikramullah Dharejo, PPP candidate for the provincial assembly from Ghotki, UC-3 Ghotki Nazim Syed Asghar Ali Shah and others. In Hyderabad, a case for attacking the house of former chief minister Arbab Ghulam Rahim has been registered against PPP candidate Zahid Husssain Bhurgri, UC Nazim Qasimabad Mahboob Abro and others. ** In Thatta, cases have been registered against Sassui Palijo and others. Asif Ali Zardari, co-chairperson of the PPP, in a statement rejected the allegations that PPP leaders were damaging public property. **He said PPP workers were not involved in any kind of violence in the province and demanded withdrawal of cases against them.
why would anyone! it's not just about Zardari, any1 would not give evidence against ANY of political leader. In a country where political interests change like a pair of socks, there is no guarantee of safety.
On a separate note:- the 1st judge you mentioned was Nabi Sher Junejo, his son Farhan Junejo was appointed as Assistant commissioner and was among the most favored assistant commissioner in Sindh during BB's 2nd term. I wonder why.