Would like to start Hijab.......

Or a form of hijab you could call it.
I’m thinking I should start wearing a scarf soon but find it difficult to make the transition from wearing no Hijab and hair down and styled to wearing a proper headscarf. It all goes back to childhood when I was forced to wear it. I’ve never really felt ready to wear it.

What I want to do is wear something like this http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42339000/jpg/_42339848_hijab_ap203bo.jpg
or
http://www.starnet.com.eg/Dochtm/nanees-hegab/image/nanees-63.jpg
to start with and try to get used to it and then hopefully I could eventually start wearing it properly.
What do you think?

Re: Would like to start Hijab.......

salaam tabussum

mashallah thats sooo good to hear, welcome aboard!

its been 3 years since iv been wearing it alhamdulilah but honestly it wasn't easy...

i started wearing it in my final year at university, i always wanted to but was i duno scared/nervous/apprehensive & like urself i always had my hair down so to go from that to totally covered was difficult esp as i felt that the hijab didnt suit my face (if u no wot i mean).

how u wear ur hijab is totally upto u, personally i like the traditional way but again thats personal preference. the main thing is that u have the right intention & try ur best to keep going (cos it does get hard at times e.g. at weddings) but u have to be strong & remind urself that this is a farz from our Creator, so inshallah Allah tala will help u & make it easy for u..

good luck jaan, may Allah help & reward u ameen xx

yeh start simple and basic then slowly increased.. i started wearing hijab and abaya after soooo many fights with my mom and dad and khandaan wale.. finally they let me be and left one in my wardrobe n then slowly i started wearing hijab to school and then i felt bad a bit seeing that my sisters and mom wore abaya and hijab but i didnt and what people would think so i wore it, in the beginning i hated it but now if i do not wear abaya anywhere i feel that something is missing :)

MashAllah!! it's a great step no matter how u wear it!

=) May Allah reward you greatly for ur efforts! it's a great feeling to be covered, Alhumdulilah ;)

mashAllah...so glad to hear that you are about to start hijab. It's not an easy step. I personally like the hijab style that is shown in the above links. Seems to be a more comfortable way to start. The way I have seen some of my family members/friends start was by wearing it at certain places and around certain people. Slowly..once they get more comfortable they wore it more often.

best of luck!! May Allah bless you for taking this step.

I saw quite a few Iranian ladies recently wearing hijab, and for some reason I do have a lot of respect for them, and they do look cute as well.

hey Congratulations :)

My advice would be to start slow. Yes, the transition is the hardest part, so start with tying to wear full-sleeves, may be have a small scarf or dopatta (if wearing desi clothes) on head while going out. Then start taking it regularly to school/work. When I started, I didn't pin it up b/c it just felt weird, so mostly it was loose and all but it was sorta like prepping for it. Later, started pinning up and coordinating etc since I was more comfortable with it. Good Luck :)

it is really difficult,i just started about 3 months ago and many times have thought of going back to no hijab , but then again i think and thanks GOD so far i wear it and inshallah will continue. it gets difficult at times , when u have to go to some party etc, cant wear my jewellry now :(. i also making full sleeves of all my cloths now , but what to do with all other which has half even quarter sleeves, well luckliy , i got big dupattas with them so just spread it all over. i donot wear abaya and still have no plans to do so, i think if yur cloths r loose fitting u can carry on with these, what u guys think.

its really hard.i just pray ALLAH mian muhjai bhi tofeeq adda karain .AMEEN

ice to hear......
u shud sstart it as soon as possible.....may Allah increase ur imaan.

i started complete niqaab hijaab (covering face and abaya) 3 yrs back.
only my mom do niqab hijaab in our family.......
so i didnt face any special problem.
but first time when a proposal came and a lady said "beti se kehna ser per dupaata ly k na jaye mehmaano k samny...." my mom refused to that proposal.

now i m married alhamdullilah ...n my hubby is mashaAllah on True Sunnah.

but again i was in the problem when i got married ...but this time fight was with my ownself.
it was very very difficult for me to wear hijaab when invited to the post -marriage parties, but my hubby encouraged me.....

only remember one thing sis,

gunah kerny kee lazzat hatam ho jaye gi , lakin wo gunah hamesha rahy ga
aur neaki ki takleef hatam ho jaye gi lakin usko kerny ki satisfaction aur sawab is forever...inshaAllah.

and one thing.....dont change urself 4 others.....ager nahi kero ge to b batein suno ge, kero ge to b baatein sunna perein ge...isliye kero wohi jo Allah ko pasand hy.

oh wow..mashAllah..its nice that ur thinking about it. and trust me..once the intention is "right"..Allah mian will make the transition so much easier for you!..

for me..the transition part is manageable..b/c like everyone mentioned..start wearing it here -and-there..and then once u feel comfortable..do it completely.

but the most important and hardest thing is to get the intention right. once YOU begin to identify with it..u know exactly who you're doing it for. then you would never have ne 2nd thoughts about it.. in fact u'll begin to love it.
and am sayin this from experience..cuz trust me i ve been the MOST confused person..when it came to hijab. going back and forth w/ it..during my teen years. but once i got the intention rite (which took TIME ..cuz it takes a deeper understanding ..in my opinion)..thngs jus begin fall in place..and it definitely shows in your actions n all. and at the same time, you can still be a cool hijabifashionista!..

A scholar once gave me a good example. He said that whenever you want to take one more step towards Allah and the Prophet (saw), the Shaitaan would try to put all kinds of "waswasas" (fearful doubts) in your mind. He would make you delay your decision for sometimes. BUT once you step into it you would feel the sweetness of Imaan in your heart, and you might even repent for delaying such a wonderful act.

You see the air conditioners we use in Pakistan, If a person who has never seen an AC before is standing outside the room and facing towards the AC, he would feel the hot irritating air at his face coming out of the AC. No matter how many times you try to explain to him, he might never understand the coolness of the air which the AC is giving inside the room unless he steps inside the room and feel the coolness himself !

Sister, similarly a lot of hurdles might come your way, which are not hurdles but false fears the devil would try to put in your mind through any of your companions. Remember, Allah only sees our sincerity, no matter how difficult a task seems before we step into it, the moment we take THAT step, Allah blesses us with comfort and ease in everything we do.

May Allah (s.w.t) bless us all with the wisdom of understanding the ultimate truth taught to us by the Prophet (s.w.t) and the strength to implement it in our lives. Ameen!

p.s. After making the intention of doing Hijab, a good deed was written in your deeds, but after you start practicing it, each and every second of your life one additional naiki (good deed) would be continuously counted for completely implementing one additional sunnah in your life.

A hadith of the Prophet (saw) has a mafhoom that a time would come when it would be difficult for muslims to maintain my sunnahs like holding fire in your hand, but whoever would maintain it at that time would be blessed with the "naiki" of 100 Shaheed (martyred men) for trying to keep alive a single sunnah.

inspiring post....JazakAllah. :)

Thankyou to everyone for all you encouraging posts. Its made me all warm and fuzzy. Thanks again.

Tum

just do it...

sahi kaam karnay k liyay koyi wakat ghalt nahi hota ....aur jab samj aa jayay tho dair nahi karni chahiyay....

Re: Would like to start Hijab…

Try it out for a short period, buy urself different coloured Hijaabz, n various accessories like pinz etc, im sure u’ll luv wearing it, itz just a matter of taking ur first step of wearing it, u’ll soon be used to it and ppl around u will also start accepting it, coz ofcourse ppl do question n comment at first, but once thts over with n ur wearing it all the time u’ll luv it, n wont eva want to take it off! so go for it!

I started wearing it at a very young age (i think i was about 8 ) so im pretty used to it, and last yr i started wearing the jilbaab/abbaya, i wasnt too keen on it at first, thinking what ppl may say and how it wud look on me etc altho’ women in our families do wear em, i wasnt too sure abt wearing it myself :bummer: , but ive been wearing it since n i luv it! :d n the best thing abt it is wen U urself take the first step to wear something like this, rather than being forced, coz i dnt think i wud hav worn it so willfully if sumbody had forced me :rolleyes:

Mash'Allah.. go for it. If you have the right intentions, you'll be fine. I've been wearing hijab all the way through senior school for 5 years and I wear it when I'm out and about anyhow. Now, when I start college, I've decided I'm going to wear the abaya too.. so I know how you feel.. but like I said, go for it. You won't regret it, I promise :)

By the way, nice to see a positive thread on hijab.

Just to go off on a slight tangent but what do guys actually think about a girl in a hajab???

I don't know how it feels to be forced into doing something like that but I am guessing it was not a good experience but think about it this way, this time its your choice and you KNOW its the right thing to do. Yes sometimes it is difficult but think how much it would please Allah swt. Think how in the future it might prevent you from committing sins.

ive started wearing the hijab a year and a half ago....before i wore it, i used to say that whenver (a particular goal i was going for) happens, then i would wear the hijab..then one day i thought that why wait for that event/goal? why not just start now?? maybe it will help me to get one step closer to getting what i wanted (at that time)...so i did it..i wore the hijab for the first time on eid (it was new years eve that day too)..and what a great way to start off the new year....and alhumdulillah..im glad i did it....my life has been changed drastically since then....and ive realised that it changed for the good...it was like Allah swt was guiding me thru all that i went thru....it was like when i started to cover up, Allah made me see things clearly....

a lot of girls say that i'll start wearing the hijab when i am regular with my prayers....i dont think thats true...i think wearing the hijab helps u with ur prayers..its liek a reminder....everytime u look in the mirror...everytime u walk in a mall, down the street..the salams u get from complete strangers....makes me proud to be a muslima...makes you want to strive and serve Allah...

and oh yeah..the goal that i was striving for earlier....ive realised that it wasnt in my kismet at the time...and Allah swt knows what is best for me....so why wait for it...i say, JUST DO IT!