After observing what happened in the last matches do you think it would be a better idea to have a fence around the ground or do you think there are other preventative measures that can be taken to stop the hooligans.
Sometime back when I had mentioned that the security of players should be paramount (esp. in matches involving India or Pakistan) weren't u the guy who scoffed at it... now what makes you think of fencing...
If Pakis can do it in England.. they can very well do it in Pakistan and with much violent results.The Indian board must consider this before sending a team to Pak, but I know they wouldn't as long as they are making a pot of money.
.. and scoring a few political points too ![]()
OTOT (On The Original Topic), whatever works. Personally I like the approach of South Africans… They roam the boundry with attack dogs. Try running on the pitch, and you’ll be running for your life. Wah, kiya baat hai! ![]()
chilli, read it again. I didn't say it is a good idea but rather asked for the suggestion.
If in India and Pakistan we do have these fences, it doesn't mean that we should implement it everywhere. If dogs can do the work in Sharjah sure they can do the magic everywhere.
Why real spectators have to be behind the fence acting like monkeys. I don't know about you but I certainly would refuse to watch it behind the monkey bars.
There are definitely other measures that can be used i.e. preventative measures to stop the hooligans passing through the gates with fire crackers and so on.
I have watched quite a few international matches at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi from behind 10 ft high fences.. and never felt like a monkey.Its perfectly understandable.
Posting policemen on the boundaryline does not help even if with dogs.The people in the subcontinent are accustomed to breaking laws and dont find police intimidating at all...
[This message has been edited by chilli (edited June 20, 2001).]
aray chilli this is the gmes forum and not the political for god all mighty
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
put a sock in it. i dont know wat has gotten in to u.
‘Hate your enemy mildly; he may become your friend one day’ - Hadith
‘as for those who are slain in the cause of allah, he will not allow their work to perish … he will admit them to the paradise he has made known to them’ - Surah 47:7
and which was the part you thought dealt with Politics ?
If you are used to of restricted view
then fair enough but to tell you the truth it’s much fun if you view it without any hinderance
Policing is not the only option I guess.
Arey Khan Saab..
Pehli baat.. they are wired fences with wide gapes that do not block the view and secondly if you are sitting a few rows above the ground level, you wouldn't even care about the fence below.
And what are your other options ? Get the army inside the stadium ?
Football is perhaps the rowdiest game out there, but it functions in the absence of any kind of fencing...and even without police dogs I believe. Im sure cricket can function so as well. Just that punishments have to be be made swiftly, and on the spot.
I think there should be fencing in front of the stands, and should be concealed underground. It should come up only when people pour into the field, thus trapping them inside. That should be there home for the next few days.
Cages would work better!!!
array bhai chilli, proactive precautions like checking the hooligans background before hand before issuing ticket like they do for Football games is not a bad idea as people have been assuming that some people went there only for the sake of hooliganism. well some go for souveniours but they can be fined. No?
Why u r so afraid of Army?
I didn't know it was possible to have background checks of people done at ticket counters in Pakistan !!
sorry, I had meant that you can check what sort of things a person is taking inside the stadium and hence these type of equipment can be detected.
As far as background check is concerned, I doubt if it happens in Pakistan but in Europe, all of their database is shared with the list of hooligans so that if there is a chance of a fight then these people's passports are held back or simply police keep them in custody because of their continuous past behaviour.
Simply checking peoples bags is not good enough. I have been fortunate enoguh to have been at most of Pakistan's matches this summer. At every match my bag has been checked. People intent on causing trobule are not as stupid as you think. They always find ways and means. For example, at Headingly I was sat next to a group of lads who had managed to smuggle over 50 fireworks into the ground. Quite simply, they had concealed these in their umbrellas.
With regards to caging spectators behind bars at the match, this proposal with meet with a certain degree of resistance in England when we consider the tragedy of Hillsborough. Someone has already pointed out that football matches are now carried out without any form of fencing and there appears to be little, if any, threat of pitch invasions at thier matches. Fencing, is not the way forward as it compromises safety, restricts view and is simply not needed.
The authorities must find a way of making it simply unacceptable to run on the pitch. Consider 1000 fans all running on. Perhaps imprisoning them all, accompanied with fines and a criminal record is the best way forward? I fear a few dogs could not stop the size of crowds that have been invading the pitches recently.
Originally posted by khan_sahib:
After observing what happened in the last matches do you think it would be a better idea to have a fence around the ground or do you think there are other preventative measures that can be taken to stop the hooligans.
I think it's a good idea. I am pretty sure I seen fences in some English Premier League matches.
Mast_malang there are absolutely no fences in the entire English football league, let alone the premier league. All grounds removed them following the tragedy at Hillsborough and all grounds became all-seaters with no room for standing fans.