Working women of Pakistan

On the streets of Pakistan you hardly ever see a female walking alone, or driving alone. In smaller cities that is, Lahore, Islamabad etc things are a bit different - anyway.

During my recent trip to Pak, I’ve come across some females who’ve impressed me a lot - Like many others, I too have a stereotype about Pak females, ke ji, they’re house-wives even before getting married, they spend their days with starplus and movies etc etc. But this time I’ve seen a different group of young females as well, docs and lawyers are not that interesting. This first female is teacher by profession, though initially I thought she’s lady tailor. She makes 800 rupees/month by teaching in a private school, stitches around 5 dresses a day, 90 rupees per dress. She studies part time and has five younger sisters and a younger brother who needs medical aid and her parents, whom she’s supporting.

This other female is also lady tailor, a very pretty and decent young girl. She too have many younger siblings, I didn’t get exact number but they were 6+, the youngest one wasn’t more than 3 years old. She stitches day and night in busy months. I think her working hours are 08-04am. She sits on the floor without any support so when we saw her she was complaining about severe back pain. she’s making more money than the other female as she can copy designs from any fashion mag.

The old lady (maasi), working for us - ammi hired her for cooking etc. She has eight children and even her grandkids are about to get married, if only they could afford the dowry. She can hardly do anything, but she has to work else she can’t pay her bills or medical expenses. She’s very proud lady imo, refuses to even eat anything without telling us. I cooked myself for two weeks and she was extremely stressed as she thought we’d kick her out, so she’d try her level best to be quick in the kitchen. Then I decided to walk out and leave her alone. None of her eight brats help her with a single rupee, no one even cares for her health but hell if she ever bad mouths them. I deeply respect her for that.

This young female who also works for us with her mom - they’re our khaandani servants, according to her mom anyway. While her mother blows our brains out every morning, while naazi quietly cleans the entire place while we’re a sleep. She’s one funny character, so full of life. she always has the latest gossips and stories about every pardah nasheeN of our village :o But the most interesting story is her own love affair. Last time we met her she was just a kid - she still looks the same, she’s just a little faster than before. She works to pass time and because they don’t want anyone else working for us.

A lady I’ve only seen twice is teacher by profession and is also in some org that informs ppl about various kinds of diseases, such and malaria etc. This demands that she visits all kind of ppl etc. No one has anything on her but because of her job she hasn’t earned much respect, which is confusing for me at least. This female is divorced and has raised a son on her own. I’ve also come across some shareef ‘prostitutes’, they can make up to 1000 rupees per person, they enjoy everyone’s respect, sort of. More about this topic, when I have more time.

Re: Working women of Pakistan

shareef prositutes? han what kind of prositutes are those? kind to shed some light on this.

back to the topic, I've also seem many working females in pakistan, so never had any sterotypes about females in pakistan, as in my own family, 2/3 of the females are working in one way or other. If they are not in professional grounds, they are working at home, raising kids or supporting elders.

sabah.....stereotypes do no good to anyone.....

there are many women in my family who are houswives ......but they don't sit n pass the day watching zee or watever.....

my own mom.....u can labwel her asa houswife but she earns a decent amount ....she takes orders from schools /colleges prepares party food....cakes/rolls/kababs almost everything n in our city she's running her cooking classes too!!

n then there are many who r teachers/doctors etc.

its just so that ppl are actually taking notice of working women, now!!

Well,now being away from Pakistna for long time,i do not know how exactly the typical urban Pakistani female's day is.

But what i remember from my childhood,a Pakistani female(HOUSE WIFE) worked more than 10 men.

A typical day of Pakistani female will start at 4 AM in morning,they will pray and then start preparing AATA and then cooking Parathaas for a family of 10,then at 5 they will wake up all the family,send the kids to mosque with SEPARA and then remove all the beds from upstairs and put the beddings in the store.The kids will return from mosque and everyone will have breakfast.Kids will then have their unifroms pressed and sent to school,men will go to work.Then they will wash loads of dirty utensils,finishing these they will wash the clothes and then the house(typically with a large courtyard and 5-7 rooms),by this time its 11Am,and then they will start cooking lunch.By 1 kids will be back from school,and the men and they will be served lunch,then again washing the utensils and then rest for probably 1 hour.
Then helping kids with homework,and preaparing the dinner and serving and putting up the CHaarpais upstairs with beddings.
Though i have worked extremly hard as doc,like doing at stretch duties for 40 hours and then 8 hours off then again 40 hours yet i feel i cannot match what these remarkeable women did in their day to day life AND YET they manage to get overweight.

:rolleyes: :confused:

I am tired of watching these lone women. :frowning:

In almost all cities of Punjab and Sindh, over 20% women drive themselves and a lot use drivers to go out. The office I used to visit some months back was flooded with almost 70% women (most of them had their own transport, not bike though) and they were dealing in IT. It is not very much rare these days to encounter girls riding a bike in Lahore.

In NWFP and Balochistan, this might not be the case, but still you can find many independant women in Quetta, Abbotabd, Peshawar,…

sabah aap konsay pind mai reh rahi ho?

waise very nice and interesting post, naazi ki email mil sakti hai?

women are starting to work in NWFP too typical jobs include teaching, becoming health workers, doing all kinds of jobs in hospitals and office type work

sabah nice to hear that ur thoughts r changed well working women is a big concept in pakistan now a days as they have proved more effective in marketing n sealing then guys n r better of with jobs of thier choice as they have less off fazool thinking as compare to guys actually wat lake in our society is a little encouragement and a shift of thinking is required women is not only made for sex but she holds a better appoinment so i think the new genration is to take it in gud spirit that women working shoulder to shoulder with men is a positive think n we have to make up our minds that let the poor souls independent .................

If I try to think of the strongest women I've seen in Pakistan :

My aunt - okay nepotism speaking here, but really, she's good - runs an arts school for girls of all ages - school is in a low-lying area, and they teach cooking, sewing, embroidery, fashion design, cut-work, mehndi-application, and other fine arts/crafts. The girls pay a low fee, or no fee if they can't afford, and it empowers them to make money for their family. The girls end up doing catering, and making shaadi ke joray, and fancy clothes, etc for people all over khi.

J : One of the Teachers at this school. She started off as a student herself I think. They had trouble finding a rishtaa for her, so she worked at the school - financially supports her whole family - she is the NICEST lady I've ever met and the most patient - she came up to be a teacher from nothing. You would never think she was born into a poor household. She's got that much class.

Sabah ji, I see working ladies everywhere, and in pinds, there are more working women.. .Also many house wives do bijnes too :smooth:

Only if these morons would stop having a team of kids and just stick to 2, their lives would have been lot easier. Perh likh liyaa lakein harkatein wohi ki wohi hain. Sometimes its just surprises me people are still having 6 kids when they can't affored themselves.

the women in my family, atleast my mum's side, have always been independent. my mum tells me that my nani wanted all her daughters to be independent (and this was a woman who was born and raised, and raised her own 11 children in the village, mashAllah). she did not want her daughters to be dependent on anyone, at any point of her life. and my nana said that he can afford to pay for his kid's education, until BSc (and at that time, BSc was big). so, as a consquence, the women of my family are very independent.

My own mum worked as a banker (no, not as a teller) for atleast 18 years, before and after her marriage. my other khalas opted to stay at home. one of the daughters of my mamoon is a doctor, with her own practice (i think she did her PhD as well, and teaches...it was a long time ago, and i was very tiny) the other daughter is a teacher at a VERY expensive school in Lahore. another of my cousin's is a doctor in the army (mashallah), her other sister also a teacher at another rich school. their other sister taught at the same school before she got married. and so on and so forth.

so the idea of being a working woman from the beginning was not a novel idea. infact, we tell the girls of our family to go out and work, as it teaches them to deal with people. so my (lenghty point is) that the idea of working woman is not a new thing. i shall just repeat what babakhan said.