Working Moms/SAHM/Wives/Financially Independent Women

Re: Working Moms/SAHM/Wives/Financially Independent Women

Desi men need to realize that the better way to screw over your wife is to let her work and make sure she earns more than you, so that when she tries to divorce you don’t get stuck for alimony or maintaining her lifestyle. If you can get her to work and support you, then she gets stuck for paying you after divorce. When will we ever modernize and catch up to the white man? :no:

Joint. Nothing hidden, regardless of who is employed and who is earning more at any given moment.

AH

I smell sarcasm but I can’t quite put my finger on it. :emmy:

I guess I am pretty screwed. :frowning:

Ghostie has wisdom.

I brought it up because you brought islam up that women don’t have to give anything to their household / husband if they are married so shopping spree awaaaay.

As for the tree branch part, I think many scholars have come up with it because it won’t leave a mark if you hit your wife with that. Of course, I am not an expert as I don’t go hitting people around in the family. In fact, two of my female cousins are more gangsta than all of us male cousins combined! :eek:

But why do you need to hit her in the first place? And if you do, then who cares if it leaves a mark or not. Geez!

Which scholars, by the way?

The hitting part in Islam does not mean that you go about hitting your wife for no apparent reason and also there is no such condition that a man should have four wives whether he wants them or not and whether he treats them all justly or not.

Think he got tree branch confused with toothpick..

Well of course I brought it up. Why would I not? The idea of keeping our money to ourselves stems from Islam because we’re actually allowed to do so.

Now…my question is…how many women actually do that?

There are always conditions for errrrythang.

Hitting does not mean beating to a pulp. Many scholars also question this because they say the branch must be green…meaning it has to be soft enough to not actually harm her. So there’s questions about hitting even being an option because Islam commands man to be kind to his wife always.

One more point to note is hitting randomly is not allowed. This idea came about only if your wife is behaving in an immoral manner and you’ve exhausted all other means of saving your marriage.

Context m’dear…context.

Currently a SAHM for the last 2 years or so.

When I was working, I would save all my money and spend my own money on all my personal expenses such as when I go shopping for myself or eat out with friends or get treatments at the SPA like facials, waxing etc.

My husband's money went towards not only his personal expenses but our expenses as a family (groceries, eating out together, items for the house etc.)

All my savings will be going into the down payment when we eventually buy a house so although technically I haven't been contributing to household expenses much for the last few years, I will have contributed a good amount into the home when we get one in the future InshAllah.

We don't have joint accounts.

If they did then they wouldn’t fall in the trap of marriage in the first place :no:

I know but look at the replies and I am right aag lag gai.. :smiley:

As far as marriage and going by quran, it is the men (or perhaps courts?) to determine if the guy can treat 2, 3 or 4 women equitably. Quran doesn’t say that men need permission of women to marry any extra wives even though scholars have come up with it.

@deeba: Toothpick !? Unless you are doing acupuncture, I think the wife would be laughing at the husband’s face…

Uffo

Aag kyun lagne lagi? Chaar shadiyan karni hai to karke dikha do. Chaar biviyan agar sar pe baal aur wallet mein khanay ke do paisay chor dein to mein man jaungi. :slight_smile:

Kehne ko to sab kuch kiya ja sakta hai.

I have examples of women in the family who do that. In fact, my brother did all the expenses while my sister in law had a job for a brief period before she went to school. She will again be joining the workforce soon after her degree, but she is the one who is even asking my parents for stuff for my nephews (he needs this do you have this? ).

One of my aunts slightly contributes to the household while another is a drain on her husband literally :mash: or :lahol:

I am glad you removed the “There must be a logic behind it.” sentence from your post. I was about to quote that and ask you what that logic might be. Smart move!

I don't know of any woman who does not help her husband...even my mom contributed when she was working. I work and I contribute.

Only if I can carry out Ghost's advice otherwise fuzool hai :D

I know many who don't help financially but they are SAHM so they have a lot on their plate to begin with. None in my immediate family though. All work and contribute.

I did but then there could be a lot of things where logic could be used in islamic rulings by scholars when it isn't. The point is that people quote quran this quran that but there is no ruling in there if you want to just go by quran and reject hadees.

But yeah that would take this thread into a religious tangent and psyah would be needed with his long worded religious lectures.

What is STAHM?