Yes, I have a catering/food business.

Re: working as a chef/caterer

There are no rules anymore.

You make the rules…desi or not.

Check her out…a Chicago local:

Had you gone for the medical profession....some people might have discouraged you about that as well with various reasons such as it's too late in the game now...or...you won't have the time, there's no need to, etc etc. Point is...some folks will criticize/mock/discourage regardless of the profession you choose. Can't control them.

So prove them wrong, Hareem...but that shouldn't be your main purpose. If you're passionate about it...do it mainly for yourself. If Allah's blessed you with a talent, develop it. Your success in a field not commonly pursued by Desis... can serve as inspiration for those who want to do something a bit "different."

Dont worry when you'll start making good money , they all going to love you :D

Hareem, forget desis and their yipyap ..,a little story

When my pharmacist by training uncle left his practice an opened franchise restaurants in UK, certain people in the family back in pak publicly ridiculed him as that being low class work.

They did not however publicly note that the same dude was supporting their household. While they sat on their butt getting handouts because they had no ability/skills/education to get work that was respectable in their opinion. They were too good for what opportunities they did have.

Hareem... Do what inspires you and are passionate about.

Me and my brother always dream about opening a restaurant in near future Inshallah...

something halal and gives happiness to us then whats problem in doing it.....

Ninja Hattori ... i can be ur VIP client :p where do u intend to open it :)

Karachi me nahi kholna, bhatta detay detay diwalia nikal jae ga

Nice replies everyone. It's always a pleasure to meet some sensible brown people.

^ you met these people ?:eek:

I meant, it’s a pleasure to hear their views. You don’t have too meet in person to know someone’s views and ideas.