Re: BREAKING NEWS .... WOOLMER WAS MURDERED... Jamaica Police..(See Page 9)
i dont see anything in page 9
Pybus is very right; I would not be surprised if 'extra' attention is given to PCB. They need to do a serious damage control, our players have been accused of ball tampering, match fixing, failing drug test, forfeiting match and murder of coach. Next 6-8 months are crucial for Pakistan Cricket. I hope it comes as a blessing in disguise and PCB finally becomes professional.
so who did they arrest?
i am not so sure about the murder theory. how can someone miss a broken jaw or broken cervical spine on initial autopsy. there were no signs of strugle. if he had sudden heart attack or arrythmias causing him to collapse, he sure can break these bones. it seems like someone is using his death to further torture the Pak team. and who else could it be beside ICC. we have no doubt a cold war going on with them for a while. green top wicket in india, another green top in WI.they are all there to get us out of the tournament from the word go.
Re: BREAKING NEWS … WOOLMER WAS MURDERED… Jamaica Police..(See Page 9)
Woolmer police study hotel tapes
Investigators in Jamaica say they have recovered CCTV footage from the hotel corridor where murdered cricket coach Bob Woolmer’s room was located.
Deputy police commissioner Mark Shields said they were hopeful that the footage from the 12th floor could yield images of whoever strangled Woolmer last week.
He said the tapes are now in a secure location and being converted digitally before being properly analysed.
The breakthrough came as the Pakistani cricket squad arrived in London.
Jamaican police investigating the murder questioned Pakistan’s players before they left the island.
Suggestions of a heated row between Pakistan cricketers and Woolmer hours before his murder have been denied by a team official.
Spokesman Pervez Mir said there was silence, not confrontation, in the wake of the team’s surprise World Cup defeat by Ireland on 17 March.
Woolmer was found strangled in his hotel room early the next day.
Mr Shields said that the CCTV cameras were installed at either end of the corridor and that, while they did not show Woolmer’s actual room, they should tell police who came in and out of the passageway.
“They are crucial as they may give us an image of the murderer or murderers of Bob Woolmer,” he said.
Mr Shields said that the footage would now be converted onto a digital format so that it could be properly examined and to ensure that the original film did not get damaged in any way.
Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, team manager Talat Ali and assistant coach Mushtaq Ahmed spoke to police on Saturday.
Mr Shields said the extra questioning had been only a formality.
The squad has now landed in Britain and hopes to leave for Pakistan on Sunday night, Mr Mir told the BBC.
Rift rumours
Speaking after the squad arrived at London’s Heathrow airport, Mr Mir said the players were shell-shocked by the surprise loss to Ireland, which saw Pakistan eliminated from the World Cup.
The team has been dogged for years by damaging internal rifts and suggestions of power struggles between Inzamam and Woolmer.
However, Mr Mir denied widespread reports of any clash with the coach.
“There was no confrontation in the dressing room. There was no confrontation in the bus. In fact it was a stunned silence.”
Woolmer then went to his room with a final word for his captain, telling Inzamam-ul-Haq “it is a sad thing we are parting this way”.
The circumstances surrounding the defeat by Ireland have become a key part of the police investigation into Woolmer’s murder.
DNA samples
Pakistan’s players and management touched down in London shortly before midday on Sunday and were ushered away from the waiting media.
Woolmer’s body is being kept in Kingston until an inquest is held.
Detectives in Jamaica believe Woolmer probably knew his killer - or killers - as there were no signs of forced entry into his room and none of his belongings had been stolen.
Pakistan’s players had already given police DNA samples and fingerprints as part of the probe into Mr Woolmer’s murder.
However, Mushtaq was confident that none of the Pakistan team could be implicated in Woolmer’s murder. “God willing, I am 110% sure [that none of the Pakistan team were involved],” he said. Two Pakistan government officials have travelled to the island to liaise with the Jamaican authorities over the investigation.
This is not about this case specifically, but I often wonder why do the police go public about all the tools they are using for their investigation.
In this case, the Jamaican Police are saying that they are in possession of the CCTV footage and are now studying them to check who came in and out of the passageway on the 12th floor. Now, if I am the culprit, I would already start working on what I should tell the Police should I be caught on the footage.
Am I missing something here. I mean, isn't the surprise element when confronting the potential suspect lost.
My point is why did it take the jamaican police a week to get hold of the footage. Surely that should have been the first thing they should have looked at.
^^ maybe this is dis-information
they already got hold of the tapes and kept the suspect under surviellence and are now slowing releasing this info to throw the murderer off
ehsan bhai is exactly right, this investigation has been carried out with all the intelligence of a retard
^Or may be they don’t have the tapes…or they have the tapes but it shows nothing…but the Police are misleading the “culprit” to believe he is about to be caught…and working on the possibility that the culprit owns up to the crime. ![]()
Excellent plan:D
Frikkin' ISI.....
if they really have the tapes then how long does it take to rewind and watch it..
i mean come on...
watch the damn thing and end the story....
Quit pissing on the Jamaicans. Your Karachi police weren't any better when Daniel Pearl got killed.
The guy heading the investigation is a Scotland Yard bloke. He has enough experience under his belt to understand a video tape is not incriminating evidence. You have two cameras. You wont see everyone. You have to see when Woolmer died. You have to distinguish who is who in the videos. You have to hope you have a shot of the person during that small time window. After ALL that you've got to link the guy to actually killing Woolmer. DNA, personal history, motives.
You can arrest who ever you want, but you just cant pull a suspect out of the closet. You need to tie them in connection with his death. It's not easy. Especially if the murderer has left the country.
Does the fact that he is a Scotland Yard guy give him a superior edge. There are plenty of bungled investigation in UK by the same force.
Does your resentment give YOU any upper hand in the investigation? Common now, half of you are still debating if he fell over the loo.
Quit slandering Jamaica based on some perceived inferiority and let them do their job. It's only a matter of when they give you a suspect to drag around your town squares.
I just hope that they crack this mystery jaisay bhi karkay...
InshAllah this will be solved. But the worst part of it will be hard to forget. The negative attention coming to Pakistan cricket once again.
Incredible if you take a step back and look at all the attention we have had since the Oval Incident. Life for Pakistan has been a roller coaster of horrid events.
I don't know much about cricket actually nor what happened in the history my interest in cricket only wakes up at time of the world cup... otherwise its just thora thora clips dekhna..
what happened at the oval though?